We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here last February and we had a nice stay. The location is GREAT! It is close to Lincoln Road, the beach, and Ocean Drive. We walked everywhere, and didn't need to rent a car for anything. Staff is friendly and let us stay past our check out time and leave the bags at the front desk. Unfortunately, the TV wasn't working and they were unable to fix it and the room seemed a little old. I am hoping for no bugs the next time around. Also, there was construction on the hotel next door so there were people drilling outside early in the morning,and Ithought they could even see us through the light shades! We just made a reservation for next week and I am hoping that the rooms are a lot cleaner and we have a nice stay. If we are pleased, we will make this our South Beach hotel! The breakfast didn't look good, so we went down the street to local cafes. Hoping the exercise room is cleaner now too, as well as the pool. I tried to email someone to talk about my stay last year but there is no email for feedback.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

My son and i stayed at the Dorchester for one night on 2/6/12. From the outside the
Dorchester appeard like an O.K. place to say, but upon interior inspection I was pleased
to see that the grounds and interior including the bedroom was well maintained and
very clean. The beds were excellent. Very good location and across the street from
the beach. You are given a card for two beach chairs and and umbrella. The
negotiated cost was $118 + $10 resort fee(?), $29 parking + $13% tax. All places
charge for parking. You really don't need a car on south beach. It's sort of a liability.
5-10 minute walk to most places you will want to to go.

Room Tip: There is a cupon in the Florida travel guide you can pickup on major highways. Pricing is negotia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear ROBERT90,
I am so happy the Dorchester Hotel and its staff drew a surprise from you and your son. We strive on ensuring our guests' ultimate satisfaction. We know that we cannot be all things to all people, but to see you pleasantly surprised, well that means we are getting it right. Please come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Came to a boat show, and was astounded at the prices for rooms in the area. This place has location (2 blocks to the convention center), the rooms are clean and updated, and the price is much better than hotels right down the street.

That said, there's no coffee maker in the room, and they want $2/cup in the lobby. Three also was an add-on fee of $10/day that wasn't in the original booking. Frustrating, but at $100/night less than the others... I'll deal with it.

The staff is very friendly, and I'll come here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainetraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We found this after the hotel we booked was too disgusting to stay in. They had one room left and it was wonderful. Staff is fabulous. Room was spotless, cool and comfortable. Right in South Beach close to everything and the price was very reasonable. Will go there every time we go to Miami from now on. It is not on the beach but they have a sister hotel on the beach (The Marseilles) if you are beach goers. Can't speak highly enough of the cleanliness and great staff!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bemeupagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was my first time visitng Miami Beach. Staying at the Dorchester was the best experience I had in years. The location was perfect and the hotel breakfast was out of this world. I woke up one morning for breakfast and they guy that made my omlet did a wonderful job with preping and presentation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
485 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#142 of 212 in Miami Beach
146 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#144 of 212 in Miami Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,715 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 212 in Miami Beach
821 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,472 - ₹ 19,997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing