We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great tucked away secret....a great get away!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great tucked away secret....a great get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband and I first went to Jensens when we first started dating...we loved it so much we have been back many times since. We got engaged in Captiva because we loved it so so much. Jensens just gives you that welcome to island...make yourself at home feel. If they ever had a room open...they would upgrade us to a larger cottage for free. They are super flexible with check in and check out times. They also have a GREAT location...you can walk everywhere while not being right in the middle of everything. This is a great couples, family, or fishermen spot! Thats what we love...its perfect for everyone! Dont go if you expect something fancy...its not...its just that perfect beach cottage getaway!

Room Tip: The bigger the room the better we have found
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VHolly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reunion, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We needed a last minute room and Jensen's was able to accommodate us. We stayed in the PO Box room and it was the most beautiful, relaxing room that I have ever seen. It had all of the necessary amenities...refrigerator, microwave, TV, dishes, fluffy towels, beach chairs, etc. The room was decorated in a Waverly pattern with wonderful windows and a screened in porch. My husband and I wished that we could have stayed longer then just the one night but we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lspindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is what Jensen's is NOT.
It is not a resort.
There is no restaurant, room service, breakfast or even daily maid service. There's even no shampoo!
Here's what Jensen's IS.
50 feet (I walked it) to the sandy Gulf of Mexico.
Because all other accommodations in Captiva are ACROSS THE STREET facing the Intercoastal Waterway, expect to pay $400 a night for the location.
And unless you want room service and a spa, it's worth it.
However, with a 4p to 10am time frame, make the most of your $20+/hour.
If you're flying in to Fort Myers (RSW), stop at FRESH MARKET [---] in the Bell Tower Shops on Daniels & 41 on your way and stock up on wine, pate, cheese, etc. If you're driving, take it all in a cooler and put in in your fridge.
For while there are a number of cute restaurants in the "Village" like Key Lime Bistro, there's not a not of reason to get dressed and leave the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MikeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

we stayed at the jensen house and it is beautifully decorated. very elegant and comfortable at the same time. When you check in at the marina you are taken back in time and know your stay is going to be great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsy-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salem, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

This was our first vacation as a family in 10 years and we had an incredible time together! Jensen's on the Gulf was purrrfect. We loved having our privacy, no pool, quiet beach, our own kitchen and ease in location. We look forward to staying at Jensen's again and again. Love!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildsunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
1.0 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
17.0 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
18.3 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,226 reviews
13.5 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.5 km away
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's "On the Gulf"? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's "On the Gulf"

Property: Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Address: 15300 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,584 - ₹ 62,974
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Island's only small resort directly on the beach. Romantic, intimate, laid-back, on your own peace. SW Florida, USA, beachfront resort on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy gentle surf lapping on our white shell strewn beach, swaying palms, and your loved ones from your front row seat to incredible sunsets that will take your breath away. Reserve one of our dramatic view suites or garden cottage suites and learn the secret of the best small Inn on Captiva! Walk to everything including Jensen's Historic Twin Palm Marina - Captiva Island's Boating & Fishing Headquarters. Join the generations who've returned to us over the last nearly 40 years the Jensens have preserved the natural beauty that stole their heart - True Captiva Island. PEACE - LOVE - CAPTIVA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s `On The Gulf` Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's "On The Gulf" Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing