We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a DISASTER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a DISASTER!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I've never written a negative review online before, but this hotel was an absolute DISASTER!!! I wish there were a way to give fewer stars to the Penguin and President hotel - they almost ruined our whole vacation.

We booked a three night stay for three people at the Penguin Hotel, and they started off our stay by losing our reservation altogether. I asked for a manager, and there was nobody available. They moved us to their "connected" hotel, the President Hotel, which costs just as much as the Penguin Hotel but is not on the beach. It was too late to try to find another room, so we checked into the President Hotel. At $160 dollars a night, the room was absolutely filthy - the sheets were stained and the floor was so dirty that we all kept our shoes on all weekend. There was a massive window in the bathroom that overlooked the street and was located directly inside the shower stall (?!?!?!) We told the front desk there were three of us staying in the room, and we would need three bath towels, and we asked them to put up some sort of shade in the shower stall. They said they would put up the shade, which they never did, and then they actually refused to give us three bath towels on our first day there?!?!?!?! We actually went to Walgreens and bought our own towels!!! We were also told that the "free continental breakfast and wi-fi" was only included if we paid an extra $45 dollar "resort fee", so we passed on that too. There was no maid service on our first day, and when we complained to a manager he told us that the maid didn't understand the sign requesting maid service (?!?!?!) but that our room would be cleaned that day and the linens would be changed. When we returned that day, all of the same linens were in our room and just re-folded and nothing else had been cleaned.

The rooms are not sound proof, so you should expect to hear every sound in the hall. Screaming children, teenagers coming in at 4 am, we heard absolutely everything - I've never heard so much noise in a hotel. And despite the fact that the rooms are absolutely filthy, for some reason they vacum all the halls multiple times a day.

When we left the hotel, for the first time ever, someone at the front desk was actually nice to us and apologized that our stay was such a disaster. We were all floored that he was actually nice and thanked him for being the first courteous staff member we had met. He said that if we sent our friends back to the hotel, he would make sure they had an enjoyable stay. At that point, we all just laughed. Send our friends there??!?! I wouldn't recommend this place to someone I absolutely hated!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravels0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
My dear "not-so-happytravels0810",
I read your comment and I truly believe this was a terrible miscommunication from head to toe. We are absolutely the ones to blame, don't take me wrong, but first of all, Penguin and President Hotel are usually the same price and the reason being that the President Hotel was renovated much later that the Penguin. We do give extra towels to our guests, so I don't understand who could have told you that we don't. The blinds that we have in the shower windows are custom made, so if your room did not have one; it was most probably because it broke and we couldn't replace it right away as we'd have to have it made. Continental breakfast and WI-FI are not complimentary; you have access to these if or when you pay for your Resort Fee, which is advertised everywhere by the way. We do not change your linen unless you place the "Please change my linen" card on your bed; this being a common practice among hotels in order to save water. In regards to our staff being unfriendly, I'd love to know which staff members you had an interaction with so we could deal with them internally.
I know we missed our chance, but believe me that we try really hard; it's just that sometimes the delivery is not as great as expected. Thanks for your comment. Good luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    503
    315
    137
    140
See reviews for
237
453
94
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel was pretty, clean and the staff adequalely friendly; mostly unfriendly. Matress needs to be changed; even if you move a little too much noise comes and makes you wake-up. We stayed 209 and there was this door which opens to next room; which means feels like they are also in your room... On the other hand the location was great blocks away from Lincoln Mall and I block over from Ocean Dr. and beach.

It was not bad.. Breakfast was good. But again breakfast staff doesnt know how to smile and say good morning!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Secil K,
We are currently looking into our mattress problem. We have received several comments about our mattresses being uncomfortable so we will definitely do something about this. In regards to the noise, this maybe a structural issue which we cannot do much about. Also, I like to remind guests that this is South Beach and people tend to come to this part of the city to "party" and most of our guest do stay up late. If you are looking for peace and quiet, you'd be better off staying someone near the airport or inland Miami. Thanks for your comment though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port St. Lucie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed here in the summer of 2011. The price for the location was excellent, on Collins Ave! It was within walking distance of everything that you want to see in South Beach, shopping, clubs, bars, cafes, and restuarants are all within a three block radius! The rooms were very nice and clean with beautiful natural artwork covering one entire wall. They even had a chandelier in the room! The air felt great after coming in from the Miami heat. The bathroom was a little small, but beautifully decorated. Overall, great experience at a beautiful boutique hotel! Don't miss Gionni Versace's mansion on Ocean Drive and of course the world famous beach!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittneyCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Hey BrittneyCL,
You are exactly right! We are in the middle of all the action! Thanks for taking the time to write this review! Come back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I am myself travel from Vietnam and it's great to stay here this hotel. Near by the beach, nice staff, clean room with full facility, free wifi and breakfast. I travel with two other friends and we booked for a single room with 2 beds, it's convenient and comfortable. What else you need ?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NhanVo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear NhanVo88,
Thanks so much for this comment! We really appreciate your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

stayed at this hotel 4 my birthday loved every min of it thanks to this hotel and so did my wife to
be..read everything bad and good they said about this hotel and i was starting not to want to stay there.. im so glad i went there.. first the location is great 2 the room was very nice loved the shower loved the service staff was so friendly and nice.. the only thing i would want to change is
the pool wasnt up and operating.. that would have been a bonus when we go back this will be the place for us..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharronw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Sharonw91,
It is so nice to read comments like yours. This is what we strive for every day, making guests happy and above all, make them feel at home. It is a pity that our pool is no longer available but we can guarantee you that we will have a wonderful patio area once we are done with the renovations. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#83 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#160 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#166 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#113 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#81 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
City Center
Hall Hotel South Beach
Hall Hotel South Beach
#52 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Property: The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Address: 1423 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,238 - ₹ 17,836
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing