We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
1
1
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
1
1
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I would not recommend this hotel. When we arrived we had to clean the floors because there was dirt and bugs on the floor. The furniture and carpet was very worn and dirty. We were on first floor, do not stay on first floor...very moldy smell. On the second night we were there we found a snake in the bathroom. We called the front desk and they said they would move us if we found another one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edchoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We purchased a unit in Panama City while visiting Orange Lake Orlando. We were told that all their locations were kept up the same as we were seeing there at Orlando. NOT
TRUE! After seeing our unit for the first time, we were so disappointed and felt we had been conned. Especially after we call Orange Lake every day for the next 7 days and found out the "Quality Control" & Salesman we had talked with were no longer with Orange Lake. We were given the name of the new "Quality Control" person but of course after numerous calls and left messages, we have still not heard from anyone from Orange Lake. We were told ALL their units had washer & dryers in them. Again, NOT TRUE! The nice matching furniture you see at OL Orlando does not exist in any
Panama City Unit. Carpets were old, worn, and the unit smelled like an old motel room.
You would not dare go barefoot to walk down the steps, because you would be guaranteed a splinter or paint chip in you foot. If you have ever been to OL Orlando and enjoyed the many, many amenities and extra's for being an owner, that does not exist at Panama City.
When we arrived, we had no idea where to check-in as that information was not in our confirmation letter. Upon finding the correct place to check-in, we find that there is no "Orange Lake' desk. It if subed (farmed) out to the Reflections Front Desk. And if you should ask any questions about the Orange Lake Units, you will hear about all the complaints they receive from people staying there and expecting more. They will not hesitate to tell you that the units are not that nice.
If you really think about it, you can pull up all kinds of info and pictures at the OL Orlando website, but there are no pictures of ANY units at Panama City. We asked about seeing what the units looked like when we purchased and were told they are just
like the OL Orlando units. Again, NOT TRUE! One specific question we asked before purchasing was "did all units have washer & dryers?" We were told "yes".
I think OL Orlando Sales is nothing short of a large group of con artists. They will tell you anything you want to hear, no matter if it is a lie. And as we read in other reviews, no one will call you back at all. I am calling the Orlando Better Business Bureau and filing a formal complaint. So Far, everything about Orange Lake is a "FRAUD"

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blkenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We have been OL Orlando owners for 6 years and this was our first vacation away from our "home" resort. We were traveling with our two teenage grand daughters. I expected the same OL standards (i.e cleanliness, etc.) as that is what Holiday Inn Clubs leads you to believe and didn't think I had to research the resort before I booked it. Lesson learned! The check-in process was confusing. OL only owns a building within the Marriott resort. Our confirmation letter didn't say anything about checking in at the Reflections Building. We went to the Marriott Building, whcih wasn't unusual to the Marriott staff at the desk, and they gave us directions. The gentleman who checked us in was very polite, gave us a map of the area, and took his time going over it with us. Basically, we had access to all of the Marriott pools and amenities. We stayed in a 1 bedroon unit, 3rd floor, that had dead mosquitoes on the walls & ceilings. The balcony was not screened so we figued more that one guest had left the door open. We did not get a good first impression. Overall, the unit was clean however the ground floor had trash outside some of the units that remained there from the time we arrived until we left. There are no washers/dryers in the units ,which we knew, however there is a laundry room for all to share. Not the cleanest of areas, broken screen on the door, floor needed to be swept, and a very hot place to do laundry during the day. We enjoyed the pool but, again, there was trash on the table that hadn't been picked up for days. We took the DolFun Cruise from the Marriott pier and had a wonderful time actually swimming with the dolphins off of Shell Island. There is a boat with scheduled departures to and from Shell Island which is free to Marriott guests but costs $15 per person for OL guests. You have to go into Panama City or Panama Beach City for sight seeing, mainly a young adult atmosphere. St. Andrews State Park was beautiful and provided a nice beach. The "beach" at the resort was mainly for watching the boat traffic and sunsets. We returned to our unit on our fourth night there and saw "palmetto bugs" on the stairs. We opend the door and found one crawling up the wall which grossed us all out. I called Holiday Inn, discribed the conditions, and told them I didn't want to finish our vacation in that unit, never mind that building. Luckily for us, we had driven to Panama City from our home in Tampa (6 hour drive) so we had our own car. They agreed to move us to a 2 bedroom unit in Orlando, another 6 hour drive, at no additonal expense. We finished our vacation in an atmosphere we were accustomed to. Long story short, do your homework! If you want a refrigerator and stove, you have to ask for an efficiency. Be carefull if you book a 2 bedroom unit otherwise you could end up with 2 adjoining "hotel" rooms and no appliances. One more thing, they don't tell you that the main security entrance closes at 10:00 PM! We had to find a security guard to tell us how to get back on the property. Interestingly enough, there is a back road into the resort with no security check point. Also, you need your room key to open the "gates" when you leave the OL property to access the Marriott property. Other than the accommadation issues, the Marriott recreational resort area is nice for familes with very young children or couples who want to relax. At this point I a not inclined to reccommend the OL resort but would reccommend exchanging points to stay at the Marriott!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

This resort was exactly what I was hoping for. My boyfriend and I as well as another person went down for Bike Week. I booked a 2BR,2BA condo. It was about 10 mins from the beach and for bike week I thought that was a perfect escape when we didn't want to hear our own roar of the motorcycles.

The security guard nicely greeted us as we entered the Marriott Property and told us about the slightly tricky check in at the Reflections building. The receptionist was absolutely wonderful and very friendly and helpful. When we got to the room we were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness and newly remodeled decor. Everything was spotless and clean. Each bedroom had a balcony view of the golf course.

I will definitely return and hopefully next time with my kiddos!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Loves2TravelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

I am just shocked at the previous reviews. We went for a 3 day visit the first week of April and we have already made reservations to return next summer.

The staff there was amazing. We had no issues checking in. We were given a map of the resort that listed all of the pools. I just cant believe that no one on the resort could point you to the pool area! All of the staff was very polite and friendly. Told us about a lot of things to do and refered us to some great restuarants.

Our 2 bedroom unit was very clean. No issues what-so-ever. We own several timeshares and we were very happy with Orange Lake/Panama City.

The beach was 5 minutes from the resort..again...if you wanted to be on the beach...book on the beachfront! I personally like to be away from the hussle and bussle of the tourist section.

There is nothing to do? They have like 5 pools and an aracade and a great pier to walk out on. People crack me up that they want all of this entertainment. Most people go to Panama for the beach, not full blown entertainment at a condo.

Panama City is a summer town...like any beach community not all of the places are open until summer time. With 3 kids we found plenty to do the first week of April! Shell Island was amazing...water was cold, but again, it is spring time not summer. Went to the dog track and the kids had a blast!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank orangelakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews