We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delicious and unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The European Bakery & Cafe

The European Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 52 Dessert in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, Cafe, European, Soups, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A little, charming, old european style cafe/restaurant. Serves excellent, homemade stuffed cabbage, hunter stew (bigos), goulash (beef stew) potato pancakes, homemade soups, crepes, pierogies etc....
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious and unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We called for reservations for six on a Tuesday after reading excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Be advised: they do not book on Open Table and they typically are open from 11 to 3 p.m. but will open in the evenings for parties of at least 6. Also, they don't accept credit cards, so bring cash.

That said, this mom and pop very small restaurant is delightful on every level. Cheerful and competent service (by the owners), with patient explanation of the food preparation etc. Very attentive and patient with us.

I had the potato pancakes which were light, very flavorful, almost like a fritter. Also had a small green salad with a kind of potato/vegetable salad that was superb- with a subtle taste of dill. My husband and one friend had the mushroom soup, loaded with mushrooms, thick and creamy. One friend who wasn't crazy about the idea of polish food had cabbage soup (he loved it) and meatballs and pasta (good). Other friends had pork cutlets....honestly, everyone loved everything. The deserts were scrumptious.
Superb! Unique! Very special!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tarapatiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    42
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Gem, Treat Yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is a real gem tucked away on Rt. 41. The food is wonderful. The pierogi dough has a light texture, clearly homemade. While the cafe interior is cozy, sitting outside on the covered patio, surrounded by containers of pleasantly rambling plants, with a plate of pierogis and a cold Polish beer, it is easy to entirely forget the proximity to 41 and be completely immersed in the experience of wonderful flavors. The owners are a very friendly couple who radiate the warmth for which the Sunshine State is known. Treat yourself and visit this cafe.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TLinHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
“The BEST Polish food we've ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The atmosphere is quaint and very Europeanesce. The food is outstandingly delicious! Get the potato pierogis and cabbage pierogis. We love the cabbage soup and lentil soup. Great glumpkes! For an extra treat order the EUROPEAN coffee. Best coffee I ever had! End the meal with the crepes...ALL are outstanding! This is a WONDERFUL restaurant and I have to go get my "fix" EVERY TIME I'm in Naples!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I'm polish and the food reminds me of home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Tried this place based on the reviews on this website and agree wholeheartedly! The ambience is very european, the food is truly amazing and the owners are extremely friendly. It's a gem!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agamurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2757 Tamiami Trail East,Naplesfl 34112
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Way To Treat Visiting Relatives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had relatives in town from Boston and they have been to many wonderful restaurants. So we wanted to do something different for lunch. Having been to this restaurant before, we knew it would be a hit. The atmosphere, the owners and the food are all winners. They are open for breakfast and lunch and you could close your eyes and pick from the menu and be happy with your choice. We love the pierogies (meat, mushroom and cheese) the soups and the potato pancakes. Just a pleasant lunch with food that Momma used to make ...maybe even better. The sell bread & pastry that they bake as well. Hubert and Marta are gems and they remembered us from previous visits which really made us feel welcome. Oh yes, it's a great place to laugh while you're eating.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cupcake03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The European Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The European Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing