We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #165 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very convenient!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is great in that we arrived about 9:30 am and were able to check into a suite immediately, unlike other places that may not have a room available until after 2:00 pm. The very affordable room had a kitchenette which was nice to store leftovers or chill beverages. The location is right outside the entrance to Universal's grounds, but you do have to walk about a mile to get into the ticketing area. At night, we were tired from walking and were able to take a taxi for about $6-8. You have to make reservations to get a space on the shuttle bus. There are some other hotels in the immediate area as well, like a Hyatt.

One thing that was kind of gross was that when my husband looked under the sofa cushions, there appeared to be dried food or vomit on top of the roll out bed. Other than this, this is a good place for families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    829
    379
    133
    122
See reviews for
932
503
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My family spent most of our week in Orlando at this hotel. The room prices are reasonable for its location. The place looks nice and neat and well maintained. It's hard to remember that this is a Holiday Inn. The building dimensions seemed like an older Holiday Inn, but the decor was newer --though I did not like the brown with green color scheme. The standard room available in the vast majority of the building is two double beds which were firm and comfortable (at least mine was). My room had a microwave and minifridge. The bathroom was very small, and it was difficult keeping it filled with the proper amount of towels. We had to go down daily and request more towels. The room, however, is larger than most for this type of room. So, we could bring in a roll away bed for $10 per night since my kids cannot share a double bed well yet we still had plenty of room to walk around. Holday Inn even included enough chairs in the room for four people to sit at once. Free in-room WiFi was welcomed. Coffee is only available in the hotel rooms, and food of any type is only available from the TGI Fridays attached to the building. This Fridays was almost always open to accomodate the park-going crowds.

The pool is not as big as the on-line pictures want you to believe, but one end of the pool goes to 8 feet 6 inches deep which makes it more fun for the older kids to play in. The pool area could use more lounge chairs and umbrellad tables. But the pool was my kids' favorite part of the hotel since they made friends there. The hotel is situated so you can walk to the Universal Orlando parks, and we saw may people take the walk across the street to do so. A hotel shuttle consisting of a Ford van is available for use too, but you must reserve your seats for the busy parks' opening and closing times. We drove to the parks since we needed to be in line for Harry Potter before 7 am!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel is across from the entrance to universal. Like the other reviews say, it's a 15 minute walk to the entrance of universal city walk. The hotel shuttles fill up fast, so if you can't get on the shuttle, be prepared to walk or drive your car and pay to $15 to park. This hotel isn't near anything else so again, be prepared to drive for food, drinks, entertainment etc. TGIF FRIDAYS is on site but that's your only Food option.
The rooms have been refreshed and the suite we have is nice. Two double beds in the bedroom with a closet and tv. We are staying in a handicapped accessible room, so the bathroom has a large shower/no tub. Unfortunately, the shower curtain does not touch the floor so each time you shower the entire bathroom floor gets wet. The living room/kitchenette is good for our needs, though not enough dishware if a whole family were to eat a meal in the room, and no dining table either.
The pool is just ok too. Its been renovated recently with a nice arbor that will eventually have mature plants on it to provide shade. It's not really a great place to hang out. No hot tub, to tiki bar (and Fridays a walk through the hotel.) not a lot of seating and only 4 umbrellas for shade. There is a fenced in splash pool for little kids, which is great if that's who your traveling with.

Other info: There's a small arcade for kids, and a gift shop that has most essentials. You can buy universal tickets on site, budget rental is on site also. The onside laundry is convenient and costs $2 each load. You can also get information about holiday inn vacation club, which has timeshares in nearby Kissimmee ( orange lake resort-it's fabulous! We were unable to get a room there this trip and we are really missing it.). The staff here are very friendly and the common areas as well as the rooms are very clean. Overall, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Jenniferandkids,

Thank you for comments, and recent stay. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and appreciate your feedback on areas were we can improve. We are always looking to be the best we can be, and feedback like yours will help us to do so. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Good Hotel but rather stayed at a resort for the price we paid. Close to shops, food and Universal Studios. Would I recommend it, kinda. The staff was great but watch out for those Resort package deal people. They only tell you the basics and not the fine print. If you get a package PLEASE...PLEASE read the fine print on the back but there are a bunch of fees that they don't tell you about.

If you are looking for a place to rest your head then this place is great. Oh my goodness, the freaking TVs are slow as crap when changing the channels. It was getting on my nerves! The room we had didn't have locks on the bathrooms or bedroom doors. Crazy right! We had a sign up to not disturb and they still came in and cleaned up one room. Nothing else, just one room. The bowls are small and the silverware is stained so bring your own if that concerns you. My wife didn't like the smell of the room but either did I.

The pool was warm but the kids pool was very cold.

Here is my video that I did of the room - http://youtu.be/g8j62thp96U

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamont m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed here four nights at a very good rate as a result of bidding on a popular hotel bidding website. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from CityWalk, the entrance to Universal Studios. Pool area seemed very nice as well. I did not like the business center--there was a charge to use the internet on their PC's at a cost of 25 cents per minute!! However, there is free wifi that seemed to work well. The restaurant was not a traditional Holiday Inn establishment; instead it was a TGI Friday's. This restaurant did serve breakfast, however. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance, as well as a drug store.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ONUalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#109 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,293 - ₹ 11,879
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing