We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,890)
Filter reviews
9,890 results
Traveller rating
5,967
2,418
880
390
235
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,967
2,418
880
390
235
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexpress passcity walkwater taxirock royaltyrock starclub levelvelvet barrock musicpalm restaurantrock and rollislands of adventurefast passharry potterboth parkskids suiteroom keypool area
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 9,890 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times through the years, most recently this past week. We have always had a great time at this hotel! The amenities are great, the hotel is clean, and the staff is very friendly. The pool, water slide, and hot tub are always great. There are also several restaurants on-site. I especially enjoy Emack & Bolio’s, which serves ice cream, shakes, snacks, and hot foods.

In addition to the amenities in the hotel, the location is also great! There is a walking path to CityWalk which is ver clean and well-maintained. You can also take a water taxi to CityWalk if you prefer (although I’ve always walked and do not use the water taxi). When you are at the parks, your room key counts as an express pass to skip the regular lines. Although the parks were crowded with most schools being on April Break this past week, I never had to wait more than 20 minutes for any rides with the express pass.

I highly recommend the Hard Rock Hotel and will continue to stay there for my future trips to Universal Orlando!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Husky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for the rockin' review. We are thrilled you were able to take the time to enjoy our poolside, water slide, and hot tub. A brief walk or water taxi ride places you right in the heart of the action at Universal CityWalk making our close proximity to the parks and Universal Unlimited Express Passes really do take the parks to a whole new level. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another vacation fit for a Rock Star. Rock On!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Simply amazing. Fantastic experience here. We only stayed for 1 night but was fantastic! Beds in the rooms were amazing. Food at the hotel was expensive but we expected that.

Enjoyed the pool area whilst a band played!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Happy842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for the stellar five-star review. We are thrilled you experienced the Rock Star experience from the moment you arrived. Our newly renovated rooms add an exciting new vibe to the already rockin' good times we feature here at the hotel and our signature Sleep Like a Rock bedding ensures ultimate comfort following an active day at the theme parks. We hope to welcome you back again the next time your travels bring you to Orlando. Take it easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We absolutely loved Hart Rock Hotel. It has all of the amenities you need, as well as extremely friendly and accommodating staff and very clean. We will definitely return next year and every year after that! The location of the hotel was perfect, just a quick walk to Universal and City Walk and very convenient Water Taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
1  Thank JAM787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

We were honored you rocked out with us! From the awesome memorabilia to our team of Rock Stars, we strive to create an experience that truly rocks. Thank you for the stellar five-star review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Rock On!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We used this location as a base for our park visits. It’s better (in my opinion than Portofino). Why. Smaller but big enough (or feels that way). Easy walk to parks. Good food and breakfast options. A lot of music paraphernalia all over the place. The pool is fun. Music plays all day and there is also live music. Great tunes and really good service makes a sunny afternoon a real pleasure. We rented a cabana one day and that’s nice with a big family to carve out a different kind of space, a sofa, a TV etc. it’s not necessary by any means. The service here was tremendous too. Friendly, bit rock and roll at times. Don’t fear the “rock”. We slept well !! The rooms are clean, modern and fun, great value. They play up the rock in the room with little features like a mirror that has stars heights on it (for example). Worked very well for us but if you don’t like music non stop by thr pool the don’t do it ! For those about to rock we salute you !

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank 5headedmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for your rockin’ review and continuing to choose the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando as your vacation destination. Our Rockstar team goes above and beyond to bring the spirit of rock ‘n’ roll alive in each and every guest interaction and I am glad to hear you felt just that during your stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon for another rockin’ stay. Rock On!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

...but not quite our cup of tea.

We stayed here for 4 nights during the first week of April 2018 to visit the Universal parks with our 15 year old daughter. The hotel was lovely and very clean, and the staff was enthusiastic and gracious. The towels were plentiful and the transportation to the parks via water taxi was swift. The walk to Universal Studios via the pool was quick and pleasantly scenic. Room service food was warm and good, and salads we ate at the in-house restaurant, The Kitchen, were fresh.

The staff here was superb: always friendly and helpful—we had just come from Disney and found the staff here to actually be friendlier and more gracious. I cannot stress enough how helpful and kind and professional everyone was, and I mean everyone: every encounter was positive and pleasant, from the check-in staff to our housekeeper to the bartenders to the towel staff at the pool to the room service delivery person to the valet staff.

Unfortunately we felt a bit out of place, not being much for the mainstream rock music which was always playing in lobby and around the pool. Too much Police, Bon Jovi, etc. I mention this not to fault the hotel, but to give a clearer sense of the atmosphere for people using these reviews to pick among the Universal property hotels. I am not a music person and simply tuned it out, but my husband and daughter, who love music, seemed to find it frustrating, as if they were stuck listening non-stop to top 40 FM rock. We have stayed before at the Royal Pacific and while the overall atmosphere there is less luxurious, it fits us better.

The pool was also an issue for us; it was wide and well-cared for with ample seating, but most of it was too shallow for swimming; it seemed like a pool to lounge/relax in. If you like having a drink by the pool edge, it is perfect, but it is not so great if you’d like to swim. The water slide was fun; just long enough to pick up some speed and seamless so you don’t scrape your back.

A few notes on amenities:
Coffee: The Keurig coffee maker in the room had “French Roast” regular and decaf pods and some teas as well. These all tasted a bit off to me, probably because of the local tap water. We started to smuggle filtered/bottled water from the pool and gym to improve the taste. Whole milk was available in Emack & Bolio’s marketplace, but no half and half. Little creamers were provided in the room. To go cups were there in the room which made it easy to take coffee to the parks.

USB ports: there were 2-3 in the room, but not all worked. The regular, free wifi seemed strong enough to satisfy my daughter, who on several occasions streamed a multi-player game.

Drying rack: The bathroom had an expandable clothesline that stretched from one side of the shower/tub stall to the other and it held three-four drying bathing suits well.

Scents: The signature scent which a few other reviews discussed was noticeable only in the lobby and thus caused no issues for us, though we are sometimes sensitive to cologne, etc. (My husband, who complains each time they clean the floor in our apartment building with scented cleaners didn’t even notice it—after reading my notes for this review, he actually asked me: was there a scent? So it is not in any way obtrusive.)

Transportation: the water taxis to Citiwalk (walking distance to both Universal parks) were frequent and pleasant. The shuttle bus to Volcano Bay was a little less frequent (we waited for what we were told would be an 8:30 AM bus, nothing came until about 8:45 AM and that bus was quite crowded) and is shared with the Portofino Hotel. Returning from Volcano Bay in the afternoon was quicker and much less crowded.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Angeltoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough informative review for our future guests to reference. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Rock on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews