We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love racing, you'll love the history here!”

Birthplace of Speed Park
Ranked #19 of 77 things to do in Ormond Beach
Attraction details
Reviewed 21 November 2016

If you can catch this open, it is a wonderful exhibit of the first race ever....right here on Ormond Beach. Replicas of the first two racecars are on site and many pictures and information are available!

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016

This is a tiny little "pocket park", right next to the beach access road at the intersection of A1A and Granada Boulevard. Pretty, well landscaped, offers a great view of the ocean. A nice place to sit and look at the ocean, or to accesss the beach and walk past the unique beachfront homes to one side or past the rows of resorts on the other side of the access road...

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank happy_in_paris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Older building by the ocean with a plack. They removed the antique car. Not much more to see except a view of the ocean .

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank PackRatiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I read the reviews and can agree or disagree with people.It is not very big,sure but the way on Granada Avenue was the shortest to the beach for me and my daughter.ewe both are early birds and she took me at 7 a.m.!!!to Starbucks where she had some friends. I know now that people make friends and can see each other at favourite places.But every Sunday we went to the sunrise Church Service and though I am not the same religious views but it was wonderful.People sit at the park and sing so nice songs about our LORD! The terrace is good ,there are some memorial boards ( stones) but the most important thing is I was there and think it is comfortable! There are tables and benches and people eat and drink.The restrooms are close( no hooks inside every cabin but it's obvious that people change clothes)Besides there is a thrift store near Five GUYS and starbucks and it is one of the best( not the largest)of this kind.I can tell you a secret-we park near CVS farmacy and it was Ok! The only thing I didn't like they were traffic lights-too long to wait to cross the road!And as I don't like big waves I saw a better places for my splashing-here the waves are often wild anfd big!What is more-we can get to this park by bus 18 and 19 .It is a rare thing!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank irina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016

This small park was a nice respite on our beach walk. Although we were approached for money by someone at a picnic table while there, the park was lovely and we enjoyed the signage and garage that taught us more about the Birthplace of Speed.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank OlivelyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birthplace of Speed Park also viewed

 
 

Been to Birthplace of Speed Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing