We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #165 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall a Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel was easily located. Could not check in until 4pm which is the listed check in time but this is honestly the only place we weren't able to check in early. Room was huge but bathroom was very small, I mean very very small. Overall the hotel was nice, staff was friendly. We'd probably stay here again when in the area.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kateykins812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    815
    372
    126
    120
See reviews for
905
497
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a wonderful time and your property is beautiful! From the very second we walked into the lobby your staff was nothing but amazing and hospitable. They answered any and all questions quite thoroughly. Had an extra toothbrush for the member of our party who had forgotten us and even called us a cab for our crazy night out at Universal City Walk. They'll remember us from our walk into the lobby on our way out to dinner dressed in full on neon and looking like we had just stepped out of music video circa 1983. We loved how close we were Universal and how cheap the cab ride was.

The next morning I was woken by husband who was home and needed to go to the ER. I had his insurance card and credit card. The front desk made me photo copies of the cards quickly and without a question. I had a bit of trouble in the business center. I couldn't get a fax out. A wonderful gentleman helped me by quickly taking my fax to his office and sending it personally to the Dr so that my husband could be treated. I can't thank your staff enough for all of their help.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is very spacious and allows you to spread out with your party quite comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFloridianPc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel is very clean, rooms were big and spacious and beds were extremely comfortable. Loved that the TGI Fridays was accessible through the main lobby. Pool was clean and really enjoyed using it. Considering it is so close to Universal Resort, I was please that there was no parking fees. I had previously called about getting a wheel chair accessible room for my grandmother and aunt who was meeting me in Orlando for my trip. There wasn't any available but they assigned her room on the first floor and I really appreciated that and she did as well!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LallieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is clean, safe, decent size rooms and had a really good free coffee maker in the room. Also the hotel has a TGI Fridays which joins on to the main lobby so is very convenient for breakfast or late night dinners after a big day at the parks.

The best thing about the hotel is that it's walking distance (about 10 minutes away) from Universal Studios and The Islands of Adventure. If that's too far then you can always get a taxi that will only set you back around $6 and save you the effort of walking.

My only complaint was that I booked an paid for a King size bed and balcony on expedia and when I checked in they instead gave me a room with 2 double beds and no balcony. Still I wasn't there to sleep and sit on the balcony I was there to do theme parks and this provided the perfect base to do just that.

If staying here make sure you check out Busch Gardens. It's about 90 minutes away from Orlando in Tampa Bay but Busch Gardens provides a free shuttle bus that picks you up from Universal Studios and drops you off at Busch Gardens and also the bus returns you to Universal at the end of the day... best park about the shuttle it's totally free with your park admission ticket!

Room Tip: watch out for dodgy pizza menus that get slid under your hotel door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lukey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

After having a bad experience at The Westgate Lake Resort, this was a welcomed surprise! We didn't stay at the other resort, because it was nasty! We checked out & rode around to find something or the night! It was 5:45am & they allowed us to check in & didn't charge us extra, because it was so late/early. It was suppose to be a charge for Saturday night! That was so Awesome! We were so tire & ready to sleep! I'm use to 4 & 5 star hotels & I actually didn't mind staying there! We ad a 2bedroom suite with a kitchenette with a large seating area! It was very CLEAN & updated! The bathroom was small, but who cares! Shower/toilet was clean. The lobby was really nice! We you walk in, you think you're at a 4/5 star hotel! It was a small problem with housekeeping. We would ask for extra towels & the lady would get an attitude & give me 2. I asked for Kleenex, tissue, paper towel & bags. She would give me 1& I would say, it's a 2 bdrm, duh! I would go take what we needed off the cart! The one housekeeper was excellent, she was very generous! That was the ony issue. I would recommend this hotel! Staff was very helpful & nice! The judge it by a Holiday Inn. I enjoyed my stay! I'm an extreme neat freak & I did ok, because it was very lean! I was thanking Jesus, after our bad experience at Westgate Lake Resort! Don't stay there, stay at The Holiday Inn at Universal! My kids enjoyed the pool! They gave free vocher's for breakfast at the Fridays that was attached! We didn't take advantage of that, because we to up late everyday. I would stay there again!!,

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonyatanise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Clarion Inn & Suites
#107 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,878 - ₹ 16,049
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing