We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised! Good surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #166 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised! Good surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

After having a bad experience at The Westgate Lake Resort, this was a welcomed surprise! We didn't stay at the other resort, because it was nasty! We checked out & rode around to find something or the night! It was 5:45am & they allowed us to check in & didn't charge us extra, because it was so late/early. It was suppose to be a charge for Saturday night! That was so Awesome! We were so tire & ready to sleep! I'm use to 4 & 5 star hotels & I actually didn't mind staying there! We ad a 2bedroom suite with a kitchenette with a large seating area! It was very CLEAN & updated! The bathroom was small, but who cares! Shower/toilet was clean. The lobby was really nice! We you walk in, you think you're at a 4/5 star hotel! It was a small problem with housekeeping. We would ask for extra towels & the lady would get an attitude & give me 2. I asked for Kleenex, tissue, paper towel & bags. She would give me 1& I would say, it's a 2 bdrm, duh! I would go take what we needed off the cart! The one housekeeper was excellent, she was very generous! That was the ony issue. I would recommend this hotel! Staff was very helpful & nice! The judge it by a Holiday Inn. I enjoyed my stay! I'm an extreme neat freak & I did ok, because it was very lean! I was thanking Jesus, after our bad experience at Westgate Lake Resort! Don't stay there, stay at The Holiday Inn at Universal! My kids enjoyed the pool! They gave free vocher's for breakfast at the Fridays that was attached! We didn't take advantage of that, because we to up late everyday. I would stay there again!!,

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonyatanise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    816
    373
    127
    120
See reviews for
906
498
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

You can't get any closer to Universal Studios without paying the exorbitant on-site fees. You can literally walk to the parks if you're fit. It's the walking back after a long day of theme parking that would deter the walking bit. Free transportation is available but do be sure to book it with the Guest Services Desk.
Hotel has a TGIFriday's attached that provides roomservice and reasonably priced food and drink.
Parking and Internet are included in hotel stay - these are services we particularly look for these days as those surcharges can add up to $50 a day to some hotel stays!!!
We had an 'incident' - came home from long day and found rug wet. A little investigation revealed a leak in the bathroom ceiling that appeared to be coming from room above us. The call to the front desk was immediately answered and there was someone at our door within two minutes (no exaggeration). It took them just a few minutes longer to have a look and they asked for patience while they went to get a cart and moved us to a suite on the same floor.
The regular room was just fine for two friends traveling. It had small fridge and coffee maker. The one bedroom suite we were moved to would have been fine for a small family as it had a larger kitchenette with bigger fridge and dishware. It also had the bathroom sink outside the toilet/shower which is always a help with there are more than two people trying to get ready for a day of parks.
Since we had only three days, we didn't use the pool but it looked quite tidy.
This hotel underwent some renovations recently. Some of the infrastructure is still showing some age but the new beds and linens were very comfortable and for the most part very quiet.
I consider this one a good value. I also commend the staff for their quick and courteous response to the leak crisis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emesge27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

wasdumps as there for work. guess I should find a new job. lol.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenFromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a nice 3 night stay at this hotel. I read a log of reviews, most of them are spot on. This hotel is nice, clean, some spots appear a little rundown but I think that is likely because it is used a lot. Rooms were nice, staff was nice, pool was nice. Nice walk to Universal but if young kids or not real active, just drive your car.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thraps
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My family stayed here for 4 nights in March and booked a deluxe suite.
Not much deluxe about the suite as handles we're missing from the drawers and hardly any lighting worked - overall a few dollars spent on sorting out the suite would have made it so much nicer .
That said the location is the nearest to Universal and a 20min walk if you wish.
I asked a female on the desk whom I now understand to be a Manager several questions during my stay and found her to be very unhelpful almost to the point where I felt an intrusion into her day.
Thankfully the staff do not follow her poor example and the lady who sold us park tickets had the patience of a saint with us changing our minds and and askIng questions continually. Make sure you go to the desk on the right when booking your park tickets that is unless you don't mind being dragged into a sales meeting in exchange to cheaper tickets.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Clarion Inn & Suites
#107 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,806 - ₹ 16,034
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing