We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location for a short stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #179 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for a short stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed one night with my family whilst touring Florida. Great location staff very helpful , valet parking a must. Room very clean, and requests such as extra towels dealt with immediately. We were on side of hotel and wasn't disturbed by any noise. Food around hotel reasonably priced. Get up early and see around on a rental bike. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the awesome review, we hope you come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    250
    237
    135
    166
See reviews for
141
361
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Went during WMC and paid about $400 a night... this is almost considered a "good deal" for this time of year. They were clearly overwhelmed with the amount of people going in and out of the establishment which seems odd to me seeing as WMC has been going on for 26 years.

So we got a room with 2 beds in it... 4 people.

1) You could barely fit one bed in there, let alone two.

2) One bed was next to the air conditioner, if you laid in this bed you had to cover yourself with a couple blankets or catch pneumonia.

3) If you turned the air conditioner off, a slow hot and agonizing death would soon follow
4) The bed that was closest to the door sounded like a rusty trampoline, dont move... dont breathe.. we can hear you.

5) Good luck trying to fit luggage for 4 people in this room, you have the option of walking on your bags or sleeping on your bags... or both.

6) The hotel didnt even have a vending machine. Want a bottle of water? Try back in a few hours when the bartender is back.

7) Room service came knocking every day bright n early at 8am. whyyyyy

8) I didnt have a room key on me at one point... asked the front desk for a new one. Told them a random room number and they just gave me a new key! No ID checking.. no questions asked... I finally told them I wasnt even sure that was the correct room number which made them check... amazing. Anyone can have access to any room.

Here's the thing, Colony Hotel is old as hell... appears in every single picture when you google "Miami" -- its beach front -- bla bla. Its the best we could get for our budget. Plain and simple. If you are not going during such a busy week like WMC... you might have a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charity b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to read about your bad experience at the Colony Hotel, the rooms at the property are not very large, which is typical of the old Art Deco style that dominates most of the hotels on South Beach, I would like to hear personally from you some about your other concerns, specifically your ability to get a key to another room from the Front Desk, this is exactly the opposite of what we teach/train our employees to do, so if you would contact me, Eddie Nunez at sales@thekenthotel.com or call me directly at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3010 it would be very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

salem, ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in Miami for one night on a stop over from a longer trip. When we checked into the Colony the front desk told me our room was recently renovated. When we got into the room we noticed dark hair all over the floor and on the bedding and there was sand in the bed (not from us). I asked for a new room or a cleaning and they couldn't accommodate.

I will never stay here again. Location or not, wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin_panneton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that this occurred, it is not typical of our establishment or our standards, please contact me, Eddie Nunez at sales@thekenthotel.com, or Carrie Lage at carrie@colonymiami.com and we will gladly do all we can to make it up to you. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drogheda Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Colony hotel on Ocean Drive Miami for 4 nights , on arrival the twin bed room we had booked was not available, but the guy on the front desk was very understanding and did all he could to get us what we had requested, we used the double room for 2 nights and then got the twin room. Overall the hotel room was very clean plenty of hot water towels changed every day, all the staff were very helpful. The hotel is in an excellent position on South Beach, Plenty of places to eat in the area, but can be expensive due to the location. We would use the Colony again.

Room Tip: less noise at the back of the hotel as the area outside the front of the hotel is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the great review, we are glad to hear that even after a minor hiccup arriving to the hotel you left satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The location was excellent for my friends and I on our Spring Break this year. We were referred by someone who stayed there last Spring Break aswell. Room Service and the Front Desk treated us with great service and I commend them for that. Room prices are very reasonable for any age group. Will stay here again and I would recommend The Colony to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MATG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the great review, we hope to have you as our guests in the future once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#158 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#188 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#129 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.0 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,675 - ₹ 22,749
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing