We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
north canton, Ohio
17
Reviewed 17 July 2005

This resort is quite nice. My family visited from 7/1/05-7/8/05 and we are Marriott Vacation Club owners. We traded our property to go to this resort. The condo. was clean and the staff was attentive. We needed a roll away bed and they did not have them, so we had to rent from an outside co., named Family Rentals, I believe. It was $63. for the week. The resort did let us use their linens though, which saved $10.

The pools were nice and there were plenty of chairs, even over the 4th of July weekend. The beach was clean and the resort will rent chairs and cabanas.

The surrounding area was less than appealing. They are still recovering from last year's hurricanes. A good nearby restaurant is called the Sailfish Marina. It was $100 + for a family of four. We tended to drive to West Palm, Juno/Jupiter to eat.

The Garden's in West Palm is a nice shopping area. Tried to shop in Palm Beach. Many shops are closed in the summer.

It was much hotter/muggier than I prefer, but I would love to go back in the winter or spring.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,349 - 1,353 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2005

We've traveled extensively since purchasing a Marriott timeshare and joining Interval International three years ago. With three children in tow it is the most economical and comfortable way to travel. I admit that I have high expectations, and if the room is not white glove clean, I have a difficult time relaxing. However, we've had wonderful experiences everywhere we have gone from Aruba to Arizona and from Florida up to Virginia. We've been to 6 resorts and loved every one. Except for Marriott's Ocean Pointe. All I can say is, "yuch". From the blood on the master bathroom floor, to the foreign hair hanging off of a lightswitch and all over the floor in the foyer and kitchen I was skeeved to tears at check in. The carpet needed replacing and the furniture was quite worn, but it was the large amounts of sand on the couch and chair cushions and even on the end tables that made the room worse in my mind than it already was. The hotel responded to my complaint by sending someone to the room to rewash the floors, but we were stuck with the sandy furniture for the week - and just laid towels across anywhere that we wanted to sit down. The hotel is not located in the greatest of areas. I wouldn't stray too far from the hotel by foot during the day, let alone at night. I like to run - but I hung up my sneakers for the week for fear of getting mugged.

The pools were nice, but there is no removal of trash during the day - so the cans get filled up quickly and by mid afternoon, you have to leave your garbage on the pool deck near the garbage cans. Chairs at the pool are a challenge to find and there were a couple of days that we were unable to get pool towels until after 2PM, even though we had been trying since 9am on those mornings. We learned from other guests that you take your towels to your room at night and just trade them in for new ones the next day - whenever some become available - if they ever become available. We were witness to one serious argument over pool chairs that almost resulted in a fistfight. Tension runs high in the pool area. The mixed drinks at the pool bar were enjoyable, but prices varied depending upon which bartender made them!? Beach chairs cost extra, as you have to rent them from a private company. The beach is nice, as long as you do not look to the right where there is an industrial looking area that looks like some kind of refinery. There were a couple of families who took their babies into the hot tubs. Child Abuse in my opinion, but gross on top of that. We stayed away. Sitting in a 105 degree stew of feces and urine is not my idea of relaxation. At the pool you can purchase typical poolside hotel food - the kids loved it - I yearned for a good salad. There is a seafood restaurant walking distance from the hotel and you can charter a fishing trip with one of the boat owners at the docks there, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. Expensive, but well worth it watching the kids pull in Barracudas and Amberjack. But as far as the resort goes, the bottom line is that there are so many much, much, much better places out there and life is too short to waste another week at this hotel.

18  Thank lovetotravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
California
114
Reviewed 21 June 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
St Paul, Minnesota
112
Reviewed 21 June 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2005

Stayed: May 2005
13  Thank tiggrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach Shores
0.5 km away
Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacation Villas
Palm Beach Shores Resort & Vacat...
#2 of 5 in Palm Beach Shores
1,166 reviews
1.3 km away
Marriott's Oceana Palms
Marriott's Oceana Palms
#1 of 5 in Riviera Beach
603 reviews
8.3 km away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
895 reviews
1.7 km away
Palm Beach Marriott Singer Island Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Hilton Singer Island Oceanfront/Palm Beaches Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Ave, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404-6274
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range: ₹ 8,767 - ₹ 34,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing