We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, but don't be misled....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center
Ranked #124 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We chose Embassy Suites Hotel in Orlando because of the good experiences we've had with Embassy Suites in the past. However, we chose this particular hotel because of the advertised scheduled free shuttle to Disney and Universal attractions. Because we had the opportunity to use the free shuttles at previous Embassy Suites we had stayed at, we made the mistake of assuming that this one would run just like the other ones we had used. Every hour on the hour. Wrong. There were two trips to Disney in the morning--8:30ish and 10:30ish. That's it. They will pick you up from Disney, but only at 5:15 pm, 8:15 pm and maybe 10:00ish? The Universal shuttles were even more scarce. We were really disappointed when we realized the free shuttle was different than other experiences at Embassy Suites. I should have called and looked into it before we left. Be careful. We tried the shuttle one day--it only drops off at Epcot--which was another big mistake, because we had a heck of a time getting to Downtown Disney, which was our destination. It was really more trouble than it was worth, and didn't work for us at all. It took us two ours to get to Downtown Disney with the tangled web of Disney Transportation. Take a cab and pay the $30. It will save you a lot of time and confusion. Also, the online brochure advertises a steam room. Don't be misled. I had a bit of a cold and was looking forward to a steam, but it seems they don't have one. No one at the front desk seemed to know. The men at the front door who greet you are fantastic, but one of the females who answered the phone was very unprofessional, and was laughing so hard she could hardly speak. The free breakfast is great, but the complimentary happy hour is pretty sad. The room was fine, but the furniture and carpet was pretty worn. Couldn't hear anyone in the rooms next to us, which was nice. The location is fantastic. Great locations all within walking distance. Nice outdoor pool and sauna. Would recommend this hotel to others, but with above cautions. Probably wouldn't stay there again. Lots and lots of other hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: The elevators are a bit on the slow side, so if you're going to be rushing from place to place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenmemonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review. I understand your frustration and apologize you were not totally satisfied. We alter the shuttle schedule based on park hours, but typically have three round trips to Disney, two to Universal and continuous to SeaWorld, Aquatica, Wet N Wild and the outlets on International Drive run by the IRide Trolley; all complimentary to our guests. I’m sure there are hotels that have more robust schedules to Disney or Universal, but we offer the most flexible schedule of the hotels on International Drive.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review!

Have a “Suite” Day

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
John.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,604 of 1,990 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week.We normally stay in luxury 5* hotels but since we were going to be out at the parks most days we thought this hotel would be o.k.
My expectations we quite low and to be honest I was amazed. The staff we really helpful, the quite breakfast was great, they didn't charge us for wifi since we were on holiday. And to top it all off I went to reception to ask about a weather forecast and Zachary printed off the weeks for us. We went to parks for the day and came back to find a card from Zachary to say sorry the sineshine state was not very sunny at the moment but please enjoy so complimentary coffees on us. He had left a pack of coffee and hot chocolate with some Christmas sweets in our room for us. He also removed 3 movie charges from our room. The hotel itself is ok,no light in the sauna, gym very basic, cracked tiles in bathroom. But none of this mattered really as for us it was the staff that made this hotel 5/5. Thank you Zachary ! we will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyjames7483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our team for a job well done, specifically Zach. He's been a great asset to the team and like so many on our team members, your experience is our top priority! I'll be sure to share your experience with Zach and the crew! Thank you again and have a "Suite" Day!

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
john.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Friendly Staff, great location on International drive. Except for going to events, we never had to drive anywhere. Tremendous selection of Restaurants, Bars, and other shops, all within walking distance. There are two Embassy Suites locations on International Drive, make sure you book this location! We were in town for the Capital One Bowl Game, and spent New Years Eve at Miller's Ale House, which was so much fun. Having a full Breakfast every morning, and the Manager's Cocktail hour every afternoon, is a great Embassy's benefit.

Staying at this Embassy Suites - AWESOME!
Taking a great Airboat Ride - Great!
New Years Eve at Miller's Ale House - PARTY!

Watching SC GameCocks win the Capital One Bowl! - Priceless!!!

Room Tip: Perhaps away from Elevators?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyberianHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Great review! Love it! My grandfather was a proud Gamecock and would have been right there partying with you! What a great game too! Nothing like a late night at the Ale House and a bountiful breakfast made for you in the AM. In my opinion, if you aren’t playing for a National Championship, there is no better bowl that the Capital One! Thank you for taking the time to post this great review and have a "Suite" day!

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
john.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is the first time I've actually been disappointed with an embassy suites. We paid for 6 guests in our room and only had 4 pillow 4 towels etc. we have had to call down to the front desk after every day of house keeping in order to get the proper amount of the needed amenities. Not to mention is took an hour with engineering in order to local Channels on the TV so we could watch the NFL playoff game.

Breakfast is very good if you don't mind standing in line for 20 minutes to get any of the hot items...even the express items that are pre made. Today every table was either taken or was filled with dirty dishes. We noticed that for nearly an hour not a single table got bussed by the staff and people were having to stack plates and trays all over the place just to sit... The piles were still there an hour after breakfast was done. Overall the hotel is great but the service was on par with a $69 / day budget in. Next time well try the Hyatt Place across the street I'm sad to say :(

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith022272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

1st night we arrived very late and the only room left was next to reception and the lift ,very noisy and we hardly slept . After that we were moved and enjoyed the rest of our holiday.nice hotel good breakfast and very central location

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay! You must have arrived on a busy night, but I’m glad you enjoyed your stay after being moved. On your return, please let us know your preference and we will be happy make every effort to make sure it is fulfilled. Over the years, I’ve found guests enjoy a variety of locations in a hotel... close to elevator, far from elevator, high floor, low floor. We also invite guests to let us know so we can work to make it happen.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review!

Have a "Suite" Day!

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
john.parkinson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#32 of 341 in Orlando
6,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center

Address: 8978 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-9321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: ₹ 9,873 - ₹ 28,790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe, all suite hotel located in the convenient, exciting International Drive area, surrounded by a variety of dining, entertainment and shopping venues. Accommodations are spacious one-bedroom suites with microwave, refrigerator & coffee maker. All guests enjoy a Complimentary Breakfast and free evening beverages daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Orlando Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing