We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,136)
Filter reviews
2,136 results
Traveller rating
1,470
412
163
59
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,470
412
163
59
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gumbo limbo the grill mineral pool sushi bar club level poolside cafe family pool four seasons an umbrella turn down service beautiful hotel valet parking golf resort gulf view room pool staff watching the sunset gulf of mexico
Filter
Updating list...
1,608 - 1,613 of 2,136 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The rooms could use a carpet update (wood floors even better), but still pretty and refreshing to be in good care. Most hotels here are staffed by unmotivated people. This is a gem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaplesPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton the week of Thanksgiving this year for a bit of a family reunion. When we arrived early Sunday afternoon, I was a bit thrown off by the sheer hectic crowdedness of the lobby area - tons of people and suitcases - but I think we arrived during check-out for the weekend. I never saw the lobby anything like that again for the rest of our stay.

The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly upon check-in - my husband's mom had left instructions about where our room should be relative to his sister's family's room, but when we had other ideas, they were quick to accommodate the change. The staff at all the dining rooms, as well as our housekeeping staff, were always very friendly and helpful and accommodating.

One small annoyance for the entire trip was the fact that you had to use your keycard to use the elevator. I know this is supposed to add security, but for a beach/resort hotel, it was quite annoying to have to fumble for your keycard every time you wanted to get something from your room. The hotel didn't seem to be in a particularly public area, so I can't imagine how much public foot traffic they get that would warrant this extra security (unlike, say, in Las Vegas).

The room was lovely - we were on one of the side wings of the beach/courtyard side so we had a nice view of the ocean when we stepped out onto the balcony, as well as a view down into the courtyard (where there was a wedding one day) and over onto the beach (balcony was small, furniture not particularly comfortable). I am a terrible sleeper - usually can't sleep in hotels, or even my own bed, have difficulty falling or staying asleep - but I slept better our week in the Ritz-Carlton Naples than I have in a very long time. In fact, that was absolutely the highlight of the trip for me - all the uninterrupted, blissful slumber on their comfortable bed and quiet room.

The bathroom was beautiful but oddly setup, IMO, with a door into the sink/shower over bathtub area, and then another door into the toilet room, but with both doors swinging open into the middle room. One of my biggest complaints about hotel bathrooms is that they often lack anywhere to hang towels, even as they post signs saying "please help us save the environment - hang towels to indicate reuse". The Ritz was sadly not much better - there was one hook on the door and there *was* a towel rod, but in the shower. If you splashed around too much in the shower, no towel on that rod was going to get that dry, but it was better than nothing.

We did appreciate the turndown service with the chocolates and little water bottles each night. Housekeeping visited twice a day, somehow managing to find their way in between our frequent returns to the room to get things clean and nice for us.

There are many dining options at this resort, and half of them are very family friendly (my husband's sister has twin 3 year old boys, so we had to find the family friendly ones). The Terrace Restaurant was the most traditional restaurant, food-wise, and very kid-friendly. I had some tasty food there the first day, and we had the breakfast buffet there each morning. The buffet was included in our package but not cheap otherwise, but had a nice variety of delicious hot food options, from cheese blintzes, pancakes, bacon, eggs, etc, to an omelette station manned by a chef ready to fulfill your order. The fruit was amazing - the best, sweetest raspberries, blackberries, and strawberries each morning (despite it being the end of November in Florida - where did they get them??).

We also ate at the Sushi Bar, which is really a low key sports bar, and only serves sushi Wed-Sun or something limited like that, so we ended up eating burgers, pizza, and other Western food there instead (all excellent) while the boys played at the pool tables. "Bites" in the lobby lounge area was an excellent tapas-style restaurant, with a lot of delicious choices for both meal and dessert (which also allowed us to order desserts from The Grill's dessert menu), and accommodated our twin boys by putting us off to the side where they wouldn't disturb people. The poolside restaurant also was a nice lunch option. On one night, four of the adults in the group went to the Grill, which was an upscale steak/seafood restaurant. We never got to Gumbo Limbo or the restaurant in the spa, though we did get a lot of virgin pina coladas from the bar right next to the beach.

The beach was quite nice - beach umbrellas cost like $25 to rent, but then you could reserve the chairs around it practically all day and no one would steal your spot. The water, being the gulf side, was quite calm most of the time, which is great for young kids playing, though watch out since a few feet out, the sand drops like a foot. It never gets that deep, for an adult, but it's a bit of a sudden dropoff for small children. Further out, you start treading on sand dollars. We rented a kayak, but be aware that the place that rents out kayaks, paddleboards, etc, is not part of the hotel so you can not charge it to your room - bring money or a credit card.

There were a couple pools - one adult one with the cabanas around it and a 3-lane area in the middle to do laps, with a hot tub next to it - and one family one, as well as a small shallow kiddie pool behind a gate. All very nice, and quite popular - lots of people lounging around and playing in the pool.

The hotel is super kid-friendly - I was impressed by how accommodating they were for kids in every part of the hotel,with lots of activities, meal options, etc.

The fitness center was great - it's only staffed part of the day but open all the time - and it has a full complement of equipment, be it cardio, weight, circuit, or balance balls, bosu balls, etc. There is water provided, and earphones for your use. My only complaint is that there were no individual TVs on the cardio machines so you had to watch whatever was on one of the three main TVs in the cardio area. I guess I've been spoiled that way by other gyms.

A small tip - there is free wifi in the lobby area and poolside restaurant, but not the rooms. A nice place to pick up some wifi is the terrace on the first floor above the poolside restaurant - it's big, shady, lots of comfortable seating, and almost no one goes there except to walk down to the pool level. T-Mobile service is almost nonexistent at this resort.

Also, the resort is close to almost nothing though there is a Japanese steakhouse across the street that we almost went to, which was highly recommended. It's quite a ways from downtown Naples too, though when we arranged for an Everglades Tour via Trusted Tours, they did come pick us up at the hotel.

Overall, it's a really nice resort and we had a really comfortable stay there. I am a bit overly picky about expensive resorts like this, since I think they should get things better than mid-range chains, hence some of the criticisms above, but it was still an excellent place to stay for a relaxing beach/pool week.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hardtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Now let me tell you,we really enjoyed this resort.
We were on the club floor with an ocean view out over the gulf.
The room was large and a short walk down the corridoor to what is an excelent club lounge.
This also had nice terrace views towards the ocean.Food and beverage options there were varied and plentifull and the staff extremely helpfull and friendly.

Downstairs at the lobby level,theres an olde world style lounging area with table service with comfy armchairs and sofa's.Staff there were wonderfull.
Just off this there is the sushi bar which doubles up as a night club in the evenings.It was lively on the thursday night of our stay and thronged with casually but well dressed 20 and 30 somethings.
The sound from there by the way did not carry beyond the hallway so you could not hear it in the lobby lounge for instance if it's not your scene.
This brings me on to the type of clientele we saw staying her, a nice mix of young and older.
There is a typical resort style pool bar area and cafe beside the main adult pool.
On the Saturday of our stay,there was a very good Guitar artist singing and playing.It made the afternoon.
Out beyond this towards the beach,we frequented the sand bar,just beside the beach and gumbo limbo for food and drinks.Both with very jovial and chatty staff.

We also ate at the Grill restaurant one evening,though expensive,it was worth it.The food was lovely and perfect service.
Because we were on the club level we could have had breakfast there but opted for the Grill restaurant in the morning as this was included in our package.
The buffet there was extensive and they have an omlette bar.As long as you arrived in before 1115 am or so,you were guaranteed the full spread (I'm not a fan of hotels that end breakfast at 10...wheres the option to be lazy the odd morning ,you are on holiday!)
Incidently,less than a mile from the hotel there is a shopping mall with some fine shops,restaurants and bars including a couple of popular nightclubs.A taxi would get you there for about $8 or you could walk.

Anyhow,in summary,this stay was great,we do plan a return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earthman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Quite simply, you cannot make a better choice in Naples. The moment one gets out of the car, the staff is eager to please, with a smile and unobtrusive friendliness. The level of service is impressive here: We needed to get my son goggles, but the Poolshop was closed- no problem, the front desk sent someone down to open it. We were the only people visiting the hotel's mini-aquarium in the afternoon- so the staffer essentially gave my son a guided tour and personal natural history lesson.
All the little touches are all beautifully done, from the coolers of iced water with citrus in the lobby and out by the pool, to the rocking chairs on the terrace, to the exquisite landscaping and very tastefully decorated bedrooms (not at all corporate). The staff is always friendly, always eager to please, and prompt.
There were only minor quibbles, none of which detracted in any meaningful way from the pleasant experience: E.g., The button on the telephone to Housekeeping didn't function, and no one answered the Concierge button- but that was easily remedied by dialing the operator.
Only major quibble: They should get the piped-in background music out of the lobby; it is utterly incongruous in a hotel of this quality. In sum, if you want a perfect vacation, in beautiful surroundings, with excellent amenities and satisfying service- look no further.

Room Tip: Take a seaside room (Western side) on a high floor.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PellegrinaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Step into the Ritz Carlton Naples and you are transformed into royalty. The elegant ambience, superb service and beautiful setting make it a spectacular get a way! Each waterfront room has a balcony looking at the sea. The pristine beach slides into infinity-a white ribbon of sand sandwiched between the azure blue of the sky and sea. Wooden walkways through the groves of mangroves lead you to the water, Delightful paths meander throughout the resort, leading you to various eating venues.

The morning breakfast has a buffet that would satisfy the pickiest of eaters. Dinner is simply gourmet. Lunch we ate in town. Naples has such a cute downtown. Itis fun to shop and then enjoy one of the many lively eateries.The Ritz Carlton has valet service for your car. Parking is not a problem at this resort.

Book a room here for a long week-end and you will feel like you have taken an exotic trip. We ran into a couple that actually lived in Naples. They decided to enjoy the off season rates at this lovely resort, and take a mini vacation right in their own town!

Room Tip: You definately want a room with a water view!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank culinarycondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews