We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location perfect for younger travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
“Great location perfect for younger travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel location can't be beaten, right by South Beach with all the shops down the road. The room is a bit dark and could do with more lighting but it was always clean. Bathroom was a good size and well lit so we used to get ready in there.
The corridors are a bit tired looking but the decor is quite dark so might be better if it was a bit lighter also there was no ventilation in the corridor so at times could be a bit musty. Not a problem but just a minor issue.
The resort fee of $15 includes happy hour between 7-8 so the cost is easily covered by this. Also covers beach towels and wifi in the lobby - would be great to have wifi in the room. I would recommend this hotel for younger travellers as it's definitely geared around this. Wouldn't stay there with a family as there is music until the early hours and most of the guests are here to party rather than relaxing at the hotel.
All of the staff are excellent and extremely helpful. Gave excellent recommendations on where to go and can get passes so you get reduced club entrance fees. Would stay here again as is a reasonable price for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRGirlTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
MCRGirlTravel1,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us in March. We are happy you enjoyed our amenities and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    439
    257
    133
    195
See reviews for
108
431
162
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a friends batchelorette/hen party and could not really fault it considering only a 2 star hotel. Rooms are dark, and a little compact but that's because 2 king beds take up most of the room. The hotel is in a prime location, beds are comfortable and the hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Will definately stay here again. If your looking to explore the heart of Miami and little cost, this is the place to be. Can be a little noisy at night depending of the location of your room, but nothing ear plugs won't block out ;-)

2 minutes from Ocean Drive and South Beach, and amongst some branded shops.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
MissT1976,

Yes! Our location is amazing, walking distance to almost everything, the beach, the clubs, great restaurants, and shopping. The staff is trained to give our guest great advice to enjoy what Miami Beach has to offer.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Ok so my fiance and I were coming up on our 2 yr anniversary and decided to get away. We stayed at the hotel shelley feb 11th - 15th. This hotel is in a prime location next to everything and is perfect if your going to experience the party life. Alex (who was amazing by the way) gave us a corner room on the third floor and you honestly could hear a pin drop (very quiet) We didnt do much in our room and all we really required was a clean bed ( which we got an was surprisingly comfortable) a shower and somewhere to sleep. You cant really complain as you get what you pay for. It was an extremely cheap stay which allowed us more spending money on our trip. A huge thanks to front desk alex and Jorge and bartendeer (forgot her name but i think shes romanian) for making us feel comfortable our entire stay. My only problem was the bar manager was a huge jerk. He was rude and unfriendly, not helpful at all! And like I said the rooms were TINY! All in all for the price (and if it was an all girs trip) I would stay here again. Now next my fiance and I take this trip we are going for more luxury and definitely more space.

Room Tip: ask for a room with double beds even if you are a couple. They are way larger than the queen bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frqnt_travlr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Frqnt_travlr91,

We hope that you and your fiance had an amazing anniversary. We hope that you were able to enjoy our comfortable beds and bedding. I am more than happy to let Alex and Jorge know you mentioned them in your review. I understand that you would want a bigger room for your next visit. I would like to invite you to take a look at our website and look at the photos of our suites available at our hotels. I am sure you will find them very spacious with the same amazing amenities you received during your stay.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

no wifi in the room, i would to take a drink with my son for the happy hour, and the man at the office said " it's only with alcool, no beverage for your son" , i was amazed, and i went to my room, if my son desn't drink, i don't drink. why no drink to my 6yo son, there are orange juice, apple juice, soda at the bar and he said we can't have a drink without alcool.
and at the check in, you paid 30$ fee per day. ( so happy hour and transfer to the airport are not free, you pay)
(sorry for my english)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yass2coeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
yass2coeur,

Thank you for your review, I understand there might have been some type of misunderstanding during your visit. This hotel does not have wifi in the room but it is available in the lobby. We are working on making this change to accommodate our guest. There is a resort fee at our hotel but please understand many hotels charge this fee not just us. We try to give our guest as many freebies as possible to make their stay memorable. We hope you will reconsider and come stay with us again.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel was quirky, but not bad. Helpful staff, clean room, quiet too (3rd floor). Price was right and all we were looking for was comfortable, clean beds and shower. The negatives - our TV was virtually unwatchable, maintenance came up and tried to fix it to no avail and we were not offered a new room or other options (would have been nice to be able to watch the local news but oh well) and having to go across the street for ice was an inconvenience. The curtains on the windows need better rods so that you can actually slide them open/closed easier since the room tended to be a bit dark all the time, but we'd stay here again (4 nights Jan 24-28 2012). Our next trip we will book for the hotel across the street (same ownership and seems to have a few more amenities).

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are quieter, music plays in the lobby all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
CeeCee_n_Sticks,

I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your television. I know that our staff would go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. Thank you for making recommendations to improve your stay. We all look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#65 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 km away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#108 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.9 km away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.1 km away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#138 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Property: Hotel Shelley
Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,678 - ₹ 15,796
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing