We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Bay Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #33 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

DVC member for 12 years, first time at Bay Lake. We loved it. I'm just going to give some tips. First, they have just installed a check-in desk in the Bay Lake lobby. Check in is fast. They meet you at the door of the lobby with iPad in hand, and our room was ready at 11am. Also, there is an online forum that lists every room number, room category, and pictures of the view from each room. Search for it, find exactly what you are looking for, write down all the room numbers that fit your specs, and email member services with your name, membership number, and the room numbers in order that you would like. I had never done this and it worked; got the 2nd one on my list. Our category was lake view but had full view of lake, Castle, and Space Mountain. Next, the pool is kind of small but the slide is fast. Full bar with food and drink station by the pool. Also they have those pool parties in the afternoon so if you aren't wanting that plan accordingly. They roast marshmallows in a pit out back at night before the outdoor movies, all you can eat. The water parade floats by at 10:10 pm. Wi-Fi signal was strong. Free movie rental as always right off the BL lobby. If you are using the pull-out, check to make sure the sheets are on it as soon as you get there, as opposed to calling down for them at midnight like we did. We stayed at OKW for a couple of days first and got all of our "running around" done before Bay Lake because I thought it might be hard to get the car out of there. Parking ended up being great, right by the lobby, so we could have easily left if we wanted to. Monorail was wonderful of course, but it does take a while just like all Disney transportation. The floor numbers going from BL to Contemporary are confusing at first but quick to learn. Great shopping at Contemporary, plus one of the best hotel arcades on property that is open until 11:30pm, if you are into that. That's about all I have, but if you are DVC and you haven't done this yet, do it. I'm glad we finally did.

Room Tip: Do your research on those rooms and ask member services for exactly what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palmharbormichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,084 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Bay Lake Tower with our one year old baby in october 2012. Perfect location nd only Disney Villa with monorail service. Having a one bedroom suite equipped with kitchen amenities, one extra bathoom and theme park view was great choice. My wife loved so much this hotel that we decided to beome DVC members. The great thing is being steps away from MK and being able to wlk to and from the park when monorail was crowded. Another plus is using all the amenities and services of the Contemporary - marina, fitness, restaurants, stores.... Best Disney property for those wanting to stay at home like rooms with monorail service and not wanting a spreaded property with long walks nd lots of bus stops.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Fernando K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had such a great time. Some other review info is not accurate. Although there is no food service in the hotel there is food at the pool here as well as a drink refill station. There IS a community hall and you can rent movies here (for free) and play Wii, PS3 or Xbox as well as Foosball. Their movie selection is great! My son did drawings, colored a fabric frog and made a necklace here-all of these crafts are free. The staff at BLT Community Hall were very friendly and nice. Staff overall were very nice but some did seem new and lacked the professionalism of staff at other resorts but it really didnt matter. We had a room in the south tower right near the elevator on 7. To get to the Contemporary, we simply took the elevator down 2. floors and walked across the bridge, very convenient. I did not notice the room looking worn, everything looked nice and clean. Also, we had no problem checking on here, at the BLT lobby. Some folks have said check in is at the Contemporary but we did not experience that. Overall I would stay here again, beautiful resort, beautiful view and very easy and fun access to MK!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank momopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We've been to Disney World more times than I can count, we've stayed at the Contemporary, Floridian, Beach Club, Boardwalk, Wilderness Lodge, Port Orleans, Bordwalk Villas and Bay Lake Tower. Each is good in their own way, older kids like being near Epcot and Hollywood Studio's. Boarkwalk and Beach Club are perfect, large pool, beach area, walking distance to their two favorite places and plenty to do. Contemporary, Floridian and Bay Lake are all good for adults or kids who are mainly interested in the Magic Kingdom. Walking to the park is easy and the little ones get to see the lights, fireworks and electric water parade at night from their rooms or the adults can watch while the kids sleep. Port Orleans was nice, just a large motel room but there is a very nice food court, carriage rides and boat ride to Downtown Disney.

We are not Vacation Club members and I can truthfully say that $976 a night for a two bedroom villa is WAAAAY too much. The kitchen is nice, so is the washer and dryer and three bathrooms but the furniture is worn and stained, Hawaiin Punch stain on the rug and I expect MUCH more for that kind of money. Towels were small and a little rough, lots of pillows but a little old and sad, a LONG walk for food and if I were in one of the rooms below the 5th floor I would have been really angry. They call it a Magic Kingdom view but it's a parking lot view plain and simple, I prefer the pool view actually. Coming across the walkway from the Contemporary you are staring at people who are sitting on their balconies...glad it wasn't my room!

It's a good location, great for the youngest grandchildren (I wouldn't have spent that on my own kids but Grandparents do odd things) but I'm happy that most of mine have aged out of the Contemporary and we've moved on to the Epcot properties. If I ever get to go alone with my husband we'll be at the Floridian.

If you have a youngster please bring a stroller or umbrella stroller. I know they rent them at the park but unless you have a great back and big muscles the kids are NOT going to make it from the room to the monorail or the park and then back to the room after you've turned the stroller in. Just gettting to Chef Mickey or market in the Contemporary is a long, long way. Little legs (even 4 or 5 year olds) just can't make it day after day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GC967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Having read the negative reviews and concerns, I worried about the resort we traded into (via RCI). I expected the worst, and hoped for the best - and to my relief, it was one of the best! Our vacation was Friday, April 19th thru Friday, April 26th.

CHECK IN:
Check in is at the attached Contemporary Resort - personally, I preferred this as they were best equipped with staff and it kept noise and people in Bay Lake Towers to a minimum. We luckily received the special requests I made on our reservation (a room ending in "02" - priced at "Lake View", but offers both lake and fireworks views). The front desk staff was friendly, polite, accommodating, and a neighboring front desk staff member sang "Happy Birthday" to one of the children in our group. During check in they provided us with the celebration buttons that we requested (i.e., Birthday Button, Anniversary Button, and 1st Time Button). If you wear your buttons throughout your vacation, the hotel, park staff and characters all make it a point to say Happy Birthday/Anniversary, etc to you. Birthday's appear to get the most recognition.

ROOM (#8202, 12th Floor):
Despite the Lake View, we were easily able to view the Wishes Fireworks at Magic Kingdom (tune your TV to channel 92 to hear the Wishes music that's played in the park). The condition of the room was very good - very clean, and only small signs of wear - which is understandable seeing as Disney does tend to have a higher number of children - who I'm certain run wild in these rooms.

This room has a full kitchen, 3 FULL bathrooms (lighting wasn't very good, but is best in the 2nd bedroom's bathroom) and a stackable washer/dryer in a closet. Bathrooms have sliding doors, and if you slide them completely closed, you'll note that the locking mechanism is at the back of the door. Once you find the lock, it's not difficult to master. Bedroom had various types of pillows (feather, firm, medium fluffy) - which was key to a good night's sleep. Beds are soft, and slightly firm - nobody complained about the comfort.

Our room was at the end of the hall, and quite a walk from the elevator - but the uptick was that we didn't have neighbors on both sides of us - and we didn't mind the extra exercise.


PROS:
Fantastic and attentive staff
Clean and comfortable room
In room DVD player (downstairs they offer a DVD checkout service for free)
Onsite activities at the pool and in the evenings (outdoor movies, campfires)
Reasonable walking distance to Magic Kingdom
Plentiful hot water for multiple showers

CONS (keeping in mind we didn't let any of this ruin or sour our vacation):
Sulfur smelling/tasting water (this problem existing for all areas Disney parks and resorts)
Deeply perfumed smelling lobby at Bay Lake (we think it was the flowers)
Noisy flushing toilets (sort of scared the kids at first)
Mousekeeping didn't bring us a requested extra tea pitcher (FYI these pitchers are very small)

TIPS:
Online groceries is an option, but pretty expensive - and we prefer to get our own items. We chose to take a cab to the closest grocery store (AVOID "GOODINGS" AT ALL COSTS). The cab ride was through the resort-preferred "Meers/Yellow Cab" transportation. They charged $21-$25 one way. We could have saved on this cost had we taken the Downtown Disney shuttle, and caught a cab from there. Grocery stores to use nearby: Publix or Wal-Mart.

A parting tip... don't let things you cannot control (grumpy staff member, screaming children, bad mannered family/friend) ruin your trip. And if you're in a rotten mood, remember - you're bad attitude can spread like wildfire to those family/friends/strangers around you. You'll get more flies with honey than vinegar.

Room Tip: Any room at Bay Lake Tower ending in "02" will provide you with Lake View pricing, but a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LH429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#105 of 342 in Orlando
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: ₹ 35,544 - ₹ 71,989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing