We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected!”
Review of Starlite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Starlite Hotel
Ranked #182 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Before booking this hotel, I read through reviews and was little skeptical at first. The only set back was the room wasn't ready, but that was because of my early arrival. The staff was nice and called when the room was ready and held the luggage while we started our vacation. The room was very clean and welcoming. The location is perfect. It is in the center of the main strip and next too a very popular bar. I enjoyed this hotel very much and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Starlite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 228 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Ill say this first so people actually read it. Dont use the elevator. take the stairs. when it opens you can already tell somethins wrong when it takes 15 seconds for the door to open. it takes a very long time to get to your floor. (we were only on the 3rd floor) when you actually get to your floor there is this loud buzzer (i thought it was broken) oh and the load capacity is 1000 lbs. and inspected a year ago so dont put more then 4-5 people in it.

now on to the actual review

Great location, right on the beach, restaurants all down the street. Bad Side: Loud music/people until very early hours and a pretty small room w/ no view whatsoever.

Service was pretty bad. When we checked in we stood at the front desk for 5 minutes waiting for the receptionist to quit watching television and talking to her friends. She had a pretty snobby attitude but when we finally did get her attention, she was pretty nice. we got there around noon and check-in wasn't until 2 O'clock but she called the maid and had her get our room ready right away. BTW: be aware of a $100 deposit required opon check-in. $100 on hold on a credit card.
On our last day we had an early flight so we had to leave the hotel around 5:30. I had asked the desk to call me a cab for 5:30 the next morning and when we went downstars at 5:20 the cab was already there waiting. The man at the front desk, however, was very unnatentive. his accent was so thick we could not understand him at all.
Housekeeping just threw the sheets over the bed to make it look like they made it. they didnt sweep the floor, clean up crumbs, etc. she forgot to take out the garbage and we had to ask for clean towels.

Overall a pretty decent hotel w/ lousy service. room furniture and electronics were all modern and the bathroom looked decent but the building itself needed some upkeep.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 1-3 (301, 203, etc.) have an ocean view. all others have a view of an alley or a b...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_R_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Location is awesome, if you want to party and be in the middle of the action on Sobe.
For being a two star property, you get what you can expect.. The front desk staff is quite nice and accomodating. The elevator was really slow, and not working well.. I was on fourth floor, and didn`t mind walking the stairs.. I stayed in a room facing Ocean Dr, and had a great beach/ ocean view. Not so many of these rooms, and you have to pay a bit more.. The only thing I really can complain about.. is that I started itching in the bedsheets.. dont` know why.. This hotel is definately for a younger crowd, so if you`re a light sleeper.., go somewhere else :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalsaSenorita_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to Miami Beach in September 2011 for a week. We were on a budget so were looking for a cheap hotel. We chose the Starlite because the location on Ocean Drive is great. We didn't expect much from the hotel but what we found was really bad. The rooms were filthy. On arriving in our room, we found the bathroom dirty and the floor disgusting. We asked the reception to change room immediately, The second one was only slightly less dirty. We thought about booking elsewhere but didn't want to go through the hassle. During our stay, we didn't stay more time than necessary in the hotel: shower, sleep and that's it.

In a nutshell: don't stay there. I've stayed in hostels that were cleaner. A lot of reviews will mention the location but what they don't mention is that they are at least 10 other hotels on Ocean Drive. I'm sure none of them are as dirty as the Starlite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliiice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#170 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,106 reviews
0.1 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#194 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#80 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,556 reviews
0.1 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#118 of 210 in Miami Beach
865 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Hotel

Address: 750 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,014 - ₹ 13,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starlite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Miami Beach
Starlite Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing