We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jensen's "On the Gulf"

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

we stayed at the jensen house and it is beautifully decorated. very elegant and comfortable at the same time. When you check in at the marina you are taken back in time and know your stay is going to be great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsy-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Salem, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

This was our first vacation as a family in 10 years and we had an incredible time together! Jensen's on the Gulf was purrrfect. We loved having our privacy, no pool, quiet beach, our own kitchen and ease in location. We look forward to staying at Jensen's again and again. Love!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildsunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We travel to Sanibel/Captiva every July, but this was our first overnight stay on Captiva. We're hooked! Jensen's on the Gulf was wonderful! We stayed 5 nights in room #4, the "Honeymoon Suite". It was perfect for two; bedroom with a spectacular view of the ocean, bathroom with large shower, and side alcove with microwave, small refrigerator, and a multipurpose storage/food prep area.

The screened-in deck area had a ceiling fan, 2 lounge chairs, a glass topped table suitable for dining and 2 additional chairs. Outside were two shady tiki huts with grill areas. The beach was unbelievably beautiful, edged with sea oats and morning glories. And of course, lots of shells!

The staff was friendly, hard working, and eager to make our stay a special one. We asked about matches for the grill one afternoon, and were quickly supplied with matches, a lighter, charcoal, grilling utensils, and a hot mitt. Beach chairs, shell nets, umbrellas, etc, were available for the guests. There was also had a very nice laundry area on the first floor.

Every day we walked straight out to a gorgeous and practically deserted beach. Each night we viewed a colorful sunset. The surrounding area was natural and lush with butterflies, an assortment of birds, and even a sea turtle nest. The Mucky Duck, our favorite place to eat, drink, and listen to music, was just a quick stroll down the beach. Staying at Jensen's was such a treat! We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

There is not enough words to describe this spot. To begin with Captiva Island is a paradise within itself but Jensen on the Gulf is a "Gem". My husband and I stayed in the Post Office Suite. What a Suite! Very chic with lots of romance. We loved it. Right on the beach and quiet. This suite is to die for. There was a lot of thought and expertise in the decor and style. Everything was clean and in great condition. You will not want to leave. We took full use of the kitchen and the appliances all worked. This is one place we plan on revisiting another time before the year is through.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cou1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

When looking online for cottages to stay in while planning a trip to Florida, we came upon Jensen's On The Gulf. From what they showed, it looked nice so we thought we would take a chance. What a wonderful place it turned out to be. We stayed in The Beach Nest cottage. It was so comfortable and tastefully decorated with rich furnishings mixed with white washed in a perfect blend. We loved it. The owners of the property, the Jensen's (Pat, David, John and Jimmy) were so hospitable and accommodating you knew they cared about every aspect of your stay with them. We went fishing out of the Jensen's Marina and were sent out with Captain Jimmy who works for the Jensen's. He was yet another bright spot, so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the fishing and the area. My husband and I enjoyed our stay immensely and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pp761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.9 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
17.0 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
0.9 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.5 km away
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
14.2 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's "On the Gulf"? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's "On the Gulf"

Property: Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Address: 15300 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,751 - ₹ 64,071
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Island's only small resort directly on the beach. Romantic, intimate, laid-back, on your own peace. SW Florida, USA, beachfront resort on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy gentle surf lapping on our white shell strewn beach, swaying palms, and your loved ones from your front row seat to incredible sunsets that will take your breath away. Reserve one of our dramatic view suites or garden cottage suites and learn the secret of the best small Inn on Captiva! Walk to everything including Jensen's Historic Twin Palm Marina - Captiva Island's Boating & Fishing Headquarters. Join the generations who've returned to us over the last nearly 40 years the Jensens have preserved the natural beauty that stole their heart - True Captiva Island. PEACE - LOVE - CAPTIVA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s `On The Gulf` Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's "On The Gulf" Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing