We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$322
Hotels.com$322
Priceline$325
Travelocity$322
ZenHotels.com$358
Trip.com$370
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
657
23
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
657
23
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the indian river honeymoon suite new smyrna made to order breakfast french toast across the street each morning dolphins play feel like family jacuzzi tub beautiful property delicious breakfast pancakes short drive dock patricia florida
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2022 via mobile

Spectacular room, clean, comfortable, elegant furnishings and exceptional service.
I was welcomed in my Brett, I think one of the owners. He gave me a tour of the property and filled me in on all of the key things to do in the area. I did see some of the staff busily working around the property and each one offered assistance is soon as they saw me.
Breakfast is not to be missed, seriously this is five star hotel quality from arrivals to the most amazing high quality breakfast every morning. Thank you for an incredible stay.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brett Smith, General Manager at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2022

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review. We are most grateful for your glowing compliments regarding our spectacular rooms, elegant furnishings, and our high quality breakfast. In addition to this, we very much appreciated your kind words regarding our exceptional guest service which has been the hallmark of our success. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest - and we hope that you will return soon and often to the Black Dolphin Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2022 via mobile

My spouse and I enjoyed our three-night stay very much. Best place to stay in NSB. The Black Dolphin has charm and character and is located in a nice part of town that is great for walking. Room 205 was spacious and comfortable, with a good bed and linens. It was nice and quiet. We slept better than at home. The staff is friendly and attentive but not intrusive. The cooked to order breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed sitting on the front deck with a glass of wine or beer in the evenings. We will definitely return!

Room tip: Recommend room 205
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 998ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brett Smith, General Manager at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2022

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review. We very much appreciated your glowing compliments regarding our spacious rooms, comfortable and clean beds, and attentive service. I was pleased to hear that you also enjoyed our cooked-to-order breakfast relaxing beverages in the evenings. Again, thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Dolphin in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2022

The inn is very nicely decorated, and the furniture was clean and sturdy. The room had a very strong and, at first, unbearable smell of bleach. I am glad it was clean, but we had to leave our door open to air out the place for about an hour. Not thrilled how the breakfast was served in to go containers, even when we wanted to eat in the main dining area. Felt a little less classy especially for the price. Not certain if we could have seconds but did not feel like we could request it. Jennifer was very friendly, and we enjoyed talking with her, but the owner was not that friendly. This surprised us as we stay at B&B often and usually, they are quite friendly.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KathyLOcala2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brett Smith, General Manager at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for sharing your recent travel experience with us as your comments are important to us in evaluating the levels of service and comfort that we are providing to our guests. While I was delighted to read that our inn was nicely decorated, I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with certain elements of your stay. Please accept my apology for the residual smell of the cleaning disinfectant products that we used upon your entry to the unit. This has been addressed with our Housekeeping department. Moreover, I appreciated your constructive comments regarding our food containers that we use in providing food service delivery to our guest rooms. Further improvement can be obtained and we will look into this. Lastly, thank you for singling out Jennifer for her friendly service . In conjunction with this. I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable asking her for more food and that a member of our ownership team was not more gracious in providing for your needs. Again, thank you for your review. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our true warmth and hospitality of the Black Dolphin Inn on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Located right on the Indian River Lagoon, the setting of the Black Dolphin Inn is exquisite. The building itself is enchanting and we adored our experience from start to finish. Brett was so friendly. He gave us a detailed tour of the property as soon as we arrived so that we felt at home and knew where everything was. He even gave us a guide to Nee Smyrna which was helpful. The night manager Jennifer and her cat were so friendly also. We felt that anything we needed was right within reach. From the 24 hr customer assistance to the bar area this place has you covered. And the customer service was excellent from the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out.

The room was beautiful and so comfortable. Bath robes are a nice touch. The private dock overlooking the lagoon was amazing. We had our breakfast on the dock and watched dolphins swimming right nearby.

Food-wise -We are vegetarians and we loved the yogurt and fruit for breakfast. The only other breakfast option that day had sausage in it. We do eat eggs, so some option like eggs and toast or French toast would have been ideal, but the breakfast we had was very good! We appreciated the coffee and tea bar.

Overall, we highly recommend visiting New Smyrna over Cocoa beach or Daytona Beach. There is so much more charm and the shops on Flagler Ave are better than any at the other beaches. We had a wonderful stay and have already reserved our spot for next year! The Black Dolphin Inn must be the best place to stay in all of New Smyrna. Thank you for your hospitality! It made our anniversary weekend so special.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travelermichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brett Smith, General Manager at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Greetings from the Black Dolphin inn! Thank you for such a delightfully descriptive account of your recent stay at the Black Dolphin Inn. We are so pleased that you entrusted us to serve as the host property for the celebration of your anniversary. Our service goal is simple - to provide superior accommodations and service in an atmosphere of comfort, style, and grace and we are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations in this regard. We are most grateful for your generous comments as it relates to our genuine hospitality, great food, and charming location along the shores of the Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway. Moreover, thank you for singling out Jennifer for all of her efforts in providing for your care and comfort. Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Dolphin in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022 via mobile

Spent the night at Black Dolphin Inn
Arrived by boat and docked in front of this beautiful bed and breakfast,
Was greeted by Patricia who helped us bring in our bags and service dog from the dock. She showed us to our room, it was wonderful and very big with 2 king size beds , big living area
And bathroom with whirlpool tub and shower, it had coffee & tea bar , very comfortable room ; the next morning breakfast was delivered to our room
We had a choice of healthy breakfast bowl with berries or French toast with glazed apple & ham. The service was excellent , will return for sure.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SusanL177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brett Smith, General Manager at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review. We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and we are most grateful for your insightful comments. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional guest experience and it was great to hear that Ms. Patricia served in a exemplary manner in attending to your needs. We also appreciated your glowing remarks regarding our wonderful rooms, our room delivered breakfast, and our excellent level of service. It was indeed a pleasure to serve you and we hope that you will return soon and often to the Black Dolphin Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews