We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Vista
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a great time here in early 2012. The only complaint that i have is that you had to make sure that your door was closed all of the way when you left your room. Other than that this is a very nice place to stay. I will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: We had a 2 BR suite that had alot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goerniego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    98
    43
    17
    5
See reviews for
125
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Checked in on Christmas eve and had a flawless checkin. Our one bedroom unit was huge with a wrap around balcony- from one side we could sit and enjoy the ocean and from the other watch the sun set beyond the intercostal. The unit is updated with granite and flat screens. The kitchen is well appointed with higher end appliances that all work. One pool is heated and we never had a problem finding a lounger. It is directly on the beach which we walked on each day. It is pleasant walk to the pier where there are some shops and restaurants and there are several grocery stores in the area but IMO you need a car to really enjoy the area. There are all kinds of restaurants on the A1A and lots of places to explore. It is north of the Ft Lauderdale scene and somewhat quieter which appealed to us.
Have not been here for over 6 years and cannot wait to come back next year.

Room Tip: From what we could see - all of the rooms have a view - there are some larger units directly on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Family trip 12/26-12/30 at this beautiful Wyndham resort. Activities for all ages by an energetic staff. The adult social activities were exceptional!!! The two pools were good but sadly the facility has no hot tub. The grill was open to the guests during specified hours and that came in handy for dinner one evening. The beach was great, groomed every morning so get out there early if you want to collect shells. Get up for the sunrise at least once, it is worth it. The well furnished units include Cuisinart small appliances of a blender and coffee maker. The bathrooms are huge. The two bedroom units have 2 double beds in the second bedroom but they easily have space in the room for two queens which would be a nice addition. Overall an excellent resort.

Room Tip: Book early and request a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d5w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

For a Dec getaway at the beach, I couldn't ask for a better resort for the value. The location was perfect (steps from the beach). The were plenty of activities and night spots close by and a grocery store several blocks down the street.
With a two bedroom, there was plenty of room. My room was overlooking the pool and Atlantic ocean. I didn't use the kitchen at all, but it had granite countertops and ss appliances.
The weather was awesome as I watched the Eagles pummel the Dolphins which is why I was there in the first place

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaglesfan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This will be as unbiased and balanced review of Wyndham Royal Vista that I can write based on my experience here in Dec 2011, considering what we had to go through. We stayed in room 6611, then were moved to room 4411 for reasons to be explained under the ugly section below

The Good:
1. Very nicely located just off the beach. The beach is 15 steps from the pool with lounge chairs, umbrellas, cabanas, motorized and non-motorized equipment rental. There are also some snorkeling areas off the beach.
2. two pools (3-6 feet) heated with a warm water outlets and one unheated kidde pool (1 foot)
3. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Very spacious with a king bed in one room, two queen (maybe double) beds in the other, each with their own spacious bathroom, and a large pull out couch in the living room. Granite counter kitchen with full set of appliances, dishes, cutlery, and cookware. In-room laundry with detergent packs. Overall very clean.
4. nice and free garage parking with direct access to elevators to room,
5. friendly staff

The Bad:
1. The weather was unexpectedly windy, which limited our outdoor activities (nothing resort could do about that of course)
2. The sun disappears pretty quickly from the pool area since it is located east of the hotel, though the beach in not affected.
3. One or two service agents at front desk where everything is run though, including the towel exchange, makes for a little wait each time need towels even in low season
4. Bedroom drawers are old and are problematic to open. We ended up living out of suitcases
5. Concierge didn`t seem to know much about the area. Asked for directions to a non-touristy restaurant 10 minutes from the resort and even gave her the address and she couldn`t event point me in the right direction (we had a finicky GPS). Asked about recommendation for what to do on a Saturday that couldn`t do on other days and she just kept directing us to a guide book. Incidentally Lauderdale by the sea was having their annual Christmas by the Beach and there was a Christmas light event happening at Tradewinds during our stay that we stumbled upon on our own. she was great at getting us to attend a timeshare presentation though.
6. Air conditioner in room is really loud
7. Under the surface, the room needs to be maintained better (cracks in tile and corners, missing soap dishes that was in one room but not other)
8. Loud construction in nearby buildings

The Ugly:
1. Ants! Upon checking in, we noticed little ants crawling around our master bedroom. We reported it and they sent somebody up to spray the corner and edges of the room with a non-toxic and odorless bug spray. Given that we had an infant with us and we could clearly smell the odorless spray, we were skeptical about its effect on bugs and the baby, so we minimized our exposure to the room for the next day. Next day the ants were back and we`re even on the master bathroom counter. So we reported it again and they got ordered a `proffessional` to spray with non-toxic chemicals to get ride of the ants. Again given we have an infant, we didn`t trust them so we left the room for the whole day. Next day, there were the ants again. At this point we just emptied out the master bathroom, stuffed towels under the door to the master bedroom and the entrance way (cheater bathroom), and never went back in except for laundry. Given that we had an infant and my wife it Type A, she was soooooo stress about the ants and the chemical sprays used.

Over my many discussion regarding the ants, I was informed that they are sugar ants that come out looking for sugar and water. They are not uncommon in South Florida and come out in different rooms at different times. (Note that we didn`t have this problem at our other resort we stayed at in Palm Beach just 50 minutes north)

After complaining to the the front desk about the ants and the wifi (below), we finally were granted another room, but were warned that it could have ants as well. It ended up being the same room just two floor below our current one. I was told that it was the only room available. I kind of doubt it given that the parking lot was barely half full even when we got back at 11:30 at night.

After we packed up all our stuff (2 kids) and moved it, the high chair, and pack n`play on our own, we discovered 3 ants in the new room, but this time in the kitchen. We gave the resort the benefit of the doubt and gave our new room a day. We even asked somebody to spray the new room in the kitchen area since we were gonna be out the entire day. We came back and found that the room was not sprayed as requested and had to wait for the next morning. While on the phone with the front desk trying to determine if our room was sprayed, my wife found like 10 ants on the floor and counter of the kitchen. One was even found on a plate in the cupboard. Basically we moved into a worse ant situation. You would think that the resort would track the ant complaints and move us to a room that hadn`t ever had an ant complaint. Given that we cook a little on vacation, this increased my wife`s stress level even more. The maintenance manager basically said there was nothing more he could do with the unit. Comforting.

2. Wifi is horrendous! My blackberry phone, tablet and my wife's android phone did not work well anywhere in the resort. It was sporadic at best and was confirmed a couple of other guests in the resort who just use their data plan on their phone instead of resort wifi. This resort uses AT&T hotspot for their wifi. My tablet worked ok for the first couple nights at this resort and the entire week at another resort which also used AT&T hotspot. Fortunately, my laptop worked well, but a bit on the slow side but at least able to watch you tube videos in low resolution. Was told to call AT&T for help, who said there was a glitch in the router that serviced the area around my room and my laptop was strong enough to access a router from another part of the resort. Ultimately there was nothing they could do since AT&T had to send out somebody to service the router at it probably wouldn`t during the rest of my stay.

Much like the ant issue, the wifi got worse in the new room. I guess it uses the same router, but may labtop was being intermittently kicked off the router. The best time to use it was after 11 pm and even then it was slow as molasses. I couldn`t even watch low resolution you tube videos without lagging every 10 seconds and the laptop could not log in from the master bed room, but got slow access in the dining room and guest bedroom. Very frustrating. During the day it was arduous to even check the weather in the morning.

After 3 calls to AT&T between the two rooms, there was no way I was gonna get good internet access in my room for the rest of my stay. Much like the ants, you would think the resort would move us to a room with better internet access given our complaints.

3. Poor communication and tracking of complaints. The complaints seem to be logged somehow, but if there were issues with specific rooms, you would think that they wouldn`t move us into a worse situation than before. We ended up getting compensated $50 for our trouble, but only after we refused to go to the Interval International update (ended up being a Wyndham timeshare presentation) and said it was primarily due to all the time wasted with the room and getting stuff done. The funny thing is that our issues were not passed on to the timeshare sales office and we complain a fair bit to them as well. Even funnier was that the desktop and the touchscreen presentation TV didn`t work during our tour. With all our troubles and complaints, we never contacted by management.

I can understand why some people would rate this resort high, but the wifi deficiency is a major issue for those who don't have a data plan and the ants in the kitchen is a major issue for those with young children and cook a bit at the resort. It appears decent initially, but is a dated in many respects under the surface.

Room Tip: make sure you do not get 6611 or 4411, and probably 5511
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank OttawaFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
2.9 km away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
2.1 km away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#16 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,394 reviews
7.8 km away
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,615 reviews
6.9 km away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#6 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Vista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Vista

Property: Wyndham Royal Vista
Address: 1110 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6607 (Formerly Fairfield Royal Vista)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,127 - ₹ 23,913
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Royal Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Royal Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Vista Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Fairfield Royal Vista Pompano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing