We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for 2 Night Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Ranked #129 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for 2 Night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Arrived Thursday before Easter and was pleasantly surprised by what a nice place the CP is. Cleanliness, comfort, food were all excellent. I have already recommended to friends. We plugged in 4 stars on Priceline and got a very good Easter rate at $120/night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Kay08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    687
    258
    88
    54
See reviews for
634
600
63
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The location is nice, the hotel in general is clean - as are the rooms, and I thought the hotel was well laid out. It isn't the bargain for a business traveler that you might think with location. A significant drawback is the executive lounge. Any number of guests (children) are allowed as guests -- and the presentation is not very generous. On both evenings I got there well before closing, but most of the food was gone. Broken chips, some cheese, and drinks were all that were left. I mentioned the issue to the lady working on the first night, and she apologized - saying that the food stops coming early. On the second evening I mentioned it to the desk manager on duty -- and got an apology email from the food & beverage manager. I fully understand this is a resort location - what I don't really understand is why this member benefit is being compromised, and not just in this Crowne. In January I stayed at the Marriott Riverwalk in San Antonio, and was given lounge access. Very well organized...with a very nice presentation of food and beverages. It would appear that the recovery of occupancy rates has not affected all the hotels the same. The one thing that has been routine in most Crowne Plaza hotels up until now was the attention to the little details. Business travelers notice the little details -- and appreciate when they don't have to "mention it".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was not impressed by the rooms at all. Mine was very outdated. I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express's that were more updated than this room. Good view. The pool area was very nice with a cute little tiki bar. Lobby area was nice. Wouldn't be a place I would stay at in the future as there are many more cost effective properties that are quite a bit more updated and you get complimentary breakfast and internet. Good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Tootie84,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you liked the pool area as well as our breakfast. We are deeply sorry you found your room accommodation less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I would like to recommend this hotel for the quality of service, the quality of the personnel and would as well recommend it for its location when you are traveling with your family and going to any of the Orlando's famous theme parks. The Hotel is perfectly located and all attractions are reach within minutes.
During my stay i was on the highest floor and the service was just perfect, the room was large and spacious, very clean and tidy and sound proof. Despite the fact that we where there for Spring break, the service was efficient and professional. My check in and check out where the smoothest i ever experienced so far.
I strongly recommend that Hotel, only little downside was the parking lot a bit too small for Spring break....but i believe it is sufficient for the remaining of the year.

Room Tip: Always book the Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yf7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The room was fine by all standards -- and the staff tried to be helpful, but....

Question 1: Do you have an airport shuttle? Answer: Yes.
Real Answer: Crowne Plaza Airport has a shuttle, Universal doesn't. I'd called the 800 number and was assured a shuttle was available -- even booked the room at the Universal at that time. Added nearly $100 additional to my stay.

Question 2: Since airport shuttle isn't available, should you use the Crowne Plaza limo service? Answer: No. The transport captain tried to convince me that the $55 limo shuttle offered by the Crowne was a much better value than the taxi, if I was willing to wait 30-45 minutes to be picked-up. I took a pass on that suggestion, hopped immediately into a waiting cab, and was at the hotel $28 later.

Question 3: Does the Crowne have theme park shuttles? Answer: Yes.

Real answer: Kind-of. The Universal shuttle has 3 morning pick-up times only -- but they require a ticket on a first come, first serve basis; to assure your seat, you must pick-up tickets around 6:30a. 2 evening return times only. Disney "shuttle" only goes to Epcot; 3 choices of morning, 2 choices for return. In my world, a shuttle goes to-and-from on a much more convenient basis. This isn't a shuttle, it is "limited transportation."

Question 4: Is there free WiFi? Answer: Yes.

Real Answer: No. Again, 800 number confirmed the service -- "free wifi" is in the lobby only. Internet access in your room is $13 per day. (They did comp me this, since I complained -- but the "Yes, we have wi-fi," was just one more misleading item.)

Question 5: Is breakfast included? Answer: Breakfast is available.

Real Answer: When registering, we were told, "Your room qualifies you to join us for our morning buffet, please join us...." We had toast and scrambled eggs -- although our room (or perceivably ability to breath) "qualified" us to join the buffet, it was not complimentary -- it was $43 for two, as a matter of fact. Lesson learned -- one block walk bagged us a much better breakfast buffet for $4.99 each at a different hotel.

Question 6: Is there a pool? Answer: Yes. And the hours are convenient -- except that they allow children in the pool through 11:00p. Monsterous, loud and annoying. Perhaps no kids under 15 after 8:00p might be an idea???

The property is lovely, the rooms are nice, the staff is friendly -- but take your checkbook. I don't consider myself cheap, but we had booked about an $800 4-night stay that turned into half-again that much after the half-truth answers.

If you call to book your reservation, ask SPECIFIC questions and you might be happier than we were....

Room Tip: Higher the better to get away from the late-night pool noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear David G,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.3 km away
Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 km away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#22 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,250 reviews
13.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Orlando Studio City Hotel
3.1 km away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#41 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,610 reviews
0.2 km away
StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,159 - ₹ 14,728
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing