We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“big portiions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerto Sagua

Puerto Sagua
Ranked #59 of 1,052 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 38
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Diner, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“big portiions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

service a little slow, extremely busy. but food was good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank justbran17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    686
    212
    47
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuban food at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We've eaten here more times than I can count on repeated trips to Miami Beach.

This is one of those local joints that you might think to pass up because it looks "too touristy."

Wrong! Puerto Sagua offers excellent, simple Cuban food, such as chicken and rice and black beans at bargain-basement prices.

And don't miss the traditional Cuban-style coffee and flan for dessert.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
201 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Spoiled from Lonely Planet business”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This place is recommended in the Lonley Planet and seems to have taken advantage of that. Apparently this guide book recommendation gives them so much tourist business that they simply don't care anymore. We were very disappointed when we went for breakfast and were ignored by the staff. After 15 Minutes we asked for the third time for someone to take our order and were told in a rude tone "You can wait!". As we stood up to leave the restaurant because we felt offended the waitress shouted at us "Fine, go somewhere else". Please, Lonely Planet, update your book, this is not a cool place anymore.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Restaurant Where Time Stands Still!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This place has changed little since the 80's, when it was one of only a few options for late night eats on the beach. The formica counter top is certainly the same, and the food is still authentic stick-to-your ribs Cuban. What has changed? The prices. Recently we spent a half hour at the counter downing two orders of black beans and rice, and one order of tostones, with two cans of soda and our bill was over $20, twice what you would pay for a similar meal anywhere in Miami, however if you don't know this then Puerto Sagua probably seems like a bargain compared to the other choices in the immediate area. The aforementioned tostones were perfectly prepared, and accompanied by a classic lime and garlic sauce for dipping. The beans were slow cooked and savory, just like Abuelita would make.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coconuts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

There is nothing bad I can say about this place - the food is always delicious and at a good price. It's not a fancy place but its a definite must visit - Very popular!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Sagua also viewed

 

Been to Puerto Sagua? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing