We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Eat on Ocean Drive”
Review of Pelican Cafe

Pelican Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Pelican Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #211 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: US$ 35 - US$ 50
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th and Ocean Drive
nj/nyc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat on Ocean Drive”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Pelican Cafe is our favorite restaurant in South Beach for good reason. They are consistently reliable, the food is delicious, the location and people watching is top notch, and the service is excellent. There is nothing not to like. They have always honored our reservations, taken table requests, and the servers aren't pushy or overbearing - they are laid back and the meal is paced well. The food is always amazing, good portions, not enough to stuff you but not too small either. We had a 4 course meal (1appetizer, 2salads, 2entrees and a shared dessert) and the bill was about $150 with added tip. FYI: The gratuity is included on all checks in south beach, you can add more if you like. Also, the vibe here is great, perfect spot for people watching. Its nice to sit on the terrace overlooking the sidewalk, however be warned that if you sit at a table on the sidewalk there will be a lot of foot traffic past you including the potential for some drunken passer by's bumping into you. Overall - the best place to eat on Ocean Drive. Cant go wrong.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank blonddnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    257
    122
    44
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast! Great Deal!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We ate at the Pelican Cafe for breakfast before checking out, and they had a great $5.50 breakfast special. Had egg white omelet, with potatoes, and bread! Can't beat that deal! Would definitely go again for breakfast!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very very good!!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The best italian restaurant in SoBe!!!
Everything very good. My friend and I began with an entree "bruschette, salame, prosciutto and italian cheese"...really very good, but after that we had a "pasta with astice" that was absolutely perfect!!! The waiter was always ready for our request; the bill was not so expensive considering what we've eaten.
I strongly reccomend this restaurant...the best i tried in Miami.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielec975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Astounding service and excellent food”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My friend recommended this place to me and said it was good but that was a serious understatement. It was an excellent choice! The service was amazing and our food arrived lightning fast, I couldn't believe it! The waitstaff was very gracious and welcoming too, not to mention some serious eye candy.
I ordered the tagliatelle alfredo with chicken and it was amazing! The chicken was juicy and the sauce complimented the pasta instead of drowning it like some restaurants serve theirs. The portions were just right too, I recently went on Weight Watchers so smaller portions that didn't leave me hungry were exactly what I was looking for.
If you get desert then go for the chocolate cake, it's warm and gooey and it's served with vanilla gelato that's out of this world!
Overall A+ and they'll have my business for a long time

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Nice food and service”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Great food and service..I recomend this place to people who like good food and love to experience something different..:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matilde1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pelican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing