We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to living up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Bonnet Creek Resort
Ranked #84 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“So close to living up to expectations”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My family and I recently took a trip to Orlando to do the whole Disney World experience. We went during the week of our son's birthday. While most of the trip created a "magical" appeal to our son, it was the typical Disney experience for adults: walk alot and stand in long lines.
We had searched around for a decent place to stay. Since my mother in law joined us, we would either need a 2 bedroom condo or 2 hotel rooms. We checked every single accomodation that Disney had to offer (including 2 hotel rooms at their "economy" locations) and found that Wyndham Bonnet Creek Resort offered us a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo for considerably less than just 2 hotel rooms would have cost us. With our AAA discount, we essentially got the condo for 7 nights at around $1900. Sounds like alot, but considering that staying at our resort of choice, the Polynesian, would have been nearly $6000, the 1900 allowed us to fly into Orlando, rent a car, eat dinner out and purchase our Disney 5 day parkhoppers and keep the entire budget UNDER that same $6000 that we would have paid, just for the rooms at the Polynesian. Oh, and remember, it was still less expensive than 2 hotel rooms for 7 days would have cost us at one of Disney's "economy" locations, by about 30%.
Okay, so, let's talk about the Wyndham. Great pools. Great site. Location is a little out from stuff, but, with bus service right there that will take you practically everywhere you want to go in convenient time intervals (and we had a rental car to boot), it really allowed us to feel like we were away from the crowds when we were on property. When you enter the property, you really get the feeling that you are living a rich man's life on a poor man's salary, from the guard shack (with a smiling and hospitable face to greet you) to an elaborate lobby (again, with smiling faces who seemed glad to see you) to wonderful grounds with some pretty awesome amenities. There are some pretty decent choices for food and booze on property, and again, the pools.....just great. They even had a putt-putt course that was really nice, with the exception of the typical unattended pre-teen and teen types who thought it much more fun to launch their golf balls into the lake instead of playing as one is supposed to, but, nowadays with the NEW typical laxadasical parenting skills, I guess we've come to accept kids running around without parents and thus without rules as being the norm. Aside from that, the property was really great.
Now for the actual condo. Nice floorplan. Great layout. Would be wonderful for a family. Will sleep about six folks in a fairly comfortable manner. Only two things kept this from living up to our expectations: 1) The humidity in the condo was severe. I mean so severe that our bed sheets actually felt wet every night that we were there. We messed with the A/C controls and never could remedy the situation. Never called the resort about it only because we were only there for sleeping most of the week anyways and we were just busy with our whole routine and it wasn't terrible to us, so, not that crazy bad, just unexpected. 2) Roaches.....everybody hates em and we had a few. Now you have to take into consideration that we were on the ground level and this is Florida, so that being said, it's not like we were completely just aghast of this factor. We aren't the uppity types that live in some fantasy world where everything is perfect and the slightest normality in life makes us conjure up scenes of living in a third world country. So, aside from the little things, our stay, overall, was very good and mostly lived up to our expectations. The fact that the staff is so attentive and seem genuine really helped too.
One other thing I should mention is that this is a time share community, something that we didn't know until we got there, and they will try to make a pitch to you upon arrival in the form of an invitation to join them for a free "owners" breakfast and an offer to get you park passes at a reduced rate, but, if you just say no, they do respect that. Sure, we could have saved $150 off our 5 day hopper passes that we spent $1250 on (four three adults and one child), but to us, it was worth spending the extra $150 to not have to spend a couple of hours at a free breakfast getting a sales pitch to buy an over priced time share. As we all know, you can buy time shares right now for next to nothing (sometimes literally $1) because folks are getting rid of them because of the maintenance fees and other issues.
So, want to have a great place to stay and save a ton of money and still have a free bus service that takes you everywhere you want to go on the Disney property? Stay at Wyndham's Bonnet Creek Resort. I promise you that, aside from the possibility of a few minor details, you will get the best financial deal and have the best place to stay and it will truly add to your overall experience in a most positive manner. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: On the ratings, I put average for room service and spa only because we didn't use the spa, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissouriTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,083
    1,014
    341
    172
    182
See reviews for
2,675
441
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The complex consists of 8 buildings situated around a lake, 7 of which are time shares plus the hotel. The reviews for the time shares and the hotel seem to be mixed in here so be careful when viewing the reviews. We stayed in the hotel which I believe opened in the fall of 2011. There is a walkway around the lake that connects all of the buildings which is great for exercise but also makes it convenient to use the amenities at each resort.
We rented a room on the concierge floor which had two queen beds plus an alcove w/ bunk beds. We have 2 college age boys who prefer not to share a bed so with one in the bunk alcove it worked out great. The bunks have their own little flat screen. Our son said the bunk beds were comfortable. We ate our breakfast in the concierge lounge (cereal, fruit, muffins, juice and coffe only) so it may make sense to pay extra for the concierge floor if you do not need a full breakfast.
The hotel has everything you want in a resort. The pool was nice and the building adjacent has a lazy river. Another building had mini golf. There were two hot tubs and a fire pit at the hotel pool for cool evenings. The pool bar and restaurant is large and enclosed and had salads, burgers and other typical pool bar food. We ate at the casual restaurant and thought the food was good. Being new the resort is clean and impressively designed.
The nice thing about this resort is it is close to Disney but the way the Bonnet Creek resorts are situated, you can aslo feel like you are removed from the Disney madness. The guests were a mix of families with young children, families with older children on spring break and people attending a convention and i think this resort works for all. The staff we encountered were all firendlky and eager to please. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyray312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel was awesome. It is huge and has multiple pool areas, all surrounding a nice lake. The rooms were fantastic. We stayed in a three bedroom, three bathroom room and it was spotless and had great amenities. We love Wyndham properties because of the full kitchen so you can at least eat breakfast in the room before going to the parks. We also love the washer and dryer so we don' thave to pack as much. We did not use the shuttle to the parks as we had rented a car. I heard the shuttle was inconsistent and slow, so we didn't have to worry about that. We booked through a friend who is an owner and we got a fair price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

One of the newer properties of Wyndham and on the Disney World grounds, thei Grand Orlando Resort looked promising. Then I checked in to be disappointed by the lack of staff service and attention during my stay.

Here's the partial listing of issues:

- failure to let me know that a package I needed had arrived
- broken towel bar in the shower you couldn't take a towel off without it coming apart (housekeeping couldn’t put towels on it without delicately balancing so they had to know)
- insistence by the restaurant hostess to get my name and room number before seating me even though I said I was paying cash. She implied that people left without paying
- pushing my visit to the club Wyndham desk to receive my 'free' gift which was really a come on for their vacation club. I was pushed this at check in and via 2 phone calls including one early Saturday morning.

Every time I complained about something the staff was apologetic and tried to correct but really, during one 18 hour period how many problems do you need?

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Nice sized rooms, friendly staff members, clean facilities, good food although prices were a bit much and not much to pick from for kids.

Bus service to and from the parks was good and bad. All bus drivers were friendly and helpful however they often arrive late, leave early and the buses are over crowded (some may consider this unsafe). I will note however I experienced the same a few years ago when I stayed on Disney grounds.

Overall we had a good experience and would stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savyandstylish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
0.9 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,326 reviews
5.5 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
5.1 km away
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa
11.7 km away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bonnet Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bonnet Creek Resort

Property: Wyndham Bonnet Creek Resort
Address: 9560 Via Encinas, 9560 Via Encina, Orlando, FL 32830-8474 (Formerly Fairfield Bonnet Creek)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#19 Green Hotel in Orlando
#64 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#75 Business Hotel in Orlando
#79 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,182 - ₹ 28,019
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Bonnet Creek Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Bonnet Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Bonnet Creek Hotel
Wyndham Orlando
Fairfield Orlando At Bonnet Creek Resort
Bonnet Creek Resort Orlando
Orlando Wyndham
Fairfield Bonnet Creek
Bonnett Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing