We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but not much else to offer”
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #73 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The Chesterfield has two positives. It is in a good location and it's clean.

Other than that, it was a rough experience. First the room is a little larger than a shoebox, with poor lighting and tiny bathroom (foot needs to be in the shower when you are using the toilet). After the first night there I asked the front desk if we could change rooms. He said there was no vacancy despite a sign in front that said there was. He told me to ask the woman who worked the next morning. So I did and she was not helpful either saying she had to ask her manager in order for us to change rooms. Hence we stayed in the room.

While the room itself was clean the hallway had a foul odor. Also if you you are bringing a car there tack on $32 for valet and a definite $18 "resort" fee on top of the room price.

Also they didn't have ESPN in the room which meant no watching any of the bowl games, while getting ready to go out and what not.

No pool at the hotel either, no view from the room, and it is very noisy.

Finally I called the front desk 4 times during my 4 night stay. They didn't answer 3 times. The one time they did answer, I asked for more towels which they never brought.

All in all there are just many other better options in Miami. I'd go with one of them.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Greetings! We are so happy to hear you loved our fabulous location and our clean accommodations. We recommend against bringing a car to the hotel, we have electric cars which we shuttle our guests around Miami Beach with. For guests who must bring a car, there is a self park in the garage 2 blocks away. We will be sure to get the details of your review back to management so that it can be looked into further. Cheers!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,022 of 3,416 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2016

Shower is SLIPPERY...careful. Television was fuzzy on main channels. No coffee pot but interestingly has a stereo player. Nowhere to lay out things inside room...but closet is HUGE. Has are mattress/box combo and sat on a platform that seemed too trip us each time around the bed. All that said...and keep in mind we paid holiday peak rates...this is a very cool little hotel just a block from ocean ave. and smack in the middle of south beach action.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginareg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Wonderful! We are very happy you let us know about the details of your Chesterfield visit. We thank you for mentioning all of the details that contributed to the success of your stay. Kind regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I can't find the bar at this hotel on Tripadvisor so leaving a review here. We sat Daren one evening and ordered some drinks. The bar woman recommended mango mojito but I wasn't sure about that so asked for a normal one. She visibly looked angry at that for some reason. When the mojito arrived it looked and tasted like ice water. We returned it and left after a beer.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hello! We are so disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy a wonderful experience with us at Chesterfield. We strive to provide excellent service and friendly hospitality to all of our guests. We will be sending your review back to management to be looked into further. Cheers!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights before flying out to NYC, our room key wouldn't work so they "upgraded" us to a suite (room 600).

First of all, while waiting to try and get into our original room on the first floor, my partner saw a huge cockroach walk out from under a room door....not the best start.

Room 600 wasn't great, average and in need of a refurb to be honest. It was however clean. Some of the tiles are coming away from the floor and some of the fittings were loose. I have to say the bed was comfortable.

Please note that you will not get any wifi coverage in room 600.

Also, no one was working when we checked out at 5am...we won't be back.

Improvement needed.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank shaun d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Greetings to you. We thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your honest and sincere feedback on your Chesterfield visit. We value the opinion of our guests and are glad you let us know of yours. We will be sure to get your review back to management to be looked into further. Kind regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights for a mini vaca in a junior suite and overall had a nice stay. Pros - location, price, easy/fast check-in, valet parking, bar and lobby, courtyard outside room, room size, room temperature, and hip updated room with neat decor and furniture. Cons - constant beeping noise in room, deep cleanliness, small ironing board, no cold water one morning and no hot water the next, and several lights were out. Couple additional things to note for others: 1- we had a first floor room right off the alley with no outside door, someone tried to enter at 4am by mistake, could be a security concern for some 2- Loud location right off the street - (however we expected that in Miami beach).

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KCexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Hi there. Thanks for relaying the details of your Chesterfield visit. We are thrilled you loved our great location and awesome price! We will hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 214 in Miami Beach
4,878 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#45 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,073 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#77 of 214 in Miami Beach
83 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#27 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,054 reviews
Dream South Beach
#46 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,837 - ₹ 23,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing