We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good food at a really good price”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #36 of 669 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Chippewa Bay, New York
Level Contributor
270 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“really good food at a really good price”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

stopped at sonny's for lunch today after a recommendation from a friend, you won't be disappointed, really good food at a really good price.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Im not a bbq lover in any mean. My wife wanted to go so I tried it and it converted me. Baptized in bbq sauce.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Noah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tuesday all you can eat ribs!”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Great food, great service! Sonny's never disappoints and we always eat here when we visit. Wish we had one back home.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CHEAP! Not bad food.”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I rated this very good because of the price. I could not believe the value! I had a sandwich for 6 bucks and it was really good. Party of 4 and our bill was 40 bucks before tip...we even had one beer and one glass of wine. Service was not awesome, our waitress seemed preoccupied and she brought the check when we were only half through with our meals. The turnover is very high so maybe they try to get you in and get you out. I would go back when I am back in the area, they have all you can eat ribs for 11 dollars and the ribs are good!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaina925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“I had the best BBQ here and wow what a great price for all you can eat pulled pork! :)”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Nothing could be better then Sonny's BBQ wow it is GREAT

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cajunnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing