We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Ranked #167 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Recently stayed here for a work meeting. The staff helping with our meeting was great - especially Mark! The front desk staff was really helpful too. Other than that everything else was just pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you very much for you most recent comments regarding your stay. We will definitely pass along your positive comments to Mark and the front desk team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and if there is anything we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable please dont hesitate to ask. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    389
    268
    132
    70
See reviews for
287
242
88
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree Downtown Orlando in July/August 2011 for 14 nights, I selected the hotel for the Doubletree brand and because I got the room for me and my family free through a hotel points scheme reward and this offered a good deal on the points redemption. It was good, clean rooms, comfortable beds and for the few times we had hotel food, this was good too.

We used the pool once, this was OK but although generally clean had some debris such as leaves etc. floating in it. Great Starbucks in reception good for grabbing a coffee and breakfast whilst travelling to one of the many attractions, plenty of tables for a more leisurely breakfast too if wanted.

Good for easy access to the freeway, ramp about 100 yards, to get to the local attractions within 15 to 20 mins, so a car is a must here. No freeway noise though, surprising as so close.

Nice friendly bar area with a mix of business people through the week and US holiday-makers, everybody friendly and polite. The one evening that we dined in the restaurant the service was very good and the food to a high standard, my 4 year old daughter was made to feel especially welcome by the waitress (I am sorry I cannot now recall her name).

The only real downsides are 1.) the rail track at the rear of the property, the through-trains sound their horns EVER SO LOUDLY at all hours, however strangely after a few nights of being exhausted around the theme parks and with all that fresh Florida air and sunshine we began not to notice it, and 2.) the car park is a touch on the expensive side, an idea for management is maybe for a concessionary rate for anybody staying, say, three nights or more. If you want you can sometimes find a free spot out on the road but you need to get lucky and after early evening the spots are all generally full.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who may be in Downtown Orlando on business and want to be reasonably placed for the attractions too, certainly good value if you are in aloyalty scheme............................

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is in the ideal spot-just outside downtown so its near the highway but you can't hear it from the hotel.

It's great with the Starbucks restaurant in the lobby-talk about a great price for breakfast, lunch or snack-it was delicious and everything was fresh!

The housekeeping staff-I'm an employee at a 5 star resort and never expected to have the type of service and interaction this staff has with guests. The housekeeper came into our room and spoke English, very friendly, asked about what we liked to drink and brought up more sodas to our room complimentary, she asked about what we were doing and even mentioned some things to do in the area since it was quite chilly outside. All the staff was very helpful including the housekeeping Supervisor who thanked us for staying at the Doubletree as he passed us in the hallway and even asked if he could assist us with our bags.

The bed's are really comfortable, the rooms have 40+ inch flat screen tv's, the bathrooms are very nice and the showers have a little marble trim giving it a classy look.

The view from the pool deck/hot tub on the 3rd or 4th floor has breath taking views and is such a nice place to relax. The gym has everything you would need and the equipment is very new!

If you want to stay at a hotel and get more than your $$'s worth-definitely stay here.

Reading reviews about parking being expensive-you should probably stay at a Motel 6 if you can't afford the self parking which is $15 a day. I would much rather have my car in a gated, patrolled area then on the streets to possibly have a homeless person break into my car. And if you were educated you would read the details that include the price for parking, resort fee charges and what it includes etc.

Don't go on vaca if you are cheap and want to nickle and dime everything.

Room Tip: Higher floors 14 and 15th have a Hilton Honors Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you very much for comments on your recent stay with us it is greatly appreciated. We are are all glad that you enjoyed your stay and comments like yours mean alot to our staff which will be shared with all team members. We work daily on ideas and ways to make each guest stay more enjoyable and it is good to see that some of the items that we put place are working through your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future. Once thank you and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Had some trepidation after reading the reviews of this hotel--most of what has been said (negative) was true. Hotel is an older property and I was awakened by a train at five in the morning. Hotel is off of I-4 but out of the way from any activities and although I was told that there were restaurants just a few blocks away, the neighborhood did not seem like one where you would walk around alone at night. This hotel is downtown in the business district, so not much was happening. Tried the hotel restaurant and I would definitely not recommend it--or the stale beer. The bright spot here was the friendly staff, who seemed to be making the best of it. I parked valet ($18) and the valet staff was very courteous and helpful. Orlando can be a hard place to get a room when big conventions are in town, but this hotel was almost a full hour's drive from the convention center when you figure in the notorious Orlando traffic. If you just want a place to sleep and don't care much for the amenities, this hotel would probably meet your needs--until the train comes by!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EconMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation during your visit regarding the train noise , I am glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and courteous. Regarding the area restaurants there are a wide variety within 2 to 3 miles of the hotel and we also provide complimentary shuttle service to them,I am sorry that you were not able to take advantage of this service. We would like another opportunity to be your hotel of choice again and if we are fortunate enough for you to consider us please contact me directly
and I will ensure we locate you where their will be minimal noise from the train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamAL
Level Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is my sixth stay of 5 days at this hotel since July. The govt. agency picked this place for our group project and I'm glad they did. Yes, it is beside the interstate and that makes it convienent. Yes, it is beside the railroad tracks that run through the edge of downtown. Shutting the room darkening curtains cuts down on some of the noise. During my last two stays I was fortunate enough to be in one of their "corner" rooms with windows on two sides overlooking the lakes outside the hotel. The view is outstanding.

"Occupy Orlando" has been using the park across the street from the hotel for their demonstrations and it appeared that the hotel staff even treated them with respect. On Sunday of this trip they set up a stage complete with huge loud speakers to play a "concert" and allow people to speak. The police shut them down after dark and the park was completely clean the next morning. They were gone the rest of the week.

The staff is outstanding. Richard, one of the managers, often works the desk. Doris, as always, is friendly and efficient, as is Ruth, Heather, and the others. All are extremely helpful from providing warm cookies to providing information about resturants. I'm impressed with their ability to handle the crowds, and their ability to give each person personal attention when it is their turn at the desk. The hotel provides a complimentary van (yes, tips are appreciated) for locations close to the hotel. Their new van holds at least 10 comfortably. The evening drivers (Dave and Gary) are especially pleasant and helpful.

The resturant continues to improve from the days when this hotel was a Sonesta a few months ago. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, especially the fresh fruit each morning. Included are eggs to order on request (they make wonderful omlets). The grilled salmon was outstanding (ask for the sauce on the side), as was the steak -- with prices comparable to resturants downtown. Soup and sandwiches are available at the bar. Heather, in particular, obviously enjoys serving her customers.

There are several resturants within walking distance, including a wonderful New York Deli in the lobby of the office building across the street that serves breakfast and lunch.

The beds are extremely comfortable and the showers have plenty of hot water. The bath area has two counters, one outside the main toilet shower area where the coffee pot is and large areas on each side of the sink. There was plenty of hot water, towels, etc. They use the top of the line "Citron" brand soaps, shampoos, and hand cream.

The conference rooms are nice and the staff responsive to our needs.

I look forward to my next trip there.

Room Tip: Ask. In my experience, if there if you get to your room and there is a problem they will gladly eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your visit with us. We are very happy that you found your stay enjoyable. Our staff members pride themselves on outstanding service and will be very appreciative to hear your comments. Our chef continues to be creative with new menu items and is always coming up with delicious creative meals. Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Comfort Suites Downtown
#119 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Orlando Downtown
#13 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Address: 60 S Ivanhoe Blvd, Orlando, FL 32804-6441
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
#135 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,221 - ₹ 23,020
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing