We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,581)
Filter reviews
1,581 results
Traveller rating
803
481
166
76
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
481
166
76
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews singer island kingfish building cobia marriott timeshare time share marriott owners sailfish marina bedroom villa vacation club water aerobics blue heron ocean view shuffle board main pool pools and hot tubs planned activities great resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 1,581 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott Ocean Pointe in November 2011. We stayed in the newly refurbished Kingfish building. It was very nicely decorated, really a good room. We had a two bedroom villa. The Kingfish building is somewhat away from the rest of the complex. It was more quiet and close to a walking path that goes along the intercoastal waterway. If you're traveling with children, you probably want to stay in one of the other buildings - Sailfish, Dolphin, Cobia or Pompano. These building are grouped together and are close to the pools and the other facilities at the Ocean Pointe. There is a small market on site but it is relatively expensive. A new Publix market just opened right accross the bridge in Riviera Beach. It's a much better place to get your items.

There really aren't any real good places to eat on Palm Beach Shores. However, there are a number of good places within a relatively short drive.

Overall, we had a good stay, a good room and a great view!

Room Tip: Higher is better, east side faces the water and many of the corner rooms have real good views
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gtgwandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed at the Marriott's Ocean Pointe 2nd week of September in the Sailfish Building. We had a 2/2 lockout, 5th floor rooms 8520/21 (corner unit south side). Our views were of the ocean, downtown WPB, inlet and intercoastal. Our unit was completely renovated, full kitchen, large dining room table/chairs, washer/dryer, large soaking tub in master bedroom, flat screen tvs, dvd player, in-room safe. Had 2 lanais, saw the sunrise on one, the sunset on the other lanai. September is the SLOWEST month so they were able to accommodate our request.
Resort is beautiful, on the ocean, several pools, exceptionally large hot tubs, 2 grilling sections with 6 grills each, tiki hut, 9-hole mini golf, small convenience store (MarketPlace). The are no on-site restaurants but this is not a hotel, it's a TIMESHARE PROPERTY. There is a small plaza within walking distance that has restaurants, 7-Eleven and Wings (beach store). You pass this on your way to the resort when you check in. Since we were within driving distance, we brought our own beach chairs/umbrella. You can go to Wings, Target, Walmart and buy cheap chairs for the week instead of paying $30 a day. Publix is 5 miles north of Ocean Pointe for groceries. There's a CVS and Duffy's sports bar in the same plaza. Take A1A North which turns into PGA Blvd.
During our stay, I had conversations with 2 different managers who told me how villas are selected (I told them about the negative reviews I read on TripAdvisor prior to my arrival.) So, regardless of what you reques,t below is what I was told by both managers.
From mid-October thru April (High Season) in order to get ocean front, higher floors (there are 7 floors in each building) in the Sailfish building (most popular building) you need to own at least 3 weeks at Ocean Point (highest owner-occupied Marriott Timeshare.) Next, Marriott timeshare exchangers, you may get Sailfish building but it will be on the lower floors (1st-3rd) with limited views including parking lot, otherwise there are 3 other buildings in the complex. The Dolphin, (which is undergoing major renovations) is the next building, then the Cobia. The KingFisher is the furthest away from reception desk. There is a pink coop building in between Cobia and KingFisher. Cobia is a nice building with a pool in front of it but if you get the southside, your view will mostly be the pink coop building. Most non-Marriott timeshare owners will be sent to the KingFisher building regardless of what you request. The KingFisher has its own pool and it is very quiet there. KingFisher is a u-shaped building, so try to request the south side facing the inlet if you can't get ocean front. (Ocean front/ocean view is usually reserved for Marriott owners sent to KingFisher.) Be aware that ocean front at KingFisher is a view of a big ugly crane on the beach. The southside has the ocean, downtown WPB and inlet view. You may end up in the courtyard where your view will be another unit on the opposite side of the courtyard.
Summer months are also busy with lots of kids on vacation so your requests will also be limited. May and September are the slowest months where you have a higher chance of them honoring your request. If you read your certificate, it clearly states that there are no guaranteed views and the Ocean Pointe means it. So be advised and not disappointed if your request is not granted. Good Luck!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank redrubyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Was invited down to preview property to be put in a newly renovated room in a building under construction. Within a 24 hour period there were 3 false fire alarms where we had to evacuate the building and we had no water from 10am-5pm.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Like previous reviewer we were assigned to jackhammer bldg (currently the Dolphin.) We asked to be reassigned and, thank you, Kamaal, we were, but to a lower floor in Cobia bldg. We can see water but barely, but at least it would be quiet :) Not so fast .... Every day, 7 days a week, from 9 to 10, water aerobics in the Cobia pool utilizes a very loud microphone. No quiet morning coffee on the lanai. It's like being in the military...hup 1 hup 2 .... I asked that it be turned down and they did, but unless you want to listen to this EVERY DAY try to get a room somewhere else. This affects south side of Cobia and north side of Pompano bldgs. Just not what I was hoping for on much needed couple/birthday trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Wonderful resort with plenty of onsite activities and easily available offsite activities. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triniesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews