We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Nearby Hotels
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa(Captiva Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 271
US$ 238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Seas Island Resort(Captiva Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 385
US$ 343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
US$ 250
US$ 212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 275
US$ 255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
145
30
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
30
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspo boxhoneymoon suitejensen's marinabeach chairsgreat low keyscreened in porchprior visitsplace to stayshort walkboat rentalsfull kitchenroad noisereduced ratepicnic areacaptiva villagesmall resortold florida
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We needed a last minute room and Jensen's was able to accommodate us. We stayed in the PO Box room and it was the most beautiful, relaxing room that I have ever seen. It had all of the necessary amenities...refrigerator, microwave, TV, dishes, fluffy towels, beach chairs, etc. The room was decorated in a Waverly pattern with wonderful windows and a screened in porch. My husband and I wished that we could have stayed longer then just the one night but we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lspindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is what Jensen's is NOT.
It is not a resort.
There is no restaurant, room service, breakfast or even daily maid service. There's even no shampoo!
Here's what Jensen's IS.
50 feet (I walked it) to the sandy Gulf of Mexico.
Because all other accommodations in Captiva are ACROSS THE STREET facing the Intercoastal Waterway, expect to pay $400 a night for the location.
And unless you want room service and a spa, it's worth it.
However, with a 4p to 10am time frame, make the most of your $20+/hour.
If you're flying in to Fort Myers (RSW), stop at FRESH MARKET [---] in the Bell Tower Shops on Daniels & 41 on your way and stock up on wine, pate, cheese, etc. If you're driving, take it all in a cooler and put in in your fridge.
For while there are a number of cute restaurants in the "Village" like Key Lime Bistro, there's not a not of reason to get dressed and leave the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MikeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

we stayed at the jensen house and it is beautifully decorated. very elegant and comfortable at the same time. When you check in at the marina you are taken back in time and know your stay is going to be great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betsy-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This was our first vacation as a family in 10 years and we had an incredible time together! Jensen's on the Gulf was purrrfect. We loved having our privacy, no pool, quiet beach, our own kitchen and ease in location. We look forward to staying at Jensen's again and again. Love!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildsunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We travel to Sanibel/Captiva every July, but this was our first overnight stay on Captiva. We're hooked! Jensen's on the Gulf was wonderful! We stayed 5 nights in room #4, the "Honeymoon Suite". It was perfect for two; bedroom with a spectacular view of the ocean, bathroom with large shower, and side alcove with microwave, small refrigerator, and a multipurpose storage/food prep area.

The screened-in deck area had a ceiling fan, 2 lounge chairs, a glass topped table suitable for dining and 2 additional chairs. Outside were two shady tiki huts with grill areas. The beach was unbelievably beautiful, edged with sea oats and morning glories. And of course, lots of shells!

The staff was friendly, hard working, and eager to make our stay a special one. We asked about matches for the grill one afternoon, and were quickly supplied with matches, a lighter, charcoal, grilling utensils, and a hot mitt. Beach chairs, shell nets, umbrellas, etc, were available for the guests. There was also had a very nice laundry area on the first floor.

Every day we walked straight out to a gorgeous and practically deserted beach. Each night we viewed a colorful sunset. The surrounding area was natural and lush with butterflies, an assortment of birds, and even a sea turtle nest. The Mucky Duck, our favorite place to eat, drink, and listen to music, was just a quick stroll down the beach. Staying at Jensen's was such a treat! We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews