We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Art Deco Hotel with very little service”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #83 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Sagamore. The hotel is conveniently located on Collins Avenue, a few min. walk from the many restaurants and shops on Lincoln Ave. Very close to the Beach. Our Sagamore Suite on the 5th floor was spacious and clean. However the amenities are not being replaced once you used them!!! For a hotel of this size and price only one restroom in the lobby area!!! The valet guys were very helpful and friendly, but apart from them you do not get much service in this place.
A typical hotel who plays on the exclusive loaction!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waltons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Waltons2010,

We appreciate your feedback after your recent stay. It seems there were a few things that were overlooked by our team during your stay, and for that i apologize.

We pride ourself as a service oriented property and this is not the impression we want people to leave with. I would like to have an opportunity to further discuss in detail with you, any other issues you had that had negative impact on your time here.

I have provided my information below and hope to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. Thank you again for your review and for choosing Sagamore


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 956 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed in Sagamore hotel for two days on a business trip and it was much more than I expected, its by far the best hotel I have stayed in Miami. It is a small hotel so you don't have to walk a lot to get everywhere and the attention is great. I sent an email before getting there to ask something to the concierge and he responded really quickly.
Location is the best in Miami it's right on the beach in Collins and Lincoln, just steps from a Walgreens, one block from Lincoln road mall and a few blocks from Ocean Drive.
The rooms are huge, I had a kitchenette, a living room, the bed was king size and very comfortable and the large bathroom is divided in two parts so you can have more privacy.
The pool is not too large, but water is warm so it was really delicious to swim in it.
Food was also great, I had the best steak sandwich ever, and the breakfast buffet is also very good.
I know this hotel is quite expensive, but I just loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

VeronicaG1,

Thank you for sharing your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy yourself so much while here on business in South Beach.

Sagamore is a great hotel for not only the business traveler but to anyone looking for either the great nightlife south beach has to offer, or the casual vacationer looking to get a little rest and relaxation.

Our hotel is generally pretty quiet at night which can be just what some of our guests are looking for as all you need to do is walk out the front door to experience the best Miami has to offer.

We hope that you will continue to choose Sagamore when traveling back to Miami for business or for pleasure. Thanks again for choosing our property!

Best,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We held a meeting for 30+ people here and were very happy with it. Great location, great service and great layout. The rooms were spacious and modern with all the business traveler expected accomodations; the meeting planning capabilities were very good and they accomodated our last minute changes. The food was very good. The hotel is smaller than some in Miami Beach which also gave the hotel an intimacy that is often lacking in Miami. I would have another meeting here definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Mary Frances M,

Thanks for your great feedback after your recent meetings here at Sagamore. We are unique in the fact that we are a boutique property, however still have the ability to host a meeting of that size.

We definetely shy away from the traditional here and our meeting space and public space as well can provide a great location for meetings and receptions of all kind. Sagamore is able to give the more personal touch on our service which is often difficult to find in the convention hotels and that is what makes us such a great meeting destination.


We hope to see you again at Sagamore, perhaps this time on a real vacation without any work to worry about. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I will start out by saying The Sagamore Art Hotel is by far the most interesting hotel we have ever stayed in. The owner has an incredibly extensive art collection and rotates it regularly throughout the public areas of the hotel. If you stay here you must make a point of walking up through the 4 stories of the back stairwell. They commissioned local artists to each paint a different level, and the peices blend one into the other as you work your way up. It's pretty fascinating.

The hotel is in a GREAT location. It's right on the beach, and a very close walk to a lot of good restaurants and shopping.

Now for the not so great. When we looked at this hotel on-line, the photos make it look sleek, modern, and sexy. My first impression upon arrival, however, was a bit different. The white leather furniture was completely worn at the edges, and the foot pads were often missing so chairs were wobbly and made a grating sound on the floor if you moved them. The white marble floors were stained, and the white walls had scrapes and scratches on them and looked as if they were in need of a paint job. It really just looked like no one cared about the upkeep.

Once we got to the room, the furniture there was in a similar state of disrepair. The bed was very comfortable and the linens crisp, so I was generally happy with the room it's self. The water pressure in the shower could have been better, but the bathrooms were good other than that.

The outside grounds are well manicured, but again, furniture seems to be less than well taken care of, and the pool area is much smaller than it looks on the website. We never hung out at the pool, though, because it seemed to be more popular with couples that had children so we went straight to the beach every day. Once on the beach, all of the hotels are serviced by the same company for chair and umbrella rental. They don't seem to pay too much attention to Sagamore guests, though, and were always out of chair covers. Trying to get food or beverage service on the beach was like pulling teeth, so we finally just gave up and made a routine of going back to the hotel for food. We noticed pretty quickly that the guys who work down there spent most of their time servicing guests of the Ritz Carlton next door, which was frustrating to say the least.

If you want to work out, you are out of luck. Don't bother with the gym because it's a shoebox, and over half of it is taken up with 3 really large peices of cardio equipment. If you want to work with free weights, there isn't room for more than one person. You're much better off just going for a run on the boardwalk behind the hotels.

The food was very good. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet (great coffee!), and lunch items were really good. Try the pizzas, we loved them! Service, however, was strange. The staff is generally very friendly and genuine, but no one seemed very happy to be there. We really looked forward to having drinks at the gorgeous hotel bar, but it was never open once the entire 8 days that we were there. The place really felt like a ghost town at night, which made us slightly uncomfortable.

Overall I feel this hotel is much too expensive for what it was. It didn't deliver what I anticipated at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeahPetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

LeahPetro,

We appreciate your feedback of Sagamore after your recent stay here with us. We understand that there are always certain areas that can be improved upon and we thank you for bringing some specific details to our attention.

I would like to apologize for the experience that you had on our beach area as it is certainly not the impression we would like to leave you with. Our goal is always for our guests to have a consistent experience throughout the property, whether it be from the hotel staff directly, or one of our third party affiliates that work within our property.

We are also in the process of several projects throughout the hotel that will improve the physical features and certain other areas needing improvement. We hope that you will in fact give us another opportunity to show you what a great expereience we can provide for our guests and leave you with the proper Sagamore experience.

We thank you again for taking the time to share this review.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The minute you walk in the lobby you realize this is not your typical hotel. A modern vibe with clean, sleek shapes and designs that seeks to carry you away from the madness outside of its doors. The sights and sounds of Miami make Vegas seem like childs play and thus an oasis like this becomes even more valuable. The hotel built like a rectangle creates a vertical flow to the beach and outdoor pool area and makes good use of angles to elevate sight lines. You see the beautiful beach and ocean beyond but the private pool area before beckons. Private cabanas and an active bar dictate you will enjoy your time at the Sagamore. My suite was superb with a seperate sitting area and was quite large. Breakfast in the morning was fine. The one area for improvement is the main bar off the lobby is not yet open but you can see that it will be well received once completed. The location for the hotel is superb as you walk just 2 blocks to the east and you are are dinning @ miami's best eateries and by being on the beach side of collins you have the beach right behind you as well as a 5 mile long sidewalk for those who wish to walk or run with-out getting all sandy. Also you are at 16th and collins and the amazing shopping area begins at 10th and collins so you can simply turn left out of your hotel and walk to one of the best clustered, high quality shopping area's anywhere. All in all a superb experience and my only "choice" in the future when visiting Miami

Room Tip: I stayed in 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelSugarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

MichaelSugarland,

Thanks for the great 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time here. Miami and Vegas are certainly totally different destinations and we are happy to hear that Sagamore has put Miami over the top for you.

Our central location does make it a great place to begin a shopping spree and there is certainly enough stores in the area that have any item imaginable.

We hope that you will continue to choose our property when traveling to South Beach and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,367 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,489 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,948 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 13,558 - ₹ 41,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing