We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Old Florida”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Micanopy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Micanopy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Charming locale steeped in the traditions of old Florida. Micanopy is quaint but glad we had nearby Gainesville to visit. Accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyz1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

One would think when arriving at a Bed and Breakfast, you would be greated with a pleasant and welcoming attitude and smile. This was not the case.

We were charged $55.00 extra from the agreed amount stated verbally and also in writing on the internet. The hotel made a mistake apparently. The attitude of the owner was" take it or leave it." (This could be a cause for poor relationships and possibly leagal problems if the written internet confirmation shown to the owner would be considered a legal document) When looking at this agreement in writing and reading the paragraph on the bottom that was obviously designed by a attorney, it mentioned nothing that would imply extra charges.

As it was the only place in town to stay, our group decided to remain at this location and pay the extra money. Good thing for the Inn, as we were the only people staying the second night and only one other room was rented the first night.

When discussing our encounter with a local shop keeper, she said that many brides came into her shop crying with various stories about the owner.

Attitude is everything as well as reputation. Be ware!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

We do charge $25.00 for an additional third person in the room- These 3 ladies arrived for a 2 night stay and did not understand nor wished to pay the 3rd person charge (50.00 plus tax)- This charge covers Breakfast , the additional linen use and Wine and Cookie consumption for the third person. The Herlong website and confirmations sent out clearly state our policies so as to preclude any surprises upon arriving at the Herlong. The Third person charge is standard in the industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

we've stayed here a number of times over the years. usually it's in conjunction with a Gator football game so the rates are higher than usual. it's more like an Inn than a B&B. it's a lovely setting about 10 miles south of gainesville. the rooms are very comfortable especially if you can afford the larger ones. you can shop for antiques or collectibles on the very short main street in Micanopy. there not much choice (if any) for dinner in "town." the breakfast is pretty good if you're a breakfast person; i'm not. at least there is no "ghost story" at breakfast anymore. we've always had a good time here.

Room Tip: the more you pay, the better the room. check out the pictures carefully. a porch room can be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeyeatsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

April 2012 - Our first stay at the incredible Herlong Mansion for a short two-night stay will not be our last...this place was INCREDIBLE! The mansion, itself, is a fabulous step back in time - both in architectural design and ambiance - yet very comfortably appointed with modern features (like the jacuzzi in our quarters). For the complete romantic getaway effect, we chose to stay in the Pump House cottage...go ahead and treat yourself to something real special. The town, Micanopy, itself is unique in historical character and conveniently located near Gainesville, Paynes Prairie, the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings homesite, The Yearling restaurant, and more. Special kudos & thanks to Herlong's co-owner Carolyn and staff member Rachel for wonderful hospitality and outstanding efficiency making for a completely hassle-free visit. This is the kind of place where fond memories for life are made. Our stay was too short...we will be back! Lou & Linda

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou_1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The best place I have ever stayed at! It is like home. I can't tell everyone how nice and cozy this place is you have to just go and check it out for yourself. It is so relaxing and the true old florida. The rooms are clean and give you a feeling of living back in the 1800's I LOVE IT! I will always stay there while I go shopping in the great antique shops within walking distance from the mansion. The porch swings are very nice too. If you don't love this place then you must be from mars. Great, Great, Great, place! 100%

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micanopy
16.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
17.1 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
16.6 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Courtyard Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
#19 of 47 in Gainesville
182 reviews
15.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
15.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 402 NE Cholokka Blvd, Micanopy, FL 32667-4107
Region: United States > Florida > Micanopy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Micanopy
Price Range: ₹ 5,125 - ₹ 11,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herlong Mansion Historic Inn and Gardens is an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast and a member of Small Elegant Hotels Worldwide. Surrounded by ancient Magnolia trees and Oaks dripping with Spanish moss this Old World setting offers a peaceful sanctuary along with the Wide Verandas with porch swings and old fashioned rocking chairs. Southern Style Breakfasts and Southern Hospitality at its friendliest. Complimentary refreshments available at all times with Wine and Cookies in the evening. AAA rating 3 Diamonds and 4 Diamonds for bedding and furnishings ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herlong Mansion b&b Inn
Herlong Mansion Hotel Micanopy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing