We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is what Jensen's is NOT.
It is not a resort.
There is no restaurant, room service, breakfast or even daily maid service. There's even no shampoo!
Here's what Jensen's IS.
50 feet (I walked it) to the sandy Gulf of Mexico.
Because all other accommodations in Captiva are ACROSS THE STREET facing the Intercoastal Waterway, expect to pay $400 a night for the location.
And unless you want room service and a spa, it's worth it.
However, with a 4p to 10am time frame, make the most of your $20+/hour.
If you're flying in to Fort Myers (RSW), stop at FRESH MARKET [---] in the Bell Tower Shops on Daniels & 41 on your way and stock up on wine, pate, cheese, etc. If you're driving, take it all in a cooler and put in in your fridge.
For while there are a number of cute restaurants in the "Village" like Key Lime Bistro, there's not a not of reason to get dressed and leave the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MikeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

we stayed at the jensen house and it is beautifully decorated. very elegant and comfortable at the same time. When you check in at the marina you are taken back in time and know your stay is going to be great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betsy-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This was our first vacation as a family in 10 years and we had an incredible time together! Jensen's on the Gulf was purrrfect. We loved having our privacy, no pool, quiet beach, our own kitchen and ease in location. We look forward to staying at Jensen's again and again. Love!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildsunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We travel to Sanibel/Captiva every July, but this was our first overnight stay on Captiva. We're hooked! Jensen's on the Gulf was wonderful! We stayed 5 nights in room #4, the "Honeymoon Suite". It was perfect for two; bedroom with a spectacular view of the ocean, bathroom with large shower, and side alcove with microwave, small refrigerator, and a multipurpose storage/food prep area.

The screened-in deck area had a ceiling fan, 2 lounge chairs, a glass topped table suitable for dining and 2 additional chairs. Outside were two shady tiki huts with grill areas. The beach was unbelievably beautiful, edged with sea oats and morning glories. And of course, lots of shells!

The staff was friendly, hard working, and eager to make our stay a special one. We asked about matches for the grill one afternoon, and were quickly supplied with matches, a lighter, charcoal, grilling utensils, and a hot mitt. Beach chairs, shell nets, umbrellas, etc, were available for the guests. There was also had a very nice laundry area on the first floor.

Every day we walked straight out to a gorgeous and practically deserted beach. Each night we viewed a colorful sunset. The surrounding area was natural and lush with butterflies, an assortment of birds, and even a sea turtle nest. The Mucky Duck, our favorite place to eat, drink, and listen to music, was just a quick stroll down the beach. Staying at Jensen's was such a treat! We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

There is not enough words to describe this spot. To begin with Captiva Island is a paradise within itself but Jensen on the Gulf is a "Gem". My husband and I stayed in the Post Office Suite. What a Suite! Very chic with lots of romance. We loved it. Right on the beach and quiet. This suite is to die for. There was a lot of thought and expertise in the decor and style. Everything was clean and in great condition. You will not want to leave. We took full use of the kitchen and the appliances all worked. This is one place we plan on revisiting another time before the year is through.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cou1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.9 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
17.0 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,387 reviews
17.2 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,403 reviews
13.4 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,882 reviews
4.3 km away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's "On the Gulf"? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's "On the Gulf"

Address: 15300 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: ₹ 9,666 - ₹ 63,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Island's only small resort directly on the beach. Romantic, intimate, laid-back, on your own peace. SW Florida, USA, beachfront resort on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy gentle surf lapping on our white shell strewn beach, swaying palms, and your loved ones from your front row seat to incredible sunsets that will take your breath away. Reserve one of our dramatic view suites or garden cottage suites and learn the secret of the best small Inn on Captiva! Walk to everything including Jensen's Historic Twin Palm Marina - Captiva Island's Boating & Fishing Headquarters. Join the generations who've returned to us over the last nearly 40 years the Jensens have preserved the natural beauty that stole their heart - True Captiva Island. PEACE - LOVE - CAPTIVA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s `On The Gulf` Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's "On The Gulf" Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing