We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a OUTSTANDING Place & FOOD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophia's Ristorante Italiano

Sophia's Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Sophia's Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 952 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: WAS THE OLD ROMAN OVEN MARKET PLACE
Pine Ridge, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“What a OUTSTANDING Place & FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a great meal (Italian) at Spphia's. The Pasta was home made and they let you know there is a wait because it is made fresh. Jay and his family and Staff did a super super job! One of the best meals I have had in Florida ever. But Jay coming from NJ understand the need for good Italian food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Shadow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    99
    51
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Make reservations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The host said 95% of their tables are for reservations so book a spot because its a small restaurant.

Food was great and service was as well. Cannoli was deeelish. The bread and oil were good as well. There is only 1 bathroom which can be a hassle but no line when I went.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MereParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
251 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great food - portions ridiculous...allow the stated 45 minutes for food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We recently found outselves in the Naples area on vacation with our 8 year old son. We saw an ad for Sophias earlier in the day when we had breakfast on Marco Island at Susie's Diner. When checking opentable for an available place to eat, Sophias rang a bell and we got an 8pm reservation.
Was nothing like we expected! Lovely decor - we arrived 15 minutes ealier this Thursday night and we were seated right away. Was a full house but still could carry on a conversation and not too loud. Salads were nothing special. My husband had the pasta fagioli and would have licked the bowl if allowed. Bread was warm and delicious. We read and were advised everything made fresh and entrees did take the stated 45 minutes. but WOW...
I had the eggplant parm and it was enough for 3 people! I have never had such a generous and delicious serving - was stacked at least 5-6 layers and cheese in the middle and on the top. Out of this world. Too bad we were staying at the Ritz and no micro for left over the next day! My husband had the chicken parm and was outstanding. My son went non italian with the chicken fingers - generous portion of chicken and fries and were very tasty.
All in all - a great wine list, lovely place and fantastic food.
I am glad we do not live near the resturant because I could see it being a favorite. The owner is from NJ so maybe that explains it. Come back and open Sophias near us!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwestern USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wanna feel like chopped liver...go to Sophia's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Arrived early . MANY tables available. Mentioned to hostess...she did not care and had excuses why we could not have empty table.....however she sat 2 tables without reservations, which we had, before us. We went to bar...Jay bartender could not have cared and let that be known. Bd wine and ordered calamari...arrived in 40 minutes! WHAT??? Still table not available even though MANY still open. We left NO tip...why would we? Don't go there...they only care for your $$$$ and they let you know that up front! Yikes!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jhb9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Noisy -average food -prices in line with Naples. Nothing special

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank f355c5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophia's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sophia's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing