We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jambo - expensive but awesome !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jambo - expensive but awesome !”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Whilst visiting Disney we decided to spend three nights there on an off the cuff decision. We paid a hefty sum ($1,900) for a room on the second floor on the left side (2239). The kids loved it, best time is morning and evening to catch the animals as they feed, we saw Red Water Hog, Ankole Cattle, Reticulated Giraffes, Zebra ( i keep saying Zeebra), Antelope, Ostrich and Pelicans. The room was lovely, slightly on the small side but the bunk beds were good and the main bed solidly made. Good wooden furniture throughout. Air Conditioning was silent AND effective unlike the one at our main hotel, the DoubleTree at Universal. Food is relatively expensive but great, we stuck to the Boma buffet as we all like to pick and mix, plenty of selection, service is great and chef's are accomodating.
Best three nights of our holiday, magic for the kids and us snacking on our veranda as we watched the wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinnyCelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,084
    1,698
    590
    245
    126
See reviews for
4,230
1,173
53
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Another great stay there. My kids fell in with the staff, who loved them right back. Followed the staff around when they did their educational demonstrations. Maintinence man gave one daughter a handful of toys, just to be nice. Did have a room with a lesser view than before; we like ostrich savanah better.The kids club is the highest rated in the entire Disney line-up (allears.net) and our kids loved it. Let us go out to a nice dinner; Sanah is not to be missed. So be sure to take advantage of the lovely staff, kids club, and Sanah.

Room Tip: Ostrich savannah is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostictj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Waking up every morning and chilling-out every evening on your balcony watching the animals is huge. The hotel is undoubtedly remote and having a car available is a must unless you don't intend going anywhere other than your hotel or the AK.

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Positives

1. The animals. Amazing the wake up to see various animals grazing beneath you.
2. The guides are absolutely amazing. I spent over an hour one morning chatting with two African ladies whose names I unfortunately can't remember - one from South Africa one from Botswana. If by chance someone at the hotel reads this, pass the message on that I really enjoyed our chat. I'd gone to buy my wife a gift from the gift shop because we were leaving that day. Without prompting, one of the guides found me wrapping paper and a gift tag. It's little touches like this that made our stay so special.
3. The Disney experience - no point listing all the usual perks of staying at a Disney resort because you probably know them all anyway if you're reading this. It is the ONLY way to enjoy a Disney World holiday

Negatives - I must stress that these aren't enormous negatives. We came away with an overwhelmingly positive account of our stay. Just that in the interest of balance these were some points for improvement.

1. Unless you're paying the extra for a savannah room, it's rather pointless staying here. You can see the same animals on a trip to Animal Kingdom theme park.
2. Concierge were not at all helpful with booking the Magical Express to the airport when we were leaving. Twice I was fobbed off with instructions to merely tell the valet in the morning that we'd like to travel and that would be sufficient, despite having been told elsewhere to the contrary. Finally I asked one of the night staff at reception to look into it and within seconds our boarding passes had been printed. Thanks a lot concierge. I should stress though that this is the only unsatisfactory exchange with customer service staff for our entire stay.
3. Location. This is relatively speaking of course. It's still only half an hours bus ride from anywhere else in Disney World. It's still the furthest one away from anywhere though - half an hour one way to Downtown Disney in the evenings which was a long trip when you've had a "bit" to drink...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MA_Browne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

If you really want an African adventure then please use your money to go on one. You will love it, and believe me at these prices you can afford it. My personal favourite is the Okavango Delta in Botswana and if you can stretch to it the Namibian Skeleton Coast. If you "have" to be in Disney World then this is an OK choice of a hotel (not the best but OK). BUT ... this is not Africa folks ... this is a huge (5 story) hotel block surrounded by a zoo. If you accept that is what you are getting then fine, go for it.

We spent two weeks in Orlando at two different hotels. The first was the Waldorf Astoria (reviewed seperately) which was cheaper and better (but not good). When we arrived at Animal Kingdom we had a big booking problem (thank you to hotels.com for resolving for us) but that meant that we started in a room at Kidani and then ended up at Jambo House so we can comment on the comparability. In our view Kidani is a smaller poor relation (fewer facilities and the pool is too small) but otherwise a carbon copy. We eventually booked into a large 4th floor 1 room suite (these are all standard hotel rooms folks, none are "villas") with a lounge and kitchen area (beware that smaller rooms do not have a kitchen despite some of the apparent advertising). The large rooms are nicely done although for the price are a bit tacky. The comments about things being too dark are frankly just silly, the lighting is perfectly adequate.

Service throughout was "Disney Standard Service Level" (DSSL = lots of smiles but largely slow and inneficient).

Food is also "Disney Standard Food" (DSF = overpriced and largely poor quality). This includes the so called South African restaurants at both Kidani and Jambo (I grew up in Africa ... trust me not authentic).

Transport system works well from this hotel and you are not too far from everything. We liked the evening toasted marshmellows by the campfire every evening. The pool (at Jambo) is nice and the afternoon kids activities are good.

Note that we have been to Disney several times so we are "fans" but let's be honest about what you get. Our favourite park was Animal Kingdom.

Room Tip: If the animal view thing is important then you need to specify Savanna view, but to be honest this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank off-for-a-ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,474 - ₹ 41,147
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing