We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #50 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at the Loews many times for the Wine and Food Festival and always enjoyed the amenities. Great location, nice pool but sometimes hard to get a chair unless you are out there early, The bar was fun and the sushi bar was great.
The service at the front desk and at the restaurant can be iffy, somewhat abrupt and rude.
Make sure you get the room location you want in writing before you get there!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed parts of your stay and would like to hear about your concerns. Could you please email us at miamicustomerservice@loewshotels.com so we can address any questions or additional concerns to you directly?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,122 - 4,126 of 7,033 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We just got back from the Loews South Beach. We were first there for 2 night (2/19 - 2/21), then returned early (from the Keys) for an additional night because we loved it and South Beach so much.

We had a Premier Double (2 double beds) room which has a small balcony and full ocean view. Just to point out, we did have full ocean view but there is a full rooftop with a nice design right in front/below us. If you want only ocean and beach view, I think the category you want is oceanfront. The room was fine. The staff was all so nice and attentive. One thing to note is that there is a 20% gratuity included in everything you do here which surprised us since we often wanted to give more because the great service but ended up not doing it since 20% is very high.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's located on 16th Street and Collins Ave and in the heart of the Art Deco district. Entrance on Collins and back of the hotel is on the beach. Walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way which are all areas you should see when you're in South Beach. The nice shopping district on Collins Ave is further down by 5th ave which is walkable but a quick cab ride works too.

There is a fee for chairs and "tents" for the beach which is quite expensive ( $15 per hour or $100 per day) This is not part of the hotel but a separate service. Crazy prices. The hotel itself is not cheap but we felt that the service and location were "worth it"

We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judyg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had a great stay and apologize for any misunderstandings regarding fees. Loews Miami Beach Hotel, like most hotels/restaurants in the destination, does add an automatic service fee to all food and beverage purchases. We do also have a per day charge not a per hour charge for chair and umbrella rentals on the beach. Please contact us directly at miamicustomerservice@loewshotels.com for any questions or concerns regarding these charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is a great family oriented place to stay while on vacation. It's relaxing pool's & poolside, wonderful restaurants, entertainment, beautiful ocean view, wonderful staff and amenities is what a vacation should be. This is a very clean and well run hotel a block off Oceans Drive..fun-fun-fun! I have always been impressed with the beautiful layout, the staff/service, food and the way they pamper you at poolside. Awww, that's nice! I have been there several times and will always recommend this place. Thank you Loews...I will see you soon!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators...may be able to hear them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmuzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I recently spent 5 days here and had an excellent experience. The experience was perfect, the staff was attentive and well trained. The rooms are are a good size (for South Beach) and due to excellent soundproofing you cannot hear your neighbors at all. Upscale, spotlessly clean, the grounds were perfect - this was my second trip to this hotel and I am looking forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VA_travels60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

It makes us happy to hear you "Loved" your stay. Hopefully you are already planning your third visit soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just got back from our trip to the Loews Miami Beach yesterday. We were there from 2/18-2/23. Overall I have to say that our stay at the Loews was excellent. The location of the hotel itself, in the heart of South Beach and steps away from all of the shopping and restaurants can't be topped. The hotel is also located right on the beach which makes it very easy for guests to go back and forth between the beach and the pool. There is a boardwalk (pretty wide brick walk) in between the pool and beach so that you can rollerblade, walk, or bike pretty safely. All of the employees went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. At our last night there we stopped at the hotel ice cream shop. My son wanted ice cream but my daughter only wanted a lemonade. One of the workers taking care of us said that they didn't carry lemonade but they had it at the bar and he would be right back. He came back right away with the lemonade and my daughter was very happy. We could have easily gone to the bar ourselves, but their whole point there is to make their guests have as nice of a time as possible without the guests having to do much of anything.

The food was pretty good (we only ate lunch and dinner there) and there was enough of a variety on the menu so that there was something that pleased everybody. The menu is available by the pool and at the beach until 5:30 every day and they will take your order and bring your food right to you. That was a nice touch. There were also plenty of sand toys (pails, shovels, etc.) right on the beach so kids could grab what they needed and have plenty of fun building sand castles.

Other nice touches that you would expect, but were great and made you feel like you were on a vacation--Somebody was always there to open the door to the hotel lobby when you approached. We asked for extra towels one night and we got them, and the housekeeper who took care of us remembered we liked that and had them for us for the rest of our stay without us having to ask again. A New York Times was waiting outside our door every morning and the Miami Herald was available in the lobby and by the pool. There were games by the pool every day for the kids with a Loews kids counselor. The pool chairs and beach chairs all have cushions that they cover with a terry cloth covering when you claim your chair.

The hotel overall is a very upscale, kid friendly, and pet friendly resort. Between the kids games, menu, and dog path, it is a great place to stay and I would probably stay there again. However, you must be prepared to pay to stay. The room rates were pricey at about $650 per night for two double beds in a small room. However, the bathroom was a good size the shower was a basic tub shower set up but it was fine. You are certainly paying for the location. The hotel does not offer free wifi in the rooms. It is only free in the lobby and in the pool area and it was spotty at best. We refused to pay for the wifi in the room as it cost about $43 for three days for up to three devices. They charged $10 per visit to use the fitness center. It should be a given that use of the fitness center is no charge. They had a spa but didn't even bother checking into anything because I was afraid of the prices. It was $37 per night to valet park the car. You must valet because the self parking was not great. Really, if you are going from the airport to the hotel and staying there, I would advise against renting a car because everything is within walking distance. Beach chairs, umbrellas, cabanas, and beds cost money on the beach. There was an option to rent one queen size beach bed, cabana, unlimited umbrellas and beach chairs for $100. To just rent the chairs they were about $10/chair, umbrellas $15/umbrella, and cabanas $20 per cabana. The prices change depending on the travel season so it could be more if you are going during Christmas break. I thought it was hilarious at one point when two women in their twenties flirted with one of the employees while hanging on the beach and scored a free umbrella. He brought it to them without them even asking. The food was pretty expensive but they get you because of the pool and beach experience.

Another warning is that you must claim your pool chair early. If you get there by 9am it is almost too late. Yesterday we got there by 8:00am and the best spots were already taken. Do not try to get there at 10am and expect to have your pick. You can claim your chair, leave and have a quick breakfast and come back. If you don't come back within an hour, they will put a sign on your chair and give it away. That is only fair. There is no charge for the pool chairs, but of course you should tip the person setting you up with your towels and cushion covers. Yesterday, we claimed our chairs and walked down the street to grab breakfast to go and had it by the pool. I can't remember the name of the restaurant, but if you walk out of the hotel, go right, it is less than a block on your right next door to a pizza place. The people there are extremely nice and they have a pretty good variety of food at reasonable prices.

The bottom line is that we had a wonderful time here. It was relaxing even with the Wine and Food Festival getting underway on the day we left. If you can get past some of the ridiculous charges and recognize that you have to open your wallet, then you will have a good time.

I didn't give the hotel a very good value because it was extremely pricey, but it is what the market will bear. If you are looking for value for your money then no. If you are looking for value for the experience then yes.

Room Tip: If you have more than four people in a room you should definitely get a suite or adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spumonimacaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,679 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,467 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,683 reviews
SLS South Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 22,035 - ₹ 53,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing