We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for the discerned guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #134 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for the discerned guest”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotel is situated one block back from International drive with a green line trolley stop outside the front entrance. It has free shuttles to both Universal & Seaworld (but not Disney - a taxi will cost around $45) or you could take the trolley down to Seaworld ($1.25) and get a Lynx 50 ($2) to Disney (takes about an hour).

Hotel itself is clean and well presented with a friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are ample size for the traveller. There is an onsite restuarant, a bar area, pool, gym, spa and free wifi in the lobby of the hotel. Wifi/cable internet / on TV internet is available in the rooms for a cost of $9 per 24 hours.

There is a Universal ticket desk inside the lobby where you can buy tickets and excursions, the bellman also has contacts (& discounts) for hiring cars / day trip tours etc).

Rooms at the rear have a view of the pool, International Drive and beyond that, Universal Studios & Wet N Wild. Rooms at the front have a distant view of Seaworld, Orlando generally & in the distance (6 miles or so) Orlando International Airport.

A great hotel for both the business traveller and profesional vacationers. This hotel would probably not suit those with young children as the facilities are primarily designed wth adults in mind, though children are more than welcome.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view. A rear room gives a more interesting view than those at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atc_brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    727
    274
    94
    61
See reviews for
666
629
68
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

I have mixed emotions on the hotel. First I received a queen suite when I reserved a king. The "queen" looks closer to a full in size. And there is inadequate drawer space with a too small closet.

The room is clean and the staff very courteous. The A/C has a tendency to freeze/bake you as it runs it cycle and don't sit in front of the airflow when it is blowing, you'll freeze.

There is a nice executive lounge with breakfast and happy hour for guests, and courtesy coffee in the rooms and restaurant for Priority members. The business center is very good, the gym updated but small and the outside courtyard a collection center for guests.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nineunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Crowne Plaza Orlando is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and quite roomy. The hotel is located near Universal Studios but also very convenient to Disney, Epcot, etc. The negatives are: 1.) Not enough parking for their guests. 2.) Internet access costs guests $12.95/day, which is crazy! 3.) Staff not friendly.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper like me, ask to stay on one of the quiet levels (floor 12 is a quiet leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALtraveler334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear ALtraveler334,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service from our staff which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Arrived Thursday before Easter and was pleasantly surprised by what a nice place the CP is. Cleanliness, comfort, food were all excellent. I have already recommended to friends. We plugged in 4 stars on Priceline and got a very good Easter rate at $120/night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Kay08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The location is nice, the hotel in general is clean - as are the rooms, and I thought the hotel was well laid out. It isn't the bargain for a business traveler that you might think with location. A significant drawback is the executive lounge. Any number of guests (children) are allowed as guests -- and the presentation is not very generous. On both evenings I got there well before closing, but most of the food was gone. Broken chips, some cheese, and drinks were all that were left. I mentioned the issue to the lady working on the first night, and she apologized - saying that the food stops coming early. On the second evening I mentioned it to the desk manager on duty -- and got an apology email from the food & beverage manager. I fully understand this is a resort location - what I don't really understand is why this member benefit is being compromised, and not just in this Crowne. In January I stayed at the Marriott Riverwalk in San Antonio, and was given lounge access. Very well organized...with a very nice presentation of food and beverages. It would appear that the recovery of occupancy rates has not affected all the hotels the same. The one thing that has been routine in most Crowne Plaza hotels up until now was the attention to the little details. Business travelers notice the little details -- and appreciate when they don't have to "mention it".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Orlando
#50 of 337 in Orlando
5,044 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,969 - ₹ 12,453
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing