We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I found it more annoying than impressive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
“I found it more annoying than impressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here back in 1998, where we then would have given up to 4 stars, but now 11 years after it is a completely different hotel.
The room had only one bathrobe. The greeting little fruit tray was shriveled up, and the card was addressed by someone with the handwriting of a 4th grader.

Starved we decided to try for room service. Calls to the front desk took eons to answer. We put it on speaker phone and let it ring and started to unpack while we waited. Finally we got through, we asked to be transferred to restaurant and we were disconnected in the process. No call back. We called again...held.....finally reached the Sushi restaurant and ordered. The food took 45min to come to the room.

The gym is satisfactory and has good equipment but limited...only 4 treadmills? To get to the gym really feels like you are walking into the dungeon and passing by all the staff and laundry facilities. No staff made eye contact or greeted us. In the gym the A/C was so strong you couldn't work up a sweat in those arctic temps. We couldn't find the controls and just began our workout shivering.

Staff: Have to give compliments to my server at breakfast, he was attentive and friendly. Poolside waitstaff... not so much. Were parched getting drinks and waited even longer to get the bill.

There are also a lot of people around the pool who like themselves quite a bit and constantly talk about this film they are making, that music producer they have worked with etc ... I found it more annoying than impressive.

I can not recommend this Hotel....................

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    548
    223
    144
    117
See reviews for
248
970
129
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Everything about this place makes you feel like a rock star. The lobby, the lobby bar, the drapes and curtains everywhere. Everything seems to be white and clean in the hotel and on the grounds. Going to the Delano is a must for anybody who goes to South Beach. The pool and the parties they are always having are also usually good places to see celebrities. Not cheap at all. Bring lots of money.

Room Tip: Get a balcony or at least an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was our 6th stay at the Delano and as usual we were more than happy with our trip. We stayed 2 weeks and enjoyed every single day there.

The hotel pool is the best pool hotel in the world in my opinion. Nowhere else can you enjoy a glass of champagne with perfect weather, water temperature and crowd. We loved the White Rabbit Pool Parties on Sundays. It felt out-of-this-world. Great fun and I had never seen the Delano pool so packed! This is South Beach spirit at its finest.

We would like to thank the pool staff and in particular Soledad, Marco, Haile & Diego who all made our stay memorable. Soledad was very attentive to our needs, Marco is dedicated to his job and strives to make the impossible possible and is a truly kind person. It was also great to be greeted in the morning by Haile's smile. We did miss Mihai, the former pool manager, at the pool though.

Many thanks as well to Nicolas, the front office manager, who frequently checked on us during our stay and was very friendly.

On the downside: we were disappointed with the new restaurant Bianca. Service was very good but we didn't think the food was great and missed the Blue Door for its setting & menu (the Blue Door was the restaurant in lieu of Bianca). I was looking forward to having the Spanish tortilla for breakfast in the morning but it is unfortunately not on the new breakfast menu anymore.

As for the new pool bar menu, we don't understand why there is no kids menu anymore. My daughter used to love the mac & cheese and this was very practical for us when we wanted to spend the entire day by the pool. Hopefully Marco arranged on several occasions to order some pasta & cheese from Bianca for us but it wasn't as good as the old mac & cheese that used to be served at the pool. We do think that charging $25 for this was a bit stiff (we had 2 kids with us and ended up ordering two portions for them on a regular basis which made for a total of $50 after which our kids were still hungry since the portions were so small).

I wish the Internet connection were faster than it is. It frequently feels like there is not enough bandwidth to be shared amongst the guests (updating apps on my iPhone in the morning would usually take 10 mns for 5-6 apps whereas it takes me 20 secs at home).

The new RFID key system is way better than the old one. A great plus is the recently implemented option for guests to open the door to their room with their cell phone. It sounds like a gadget but it is a great plus particularly when coming back from the pool or the beach (it always takes me time to find my room key in my beach bag whereas I usually have my cell phone in my hands).

We regret not seeing as many people as before at the Rose Bar. It looked deserted most of the evenings. There are no more parties in the lobby on Tuesdays but the White Rabbit Pool Parties on Sundays somewhat make up for it.

All in all, we love staying at the Delano. The staff is great and there is no better pool anywhere else (keep in mind you're going to spend a lot of time by the pool if you visit South Beach so choosing the hotel with the best pool is the best thing you can do).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fr8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napoli
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Excellent hotel with excellent young people that take care of all you need. Suggest the Bianca Restaurant for an Italian romantic dinner. No other words but only entering in the lobby and you feel the atmosphe.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vichi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

My family from Italy stayed at the Delano for a week. We choose this hotel for its central location and stylish decor. This was a family get together and I have to say that we had just the most wonderful time! The hotel is absolutely beautiful! We all loved the stylish furnishing, simple but yet so elegant! We especially loved spending time by the beautiful pool, so relaxing and a lot of fun for my nephew and niece. Che bello!
I also highly recommend the restaurant, the food was really good, and the service eccellente!

It was a very memorable holiday - we would love to do it again! Grazie mille!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
SLS South Beach
#33 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,635 - ₹ 80,205
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing