We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Terrible Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Ranked #234 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Checked in to this Terrible, Terrible hotel on 4/11 @ around 13:00 dropped off bags and went about our business returned to hotel about 18:00-18:30. First off our room reservation was for non-smoking(got non-smoking room on fifth floor w/smoking rooms, wife complained to desk. Desk response "we have a large group of kids staying here and I didn't think you would want to be bothered" (mind you, it was a Christian youth band, not a bunch of rowdy kids), still why put us on a smoking room floor? Next the microwave was missing the glass plate, so we had to call desk again so we could heat up our food. Speaking of heating up, the water in hotel was not even warm enough to seep a tea bag. I went down to desk and inquired about water situation, desk guy said "Oh, that's unusual!", on way back to room, I asked another guest if he was experiencing same, he stated "It depends on what floor you are on!" Really!! By 20:00 I was on the phone looking for reservation for the next day, and got an extremely pleasant person @ the La Quinta Inn(Sandra). Needless to say we were out of the County Inn by 06:00 am the next morning and checked into the La Quinta Inn by 06:45 am, didn't even want to stay for breakfast. Oh, by the way apparently they must only have one or two people on staff during the evening hours because the desk guy, was the maint guy, was the guy who brought micro plate, was the guy setting up for breakfast, when we were checking out @ 06:00 am. One plus our room had view in direction of Disney Fireworks( fifth teen good minutes ).

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel by all means.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AF128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced while you visited us. It is certainly our goal to ensure that every guest leaves satisfied and we take your comments seriously so that we are able to continue to make our guests happy. I would be pleased to personally discuss your stay with you if you would like to contact me. We continue to strive for excellence with our hotel and it is only through feedback we can do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 717 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

we stayed here in september 2011, and we throughly enjoyed it. perfect location. friendly staff. 2 big comfy queen sized beds. breakfast good. good price for park tickets. only critism (if one), maybe there could be more bus times on to walt disney and universal, and maybe other parks. loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area you will return to see us. It makes us happy when we get to see our guests time after time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

An easy find when arriving in Orlando and on a fairly quiet street with less chaotic traffic than International Drive. The hotel was clean and well kept but could use some sprucing up insome areas. We spent 2 days at this hotel and learned that the breakfast had the same variety every day. It's the typical fare and you shouldn't be surprised that the earlier you get there the more apt you are to find a table. It wasn't one of the worst but not the best either.

Rooms were clean and quiet and it was a great central location for getting to all the attractions we went to. The bus that drove us from the hotel to Sea World was more comfortable than I expected and it was not crowded at all definitely a plus if you have more than one child to keep track of and you will be there just a few minutes after the park opens. Both directions to and from Sea World it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buddy4one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and also our local theme park attractions. I do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area you will return to visit us. We look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Clean, quiet and perfect for a short stay. Very close to all attractions and breakfast is served every morning. If your looking for a low cost room this is your hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudegirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is always important to us that our guest have a great stay and enjoy their stay. It is our goal to make every guest feel like family. We do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area you will return to visit us. We love to welcome back our return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a very nice place to stay - it's about a 10 minute walk to International Drive (where all the restaurants are), less than a mile south of Wet and Wild, a $8 cab fare to Universal Studios... it's off the main drag (International Drive) so it's much quieter. The I-Trolley runs right beside the hotel and connects to the main one on International drive with fewer stops, so you actually save time on the trolley. Staff was very friendly and helpful, there is a desk where you can get tickets to Universal, Seaworld, Disney etc... I found the rooms were clean, the bathroom was a little dingy around the shower area, but still clean. There are ice machines and a coin-fed washer and dryer on the third floor. The little store off the lobby has just about everything you may have forgotten - goggles, toiletries, sunglasses, clothing etc... It was great to have breakfast on site - always at least 3 hot dishes, dry cereal, an assortment of breads/bagels etc... and make your own waffles (my daughter's favorite). There is a pool, which we used ONCE when we checked in, but we were just too busy to use it any more! The only negative thing is that the complimentary shuttle is very limiting - only 2 departures in the morning (8:40, 10:45), with buses returning at 6pm or 10:45pm. Also, the shuttle only takes you to Magic Kingdom, so if you wish to go to any of the other parks you have to get there from the Magic Kingdom which wastes time. The Disney water parks were especially problematic to get to, but this is probably true of shuttles from most hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dikaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is always our goal to have our guests leave happy. We hope that while you were here you were able to take advantage of our new diningware. We are working towards a better environment by eliminating all of the disposable paper products on our breakfast buffet. I do hope that the next time you are visiting the Central Florida area, you will return to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#172 of 342 in Orlando
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baymont Inn & Suites Orlando
#194 of 342 in Orlando
455 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Address: 7701 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: ₹ 4,777 - ₹ 14,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World(R) Resort, Universal Studios(R) and Sea World(R) theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing