We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation amid magnificent walks”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Selborne, Hampshire
Selborne, Hampshire
Winchester Cathedral
Winchester - Kings Gate
The market town of New Alresford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Selborne, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annaheuss...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation amid magnificent walks”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The great advantages of the Garden Studio are that it's comfortable, it has lovely views onto the wooded hills above Selborne, it's within easy walking and driving distance of the village amenities, it's surrounded by wonderful walks, a few of them directly from the cottage, and the owner is warmly welcoming and helpful.

The living room and main bedroom are comfortable and spacious; the small second bedroom (which we didn't use) would suit a child; and the bathroom is also spacious and works well. The kitchen facilities are limited and are part of the living room: they were absolutely fine for us for breakfasts, snacks and heating up quiches or eating cheese and crackers for our meal. The patio is small but well-sheltered and has that lovely view towards the hill. Parking is safe and easy.

Walking distance is about 15 minutes to Selborne: the road is narrow with high hedges for a while so it's a lot nicer to go across the fields and along a woodland path. The only snag here is having to duck under a few fences, again no problem to us but perhaps to some people.

The area is wonderful for walks: Selborne Common is an ancient and extensive woodland on the nearby hill; Noar Hill is an enchanting nature reserve of flower-filled meadows and woodland; and there are beautiful stretches on the Hampshire Hangar walk from Petersfield to Hawkley and onto Selborne and Alton. The Gilbert White Museum and Oates Collection in the village is well worth a half day's visit and there are other attractions nearby. The village amenities include the Selborne Arms, which does pretty good food and has a very nice garden; the Selborne Tea Shop, with delicious cream teas, and a local shop for the basics.

We look forward to returning to Selborne for another holiday and hope to stay at the Garden Studio again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura1994...
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor hospitality”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The area was lovely unfortunately the female owner was very unpleasant. Bins weren't emptied for the whole three weeks so I ended up having to get rid of rubbish for my mother in law staying there. She was extremely picky on things, came in half way through and started snopping around, was unhappy that plates where left to dry on the draining board( where else are they supposed to go ) there where no cupboards for food Storage so it was places on a table which she also moaned about, the list carries on. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless you are as stuck up as she is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsmales
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just our sort of place.”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The garden studio was just what we wanted, a stylish, cosy place for two within walking distance of an old friend who lives in Selborne.
The photos available nowadays and the reviews are a great help in choosing somewhere to stay, in this case we had no idea how close to the house we were until we arrived but that was not a problem at all and we did not feel overlooked, plus we could park very close to the Studio ( we do not travel light however much we try )
Altogether a very nice place to stay, we hope to go again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma_kris...
Headley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet and clean studio - suited us well”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

My partner and I booked the Garden Studio for a few weeks whilst we had building work carried out on our property. The studio suited us perfectly for the long term stay - it was clean, warm and well equipped. Mrs Robinson was very helpful and accommodating (they let me keep my rabbits in the garage). We would definitely recommend the place as it is also situated in Selborne - surrounded by lovely countryside with a variety of great pubs to explore.

Thank you for giving us a place to call home during what was a difficult time for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Your feed-back is much appreciated and will be very useful for prospective visitors. We're very glad that The Garden Studio proved to be a suitable temporary home for you while had building work carried out on your own property. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing