We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - small and fun”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location - small and fun”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We checked in on Friday, July 20, 2012, for a 8-night stay. We were greeted by the front desk staff that was very helpful and courteous. And then a wonderful vacation began.

Upon moving in, we found the room to be clean and very comfortable. Since we have stayed there numerous times, we were familiar with the somewhat dated furnishings, but found some new improvements! The new larger bathroom sink and shelving was a huge help! And it appeared the shower had been re-furbished as well. The new couch was a welcome sight too!

A special staff member, Quinn, was above and beyond great to us. I had a new replacement cell phone shipped in and he assisted me in assuring the package got to me (even sitting outside a lower level room he found me!) He helped us with every request we had and was cheerful and professional. I watched him interact with the children activities and he was so cheerful and fun for them!

This hotel is a truly hidden gem – which is why we appreciate it! The pool was always clean (albeit small), the event staff were so kind to the children, grounds maintained impeccably, room maintained well….the list goes on.

The only thing to know is the is an older hotel. It reflects it's age in many ways. But for people with small children (or who hate elevators), the 2 story layout is perfect! The beds are comfortable and clean, full size kitchen in some units, etc. They have a covered gazebo type area that is great to meet up at. There are tables and chairs there, even wooden rocking chairs!

They sell ice there on site. Also, next door is an outdoor Tiki Bar with wonderfully priced and custom made drinks, beer, etc.

Within walking distance is the entire Pier Park complex with wonderful shopping, dining, etc. Also, right across the street a new restaurant is going in supposedly. Also, Shuckums Oyster Pub and Grill is just less than a block away. Delicious food and wonderful service. Not a touristy-type place at all. Genuine food and service.

I recommend this to people who are willing to not upscale it to the limit, but stay at a small family owned place with family values and attitudes.

Room Tip: If you go to first floor, you'll likely have people walking right by your patio. Second floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GardenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    78
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
155
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We were fortunate to get the last room during for a couple of nights during the peak summer season. What I loved about the place was the afternoon watermelon time, and the Wednesday night movie on the big oceanside deck with popcorn and fudge. This Place was fabulous for kids! It was also practically across the street from the Pleasure Pier which was definitely the happening place for shopping and entertainment in this city. The rooms were typical older hotel beach rooms. Very basic bedding and furniture. The bathroom had a sink with no cabinets so it wasn't possible to put your bathroom amenities anywhere. There was a small kitchenette in our room which included a sink, stove and nice size fridge. We were on the first floor and even though the Oceanside deck was right in front of us, we could still view the ocean. The pool was small, but clean and there was a little picnic table on our oceanside room patio. Checkout was 10 a.m. but the staff told us we could extend that. I really liked the charm of this place and would definitely stay here if I was traveling with little children because of the family activities and beach proximity!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lt1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Driftwood is the best and only place that my family will stay in PC. The rooms are very clean and towels are changed out daily. You are only a few steps from the beach and fun in the sun. The facility has great price deals and make you feel at home. Summer watermellon is a big hit as are the movies on the beach (sun deck). Try them one time and you will be comming back for years to come. Do book early as they have a lot of return guest that make plans for the next year before they leave. It is one place that I feel like I am at home with the friendly staff. Can not wait to get back next year. we have found that we can stay here for 5 days for half the price of our friends that stayed at another place. Walking distance from Pier Parks shops, food and fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayes612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We still love the Driftwood. Wonderful people, beautiful beach. The rooms are looking a little uncared for, although clean, things need to updated. Our room had a sink that reminded me of a gas station sink. No towel rack or hook for even a toiletry bag. With nightly costs nearly that of a condo, a little spiffing up of the rooms would go far. BUT...it's such a family oriented place you can forgive the room details. It makes me smile to be at the Driftwood, watching movies, eating popcorn and fudge, seeing the sandcastle judging. A truly wonderful place that people return to year after year.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lafolet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This year we returned with our family just More {20} family for our Great Getaway of the year, it just got bigger & better. Couldn't ask for a better place to be, the grandchildren just love this place. The staff, location, cleaniness, and family atmosphere is just great! Any age group is always welcome here with a great smile and friendly welcome and a GREAT " See you next time". I really enjoy being there usually try to go twice a year later in the year just hubby and I, still the same great place to be. Everyone needs to come here and enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyTN38583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
9.4 km away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
0.8 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
0.9 km away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
467 reviews
0.7 km away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
445 reviews
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,628 - ₹ 20,493
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing