We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel on ocean blvd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #51 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on ocean blvd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed overnight at the Beacon hotel on Ocean blvd.
with so many Art deco style hotels offering basically the same, i.e a decent hotelroom it was nice to stay at a place that had so much more to offer in terms of a friendly staff that helped with everything imaginable. Great place!

Room Tip: Unless you are really keen to have ocean view I propose a " gardenview" room as the noice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNice_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    864
    264
    76
    52
See reviews for
476
929
88
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its location right across the road to the beach. The hotel is an original built in 1937 Art Deco hotel and its furnished beautifully inside. Attention to detail with extras like inclusive breakfast (at the restaurant on the ground floor as you walk in), sun loungers in your room and beach towels so you can take them across to the beach and not have to hire them, was very thoughtful. The room we had was an ok size, but the frosted yet still see through glass bathroom door - what is WITH that! I have been with my boyfriend 3 years and we are engaged, but i STILL don't want to be able to see him sitting down on the loo from the bedroom!!! Seems such an odd choice to make! And if i was a new couple this would stop me from booking here i think! There was access to a business room with free internet kiosks and printers, which was really handy for boarding passes and a fitness centre and free wi fi throughout, all in all a great boutique hotel!

Room Tip: If you dont want to hear music all night go for a middle to back room - we werent disturbed at all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJen1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just left the Beacon yesterday and was sad to go. The hotel is beautiful and a perfect location right on South Beach. But what makes the Beacon stand out is the service. Everyone I met there was incredibly kind, friendly and helpful. Anything you need they have ready in the blink of an eye. I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My favorite thing about this hotel is the location! I love that it is right across from the ocean. My second favorite thing about the hotel was the bed! It was so comfortable. If you can catch a sell this is hotel it is definitely worth it! The only downfall is the size of the room...very small. I recommend only 2 people per room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeidraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were ultimately very pleased with our stay. Upon checking in at approximately 4:30pm, we were told our room wasn't ready (check in is listed at 4 pm).
I'm not sure if we were upgraded, but we paid for a standard room and were given a top floor corner room, which had wonderful windows. The floors (tile) could have used a good sweep, but the bathroom and bedding were spotless. There is actually not a comforter or duvet; the bed was made up of entirely flat sheets. The down comforter was wrapped with a sheet on the underside and outside. I liked this, because I felt everything was very clean. (No bed bugs!) The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but modern and again, very clean. The hotel has a small gym with limited equipment (stair climber, treadmill) and a garden on the second floor, which I think was a smoking area, but I found it on my way to the ice machine and it was quite lovely. Each room also has complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, we we used and found quite nice. The beach right across the street.
The location is absolutely ideal for South Beach. We were in the heart of Ocean Drive, and did not use our car after we arrived. I felt very safe walking up and down Ocean even at night. There were some areas we saw during the day that we would not have been comfortable walking in at night. There was music at night that we could hear in our room, but it didn't bother us. If you are a light sleeper, request a room in the back.
We paid approx. $180 per night. That's more than we would have liked, but SoBe is VERY expensive, so this was actually one of the better values. If you book through the hotel, they also offer a Florida residents also discount, which included valet parking and breakfast in the cost. Otherwise, valet parking is $20 per day. The breakfast is at the restaurant on the sidewalk outside the hotel - we had the omelet and found it quite good, although on the second morning, the "orange juice" was some kind of Tang-like mix. But, to note, we did not have to pay extra for juice or coffee with breakfast.
No, it's not a luxury hotel. The Excellent rating doesn't mean it's a 5-star hotel. But you're in South Beach - unless you want to pay $500 and up per night, this is one of the best. I looked at many other hotels that were a higher cost and very old/grungy/unclean. This was minimalistic, Ikea-type furniture, but it was very clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor corner room - you can see the beach and down Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gracie3752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#29 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.0 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#90 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#69 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.5 km away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,836 - ₹ 28,212
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing