We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location, neighboring town not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed here the week of July 4th, so the place was packed. It really wasn't bad since the place is so nice. Rooms were very clean and had most everything you would need for an extended stay. There are grills provided for cooking, but only a few of them worked. Had to wait in line to use them, so watch out for the grillmasters using more than one. The worst part about this place was the town of Riviera Beach that you had to go through to get there. Seemed like a pretty high crime area and most of the grocery stores / restaurants were here, so it was an adventure if you had to go out and get anything. We had fun and the kids like the beach, especially all the turtle nests. If you're looking for the hot beach scene, head on down to Miami. If you're looking for some quiet family fun, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,165 - 1,169 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

When turning off the interstate to make our way to the resort we were stunned. This resort is located in a terrible place. It looks as if a nuclear bomb went off years ago and no one has ever cleaned up the mess. Garbage is all over the side of the road and many homeless people are walking along the streets. Once through the nuclear waste dump we arrived at the resort. It was beautiful. However once in our room we realized that "Ocean side" meant a view of the parking lot. You have to hang over the rail of the balcony to even see the slightest glimpse of the ocean. On the second day we decided to travel out to get something to eat. There was NOTHING! We ended up eating at a Taco Bell..... Not a nice place to eat when you're on vacation. Overall, If youre going to drive all the way down to Palm beach you might as well go to Miami where you can actually go out to eat without worrying about getting shot!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I love the Marriott Vacation Club resorts. I did a lot of research before choosing this place to stay and I was not dissapointed. When traveling, I like to have plenty of room to spread out and be comfortable. We arrived at the Ocean Point on Singer Island in the afternoon and were greeted immediately at the check in desk and given all the information we needed to find our room. Parking is FREE, and it was easy to find a spot near our building (there are 4 buildings on property). Our room was a one bedroom with a king size bed in the bedroom and a very comfortable pull out sofa in the living room.(tow flat screen TV's and dvd players too) The patio's Oceanview was wonderful. The King bed was nicely dressed with an overstuffed crisp white duvet and had an oversized soaking whirlpool tub flanked to the side. The walkthrough bathroom had a stand alone shower and second sink basin where everything was clean and tidy (hair dryer, lots of clean towels and bath and body works shampoo and conditioner). The kitchen comes with everything you need to prepare meals, including pots, pans, utensils, coffee maker, blender, microwave, etc. One of the best features of the room, was the stackable washer and dryer. I came form Orlando, where we sweated it out while waiting in long lines for rides at disney. I was ready for clean clothes and swimming and relaxing. We headed out to the beach where you can rent chairs for the day with an umbrella. The water was a little rough, but the kids enjoyed it. Then we headed in one of the 4 pools. It was nice to relax poolside and the tiki bar supplied drinks and snacks. Since we only stayed for two nights, we opted to dine out for our meals. There is not a full service on-site restaraunt, but the Sailfish marina is less than a mile away and is very nice. Another restaurant, Johnny Longboats, is also less than a mile down the road. They both serve three meals a day. The hotel does have an onsite pizza hut, market place with supplies for making small meals, and tons of activites lined up for the kids. I would LOVE to go back to this resort and stay for a long week!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ineedavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We traded our timeshare to stay here at the Marriott. We were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. We stayed in the Pompano building... room 4218. We had a beautiful (distant) view of the ocean from our balcony, as well as our living room. The room was very clean and decorated very nicely. We enjoyed eating breakfast and lunch on out balcony. The pools were wonderful! There were plenty of chairs... I would recommend more umbrellas though. The water temperature was perfect. The grounds were beautiful! There was always something to do. We hope to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dododee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I had a great time. My favorite was the pools and jacuzzis because they were salt water based. I went for memorial day weekend and even though the hotel was booked at 100% of its capacity, it was pleasant and there were always pool chairs and tables available. It is designed for a family who plans to stay and cook hamburgers on the grill and pretty much cook for the family. I don't recommend you stay in a unit without a kitchen because they have no good restaurants on site and the local area does not have a wide selection of restaurants. The pool area has six stainless steel bbqs (top of the line). It was just so.... relaxing and the staff is kind and not uptight at all. I had friends visit and they gave me no hassle about a parking pass for my additional car. I plan on returning next year. It was just great!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.5 km away
Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacation Villas
Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacat...
#2 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
1,162 reviews
1.3 km away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 5 in Riviera Beach
603 reviews
8.3 km away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
0.2 km away
SeaSpray Inn Beach Resort
SeaSpray Inn Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Ave, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-6274
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range: ₹ 8,765 - ₹ 34,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing