We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Ranked #140 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
charlotte nc
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right in South Beach”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we received an upgrade upon checking in and got a huge balcony facing the ocean. Nice and clean hotel and loved our stay in South Beach. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Suites at Congress Ocean Drive, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star ratings accross the board!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the cleanliness, the service and the location at The Congress Hotel South Beach, we pride ourselves to provide the best customer experience!

We hope to see you soon!
Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    381
    196
    147
    136
See reviews for
176
500
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

My fiancee and I stayed at the Congress April 10th-13th. The week leading up to our stay I was a ball breaker, first i asked for a certain room (room 502) then I wanted an early check-in. Whomever I spoke to was extremely nice and assured me they would do there best to accommodate us. We arrived at the hotel around 10am on the 10th knowing that check-in wasn't until 4. To our surprise we were told then only needed a little while for our room, so we went upstairs, used the bathroom to change, left our bags with Adrian (he's the man), and went to the beach. We got chairs, an umbrella and towels. Within 2 hours the front desk called me and informed us that our room was ready. We were in our room with our bags by 12pm. Unfortunately 502 was booked so they put us in 501. The room was awesome, clean and spacious, 2 big balconies overlooking Ocean Dr. The bed was comfortable and we never had any issues with noise. The pool area was always fun and the beach is gorgeous. Talk with Adrian about the nightlife, he'll hook you up with Sean who will definitely take care of you. We had awesome nights going out with him and he's parties. Bottom line we had an amazing time, not one complaint. I guess if your happy go lucky people like us everything works out well. So don't listen to all the negativity, those people probably walk around with pusses on there face 24/7

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Suites at Congress Ocean Drive, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review and the 5 star Rating! I am so pleased to learn that during your visit the entire staff was nothing but helpful, friendly, and accommodating, which is of the utmost importance to us here on property.

I will be sure to relay your feedback to the entire team to praise them for all their hard work. Thank you for mentioning cleanliness & service. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you real soon on your next trip to The Congress Hotel South Beach!.

Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Took a group of 9 for a 3 day business trip. Arrangements were made ahead of time with hotel GM, who stayed in touch before, during, and after the trip. Minor hassles were encountered but were always resolved promptly and overall for the price paid the property was a value. Noise level was loud but to be expected in this general area. Housekeeping was not bad but could be improved. Meeting space and pool were also great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Suites at Congress Ocean Drive, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a returning guest.
We thank you for your feedback as it helps us improving our custumer service.

We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for staying at The Congress Hotel South Beach.

Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

we had partial ocean view reservation & were upgraded to ocean view (5th floor in building with the rooftop pool -- which was awesome) & it was AMAZING! Large King sized bedroom with balcony & main room had wrap around balcony with two futon-like couches that worked perfectly for 2 teen boys. Room was ready on arrival & we were able to stay at pool after checkout before leaving for our flight later in the evening. Yes, there is a $12.50pp resort fee, but you get cushioned beach chairs & towels set up for you on the beach & breakfast at the restaurant below. lemonade & cookies in lobby nice touch ;). Felt $35 valet parking was worth it (lots of traffic) -- quick "front door" service & everything is within walking distance from here anyway. would stay here again. Only negatives were: not a lot of lighting in the bathroom, and modern shower with curtain surround was gorgeous but not the most functional, and some inappropriate behavior near the pool involving 2 men & saw some men sleeping up there in the am -- just thinking they may want to "patrol" the area a bit more ;) (but since this was SoBe... ;))

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwhenIcan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Suites at Congress Ocean Drive, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review accross the board!!! We are honoured a Senior contributor provides constructive feedback. Regarding the pool area, please note that this was a very unusual event. The Congress Hotel have a 24-hour security presence on property.

We look forward to your return at The Congress Hotel South Beach!
Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Me and my wife booked this hotel via a third party for a weeklong getaway to experience Miami and Southern Florida. The price was competetive, the location seemed nice and central and the fotos seemed nice.

Pro's:
The room was as well appointed as we had been given to believe, with a large bed, kitchenette with utensils and fullsized fridge, oven/microwave, large tv, AC and bathroom.

This place is right in front of Lummus park with its lovely walkways, well-maintained beach and awesome monkeybars to workout on.

Con's:
The nightly noiselevels were very very high. We sleep with well-sealing custom made earplugs, and even this was insufficient to block the music coming off the Clevelander's VIP rooftop pool area. Ocean Drive is party central, forming the heart of South Beach's famed nightlife. It heaves with clubs and bars and crowded by college kids coming out for a good time. Whilst this may be right up your alley, it was not exactly what we were looking for. Not only was our sleep compromised by this, but returning to and leaving Congress in the evening feels like queuing up for a club.

Some of the minor details in the apartment we rented were not exactly stellar. There were only thin french doors between the bathroom and the rest of the room, the balcony opened up to a large and noisy AC unit, making it unusable, and the waterpressure was poor, to say the least. The lift down was the slowest one I have ever encountered in my travels (the wait is made bearable by the ocean view though).

If youre driving down or renting a car in Miami, be advised that parking in SoBe is pretty terrible, and will run you 20$ a day in public garages. We rented a scooter for a few days and loved it, you can just plunk it anywhere inbetween parked cars. Do wear a helmet though, or make sure you fill out your organ-donor card!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanneken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Suites at Congress Ocean Drive, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and many thanks for the recommendation and 4 to 5 star ratings on cleanliness, service and rooms.
Please note that we do have suites for light sleepers on other buildings, with interior courtyard views that are isolated from any stray street noise. Thanks again for your visit and suggestions and we look forward hosting your next trip to Miami Beach and to The Congress Hotel South Beach!

Warm regards,
Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,467 reviews
0.1 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#49 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,314 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#115 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
553 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,055 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#85 of 208 in Miami Beach
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Congress Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Congress Ocean Drive

Property: Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Congress Hotel South Beach/The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,537 - ₹ 22,529
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites at Congress Ocean Drive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Suites at Congress Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing