We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Still good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed at the Delano again this year and found it to be good, with some improvements over last year. The room was clean, housekeeping was better, the staff had a friendlier attitude. This hotel is STILL the center of the Miami social scene with a fantastic pool vibe during the day and at night. I had a poolside bungalow, which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Route66dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    548
    223
    144
    117
See reviews for
248
970
129
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at the Delano for a night and it was disappointing. We reached early in the morning after our cruise, around 10 am. Room was not ready, no problem. We left our luggage and went for a walk along Lincoln Road Mall, had lunch, came back at 2 pm, room was still not ready! Stacey at reception was very nice but kept saying room was guaranteed for 3 pm - I get that, but does that mean no rooms are ready at all by 2 pm?!! When we finally got to the room, it was ok. This stark all white theme is gimmicky and would fly better assuming that all the technological gizmos work, which they do not. The free wi fi is very spotty and kept going off and on, every time I was using my iPad, it would go off. But the worst was the bathroom - they have this wannabe cool shower design where the shower is a walk in. Trouble is, the drainage is not proper and when you take a shower, it floods the bathroom, no kidding! Food is overpriced at Bianca. The only good feature is the location, but this does not overcome the flaws like inefficient housekeeping, faulty wi fi, etc. At this price point, you expect a flawless experience but we got anything but. We are not staying here again and would recommend looking elsewhere. Next time we will stay at the Sagamore or National.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBearNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that your stay didn't live up to the expectations that you had for Delano. Our rooms are guaranteed for 3pm, when the hotel isn't extremely busy, of course we will accommodate our guest's needs and provide and earlier check in whenever possible. As far as the room, the standard rooms do have standard bathrooms, however, we do have multiple options for larger rooms, many of which have 2 bathrooms. Several are also equipped with a tub. I apologize for the situation with your WiFi. We have upgraded our system appropriately over time and have had minimal issues with this. We will certainly look into the problem that occurred during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share these items with us, we would love to see you again in the future.

Mnay Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The only really good thing about the Delano is the pool. I wonder if there's a way to just rent on of the cabanase instead of actually staying in the hotel? My opinions:

1) If you decide to paint every single surface in your hotel white, you have an obligation to clean/bleach/paint it enough to ensure that every possible stain doesn't show up. Curtains, rugs, floors, walls all had stains and the like so that the pristine white was really just a beat up, overused off white.

2) The hotel really hasn't been well taken care of - some windows were painted shut, knobs missing, mattress not comfortable, painted cement floors (if you get them wet, you will fall down), the ceiling and windows in the workout room were leaking puddles onto the floor, the air conditioners basically had two settings - freezing and humid. This place is old, as most things are in Southbeach, but maintenance is lacking and it really shows.

3) For what this place costs, they should be falling all over themselves helping you and bringing you anything you want. The pool staff and the bar staff near the pool were friendly. Everyone else was just not terribly interested in helping guests.

4) The food is good, but not excellent.

5) The beach is good, but not great.

6) The thing that really annoyed me was the cheapness of the place - why charge $800 per night and then have uninsulated ice buckets with no tops so the ice melts in 10 minutes and there's a puddle all over your desk? Why even have a workout room if half the equipment is not working and there are puddles all over the floor and you have to walk through the garbage area to get there? The bathrooms are so tiny that put unusually small toilets in them so you'd be able to walk into the shower... again, why?

A cool vibe at the pool can only take you so far. I won't stay at the Delano again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms, but ours faced the side street and was a little noisy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Delano is famous for a number of reasons, not the least of which is our service. Before I touch on service, I want to assure you that the utmost care and diligence goes into the maintenance and upkeep of our property. You made note of a couple items that will certainly be adrressed. The Delano service standard is our top priority. We pride ourselves on delivering world class service at all venues and departments throughout the hotel. I would like to discuss your experience with you further regarding this aspect, please contact me directly, your insight will certainly be taken seriously. Regarding rooms, we have several categories, the options are open to our guests and detailed decriptions of all room types are on our website.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your observations, looking forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Get the grilled langoustines for an appetizer - really awesome.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fuller O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

was the best before.. no professional any more...the employ are to young to take care of good customers...good luck if you go there,,,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vittorio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
SLS South Beach
#33 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,523 - ₹ 80,135
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing