We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected for a hotel in the Holiday Inn Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Lobby was nice,which is usually the first impression so we were pleased. Staff was friendly....then we got to the room. After walking through a series of halls(we were not given ample directions) The first thing we noticed walking up to the room is the exterior of the door was filthy...now this is a little nit picky, but appearance is everything in the hospitality business...we then get into the room the air was running which was nice,but it smelled very musty! The decor was cute but the floors were gritty and dirty like sand was on them...and the throw rug was FILTHY! It was so gross I did not want to walk on it with bare feet. The bed skirt on one of tbe beds had a huge stain which leads me to believe they are not washed on a regular basis. The shower curtain had shaving cream gel residue all over it. Cleanliness is not this hotels forte! The most disturbing thing was the deadbolt for the door was falling out and when I went in in the bathroom I could hear the person in the room next to mine going to the bathroom and actually heard them pass gas!!!!!! I was in rm 2103 with my husband and 2 kids and this was truly an average room. We usually stay at hotels in the Holiday inn family, but this hotel does not live up to that caliber of that name. All in all I would Definately not stay at the rennovated apartment building again for $160.00 for the night! I over paid and Iam extremely under impressed! This is a 79.99 a night caliber hotel. They should fire thier entire cleaning staff and hire people who actually can clean,as it seems alot of people complain of this! Photos to follow

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rlt4677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Rlt4677 - Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay here at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. We are so sorry to hear about your experience regarding cleanliness and do apologize if it caused you any inconvenience. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and are making sure best practices are in place so these issues do not surface again. Cleanliness is a top priority and we appreciate you letting us know what you experienced.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 204 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a very interesting hotel. A newer Hotel Indigo property in what was originally another, much older hotel (circa 1980s) on the site of the Don Shula Golf Club. Check-in was smooth, but make sure to ask for the wi-fi passcode. Upgraded to a large suite, with a sitting room/desk/flat-panel TV in one space, and a king bed/flat-panel in another. Bathroom small but adequate, had some plumbing pipes running through the top of the bathroom- not a problem, just out of the ordinary. Odd note- the room did not have a "Do Not Disturb" sign (extra trip to the front desk to resolve this). Very nice staff, housekeepers in and out very quickly. Very quiet hotel (some traffic noise), located close to the Palmetto Expressway, I-75, and a large portion of North Miami-Dade and South Broward. Some shopping and dining close by (including a nice Publix), but there is a much better selection just 10 minutes up I-75 in Pembroke Pines. This seems to be a safer area, cosidering the reputation of other Miami suburbs. This hotel is NOT close to the cruise ports or airports, especially for those guests with limited senses of direction or time. All things considered, this is a very nice property in an older but quiet suburb. Anyone looking for a hotel in North Miami-Dade in a safer area should look no further.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room facing the quiet parking lot. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the very nice h...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdp339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

rdp339 - Thank you for posting your review of Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to enjoy what the local neighborhood has to offer. We are located in one of the safest communities in Miami and although not in very close proximity to the ports or airports, we know as you mentioned, anyone who considers safety in their travel plans should look no further. 20 minutes away is a nice trade off for some of what we have to offer.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a lovely property. This fairly new hotel has been built in what I would say was a former two story apartment building. Pretty much all rooms have either a balcony or a small outside patio facing the inside court.  The hotel is in a very nice and quiet environment, it features very peaceful garden and a small nice salt water pool.

The rooms are nicely decorated with a large work desk, free wifi and large bathrooms with a walk-in sower.

Avoid adjoining rooms has doors are not sound proofed. 

Staff is great. Lobby area has a small coffee shop.

McDonald's, convenience food store walking distance. Publix (major grocery), CVS, less than 5 mins drive.

Will go back.

If you end up staying at this property in a ground floor unit, make sure you lock the patio door when leaving the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

crew347 - Greetings to our northern friends in Montreal. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the kind words. We do have a very peaceful property but still close enough to plenty of things to do and see. Great tips as well. Thanks for sharing.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The indigo is a good hotel, but quite varied... I could see that a few rooms looked much nicer than the disabled room I was assigned. On a negative side the rug was really dirty and needed a good clean. Also the previous occupant had left empty drinks bottles in the outside balcony! Housekeeping seems like it needs a bit of push into the 21st century!

Despite this, the room was quite stylish and bespoke, it would have been good if there was a fridge or minibar. In the UK all indigo hotels come with a free stocked minibar!

Had a breakfast one morning, my advice would be don't bother... Although it was quick, it was really overpriced considering how little was actually served. There was free wifi and free parking!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

pwelch - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and we do apologize for some of the issues you encountered during your stay. We have already shared the housekeeping issues with our team and have implemented new strategies to ensure these issues are not repeated. We also understand the room assignment was not up to your expectations and hope it did not cause you too much on an inconvenience. Room assignments can be tough for a hotel when experiencing high levels of occupancy. We hope the remainder of your stay went well and really appreciate the feedback.

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I found this place by accident seaching for something else, and let me tell you i have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The room we stayed in was well kept and up to date. The decor was extremly unique and very pretty. The bed and linens were exceptional, very comfortable for that much needed sleep after working a loooong day. The staff was courteous, friendly and sooo accomodating. My room was available at about 2:15 pm and i was able to get a late check out. If you get a chance or remember to put in a request, do yourself a favor and ask for a golf course view. The grounds the very clean and there was more than enough parking. I will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to a golf course view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XoVene12oX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

XoVene12oX - We are glad you found us and do appreciate the wonderful comments you have provided. We appreciate your time and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Lakes
1.1 km away
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 4 in Miami Lakes
583 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#3 of 4 in Miami Lakes
215 reviews
0.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
1.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
10.0 km away
Stadium Hotel
Stadium Hotel
#1 of 1 in Miami Gardens
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-6880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range: ₹ 7,549 - ₹ 14,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke-free sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering a unique guest experience. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes Florida has been designed as an urban oasis for travelers who look to escape from the common hotel. We offer the convenience of a 24 hour fitness center, pool, Phi Restaurant and are located on a Don Shula s Golf Course and right next door to .the Original Don Shula SteakhouseLocated just minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and Opa-Locka Airport, Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes provides convenient access to Main Street Miami Lakes. Nearby attractions include: South Beach, Dolphin Stadium, Don Shula s Golf Course, Saw Grass Mills, the Theater District and Art Galleries. Whether you are here to relax in the Aveda Concept Spa at Shula s, or enjoy a round of Golf at Shula s famous golf course, the Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living. Rooms include hardwood floors, granite counter tops and spa like showers. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel or in our onsite business center.Relax and have a meal or a drink at the Phi Bar that serves cutting edge cuisine or just grab a latte. We proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing