We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent value and a Super location to Universal Studios!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Ranked #111 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value and a Super location to Universal Studios!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel so we could attend the Arnold Palmer Invitational Golf Tournament. I love the Best Western Hotel's and this location lived up to there excellent standards! Very clean and comfortable rooms and a full complimentary breakfast. Good choice if going to Universal Studios....It's just across the street!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmalone1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    466
    173
    19
    28
See reviews for
578
297
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was a hard one to decide how to rate. The good, I thought was really good and the bad was really bad. We were booked in a king room on the 3rd floor. the bedroom area and bed itself was nice and that's what I like about the room and it has a nice flat screen tv and the bed was comfy. there's also a mini fridge and microwave in the room. These are some of the reasons why I'm giving it 4 stars. On the downside, the lighting was rather poor at night in our room, during the day/morning you could open the curtain but at night, there are bedside lamp, floor lamp and I think there's one near the tv but overall, still quite dark (there's no ceiling light in the room) All the lamps are in the bed area so the hallway area is really dark even with all the lights on, it happens to be where the wardrobe is it was always hard to see what's in the wardrobe. The bathroom had no bath in it and the shower was just a laugh!! The first night I used the shower I thought there was something wrong with it. There's no pressure to the water, seriously, that was really annoying, I normally enjoy my showers but not here. Also there were no shelves to put your shampoo/cond or soap, there was a handrail so we put the soap there and the rest on the shower floor.
Reception staff were sometimes nice, and sometimes, really quite rude, more accurately, a couple of staff were nice but one, I did find quite rude thought she was in a better mood on the day we checked out and we didn't get any attitute from her on that day. Thats just reception staff, all the others eg cleaning ladies, breakfast room ladies were lovely thought didn't speak much english, but that's not so much of an issue when they're atleast nice and friendly and willing to help. Our room was always cleaned and tidy when we got back at the end of the day. Breakfast for me was fine as I love waffles and they have a waffle making machine so that kept me happy but they had eggs, sausages, muffins etc... Though the eggs could do with some improvement. Still, great for the price you pay to stay there per night. They have free internet near reception so that was handy.
Location:
Excellent location, we walked to and from universal most days. If you look up Google Earth, you basically walk down the end of the block then cross the road and you're pretty much entering universal carpark area which is not a bad walk, you walk through lots of nice garden once you crossed the road. If you enjoy walking, it doesn't take that long. We timed it and it took 20mins from the front of reception to the front entrance of universal. They also provide shuttle bus or more like shuttle car/van but you need to sign up the night before and not so reliable, the couple of days we used them, they were late both in picking us up and bringing us back.
Nearby there is hungry jacks, Japanese restaurant, a bar/restaurant on the same block and a walgreens, just cross the road and there's wendys, a nice Thai restaurant (for takeaways), mexican and on the other side of the block, closer to universal there's TGI Fridays, so plenty of eating options. We got the Thai food a couple of nights to eat back at the hotel and the food there is not bad, more authentic than what we get at home here in Oz anyway.
I would recommend the hotel based on nice bedroom area, good location and reasonable price, but it could be so much better if they could just pay more attention and fix up the shower/bathroom area and if all reception staff could be alittle more friendly and welcoming. There's also coin laundry for guess on level 2, there's just one washing machine and one dryer but they were always available when we needed to use them.

Room Tip: Maybe try for lower floors to see if the shower pressure is any better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlaineandAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My overall feel for this hotel was good. From the outside the hotel was clean and well kept.

The lobby was clean (someone was mopping as we walked in) and staff was friendly. We were able to check in 3 hours before normal check-in time.

Room was clean, no major issues. There was a scented oil plug-in inside the room that was way too strong, but we simply unplugged it. Bathroom towels and washcloths were a bit rough. Loved the "Clean" remote control that has flat buttons so that germs and dust can be cleaned - all hotels should move to this type of remote. Room was very quiet.

Housekeeping was in the halls from the time we arrived (around noon) to the time we left for dinner (approx. 6pm). Not a big inconvenience, but may be if you are staying multiple days and you come back after breakfast or lunch to find your room might not be cleaned. Bright and early the next morning, housekeeping was in the halls again by 8am.

The pool area is nice. Towels are provided, but they resembled an oversized hand towel. I had to use 3 to cover the lounge chair (and this still did not cover it).

Breakfast had many choices - waffles, sausage, eggs, pancakes, cereal, and fruit.

Location is great. We did not plan to go to Universal Studios or Island of Adventure, but this hotel is close. It would be a long walk if planning to walk to the parks. Starbucks is in the same parking lot and very convenient. There was a Japanese restaurant, Ale House and Burger King also in this same lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balootful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Room was clean, service was friendly, beds were okay. When they say "across the street from Universal" it should read "across the street from the entrance to Universal". It's a bit of a walk to get to the actual park. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. An Avis rental station in the hotel right next door. Only ate breakfast once in the 3 days we were there but there was a lot of variety. Great location for a very reasonable price. Call your own taxi and save almost 30%. The company they use seems to be run by a family friend and fares are higher.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Very nice hotel, clean, friendly staff. Close to Universal Studios and interstate roads

Room Tip: Just ask what your need is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie147320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#104 of 334 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Address: 5618 Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32819-7827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#102 Family Hotel in Orlando
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,646 - ₹ 9,880
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Universal Hotel Orlando
Best Western Universal Hotel
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing