We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing special” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had a well appointed room with king bed on the 3rd floor for a couple nights. I am a very tolerant, understanding recent non-smoker but the level of stale smoke smell was strong for me. Not bad enough to cause an issue but it bothered my wife more than me. I mentioned the stale smoke smell in passing to the person at the front desk later, was told that my room was non-smoking but near 6 smoking rooms and was basically told to "get used to it". I'm still puzzled why the defensive attitude to a passing comment. It kind of soured my stay.

Note that weekend rates are higher than weekday rates. We were here on a Thursday and Friday and paid 10% higher for Friday. To be fair, we knew this when reserving the room online and were reminded of this rate difference when we checked in, so it wasn't a surprise.
Very decent complimentary breakfast at this location.

All things considered and knowing that there are many other hotels in the area, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay away from 3rd floor if smoke bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    83
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
102
92
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Loved this place. We sourced it through a coupon booklet you find everywhere in the States. For $69 we could secure a room. On our way to Orlando from the Everglades, we decided to stay at the Sleep Inn. Easy to find, just off the main Highway we were travelling on.

Check in was swift; we could stay for the coupon rate (they're not always available!). Our room was immaculate! Big; two double beds; nice big flatscreen, wifi (had to step into the hallway to get reception, but that's a minor issue); huge bathroom, fridge; real coffee maker; quiet room, noisy aircon (alas: the Americans seem to be fond of noise aircons.......).

Clean place! Nice swimming pool, and free buffet breakfast (was massive! waffle maker, all sorts of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, bread, toast, juices, eggs, you name it!).

We were really impressed with this place. Friendly staff as well.

Can't fault it, apart from the noise airconditioner.....

Room Tip: I think they're all fairly good. Some are close to the lifts. You may want to avoid those, for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiMaKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

Well the people who work there Re the best, Becky was so special when you had breakfast every morning she always had a big smile on her face and made sure plenty of food and Sri ki were always out, she is such a sweet lady, then you have Dan, I guess he is Maintenance and he was very helpful in any questions I had for him, gave me great places to visit while down there. The guys at front desk Turner and Joshua were the best, always had a smile on their face and willing to help you with anything. I strongly suggest staying there with such friendly staff and helpful. The rooms were clean and the hotel itself was very clean. I miss them already keep up the good work Becky, Dan Turner and Joshua you guys are the best. Gail Lionetti. Hazlet, NJ

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a very nice experience here, nice welcome. Staff was extremely accomodating, especially Vanessa at the Front Desk and inparticular, Becky in the Breakfast Lounge. She made sure our group was served breakfast and kept all supplies and food items stocked. A tall order for a team of 27 college baseball players! The rooms were clean and the housekeeping and maintenance staff were friendly and had great manners. Our rooms were clean when we arrived and stayed that way for the week! Great hotel for the $$.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjcnmorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We registered, only expecting to stay a couple of nights and stayed a week. Rooms were very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Staff in breakfast room were constantly checking to keep items topped up, full and fresh. Pool area was very nice, but I'm with one of the other reviewers regarding the smoking around the pool. Smokers need to go elsewhere. We did little side trips out from here. You are close to shopping and a couple of restaurants are within walking distance. If would like a restaurant with a lot of Florida charm try Nav-A-Gators. Just take Kings Hwy east of I75 and look for a large billboard on the right and turn there. It's about 3-4 miles east of I75. Be warned it's not up scale but a neat place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
6.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
8.3 km away
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Days Inn Port Charlotte
#3 of 8 in Port Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
9.2 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Address: 806 Kings Hwy, Port Charlotte, FL 33980-4218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Port Charlotte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
#4 Business Hotel in Port Charlotte
#4 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,437 - ₹ 16,835
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel is conveniently located with easy access to Interstate 75. This Port Charlotte, FL hotel is close to pristine area beaches, many golf courses, world-famous fishing at Boca Grande, the Charlotte Harbor Event & Conference Center, Babcock Ranch and the Charlotte Sports Park, home of the Charlotte Stone Crabs baseball team. This Florida hotel is near Charlotte County Airport and Southwest Florida International Airport. There is a wide variety of restaurants within one mile of the hotel. Many shopping, boating, fishing and eco-tourism opportunities are found in Port Charlotte and nearby Punta Gorda. All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, 32-inch flat-screen televisions, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Non-smoking and smoking rooms are offered along with family and whirlpool bathtub suites. This is also a pet-friendly hotel. This Port Charlotte, FL hotel offers many fine features and amenities, including a free hot breakfast served daily with coffee, free wired and wireless high-speed internet access, outdoor heated pool, and exercise room. Guest laundry facilities and a gift shop with convenience foods, drinks and travel needs are provided on the premises for added guest convenience. The business traveler will welcome additional conveniences like the business center with public computers, printers and free fax services. The hotel also has a meeting room which can accommodate up to 100 people for events and business functions. The hotel has been certified as a green hotel through the Florida Green Lodging Program. Whether traveling to Florida for business or vacationing with the family, the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Port Charlotte offers you a great location, affordable rates and friendly guest service. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte
Sleep Inn And Suites Port Charlotte
Sleep Inn Port Charlotte
Port Charlotte Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing