We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Old Town
Panama City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I always read reviews and unfortunatley chose to ignore the negative reviews about the Suwannee Gables. I chose this motel because of its vacinity to the river, the docking area and the boat ramp. The rooms are basically what I expected. Old and musky with uncomfortable beds. The 80.00 per night rate is ridiculous for this type of motel. I was willing to pay the rate for he convenience of the river, boat ramp and docks. At check-in there was a 13.00 fee to use the boat ramp. Fine. We go down to the river to walk the dock and check out the river and the dock is unwalkable. It is missing sections and is dilapitated. We launched the waverunners Saturday morning and I tied one to the cleat of the piece of the dock remaining and the entire 2x6 came off! So lesson learned, we will not book this location again but still had a great day on the river. Upon check out there were two fees charged for the use of the ramp which we used one time. It was explained to me that the two charges were becasue I have 2 wave runners. No further comment on this. Bottom line, cheap motel with expensive rates. Dirty, musky uncomfortable....and the pictures on the website are misleading to say the least. Save your money, book another local motel with better rates and use the public (free) boat ramp at the bridge (1 mile from the motel). My lesson learned? Trust the reviews!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cliffmattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    35
    13
    5
    30
See reviews for
28
41
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This is an older rustic motel. If you enjoy nature and cherish the simple things in life you will enjoy your' stay. The motel is situated on HWY 19 and is right on the Suwanee River. You can relax by the pool or enjoy fishing from the dock. In the evening enjoy the stars and when morning arrives wake up to fresh brewed coffee and the serenity of the beautiful Suwanee River. The owners and motel staff are friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I would not recommend staying at the Suwannee Gables. It was noisy, bathroom faucet sprayed water, tub stopper missing, rust in bath water, not very clean, old & run-down in general (not very well kept up). There are other places to stay in the immediate area such as the Days Inn a few miles south which was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia_Travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Dirty, high priced, noisy accommodations. Watch out since the managers will pad your bill. Stay at the Day's Inn in Chiefland; !0.00$(US)/day cheaper with a great breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucewallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuwanneeGables, Manager at Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Mr. Wallace made a reservation for 4 nights. He was offered a discounted rate for the length of stay. Mr. Wallace stated at the time of the reservation that he may need to leave after 2 nights. At that time, he was informed that if he needs to depart after only 2 nights, the rate would revert to the original rate and the discounted rate would not apply. Mr. Wallace departed after 2 nights. The difference in rate was $5 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm harbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Spent a beautiful fall weekend at the Suwannee Gables with some girl friends while the men went to the football game, we went antiquing in the little town, enjoyed a winery and hiked in the woods next to Ginny springs. We where right on the river with a joining cabins a full kitchen in between the rooms comfy and cozy and comfortable. A deck wrapped around our cabin and we spent every evening visiting and watching the river and it's life. In the mornings we had coffee on the deck watching the day on the river begin. The owners where very gracious and didn't mind our continuing questions of the area and it's history. We are looking forward to going back again maybe we will rent a boat and go on the river.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Town
14.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Chiefland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
13.0 km away
Days Inn Chiefland
Days Inn Chiefland
#2 of 2 in Chiefland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
18.9 km away
Putnam Lodge Hotel & Spa
Putnam Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cross City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina

Property: Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina
Address: 27659 SE Highway 19, Old Town, FL 32680-3914
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Old Town
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,141 - ₹ 14,609
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suwannee Gables Motel And Marina Hotel Old Town
Suwannee Gables Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing