We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveller rating
961
569
262
115
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
569
262
115
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin south beachlincoln roadpool areathe penthouseseparate bedroomsofa bedthe ritzking suitebeach chairsocean frontocean drivebeach servicean umbrellathe entire staffart decovalet parkingresort fee
Filter
Updating list...
1,177 - 1,182 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Edgar at the concierge made us feel like we were at home. He seemed to be everywhere, concierge and front desk, always greeting us with a smile and asking if we needed anything. He told us about all the local attractions in detail, never rushed his explanations and helped find something great for me and my teenage daughter to both enjoy. His honesty was greatly appreciated! Robert also helped us out when Edgar was not at the concierge and he was just as helpful and professional! Your whole staff was very friendly and welcoming.

There was only one difference in the level of service, which was the beach crew. Several times we made the trip out to the beach only to find that they were out of towels and it took several minutes to go get new ones. Also, one time when there were at least three employees on the beach they actually suggested we go back and get them ourselves while they just stood around. I later learned that they were hired out from another company and you could certaintly tell the difference in service, NOTHING like your inside employees. Also, I don't travel much, so I am new to this, but I really don't like spending almost $3000 to stay at a hotel for a week and then have to pay $30 to $45 a day to use a chaise and umbrella. I feel it should be part of the fee for staying.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinMatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at The Sagamore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Dear RobinMatz,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review of Sagamore.

We are delighted that one of our employees (Edgar) was able to make such an impact with you and help provide such a memorable stay.

I apologize for the issues that you had with our beach service as even though they are not our direct employees, they are a reflection of the hotel and we do our best to have them adhere to the same service levels we provide inside.

In the future I suggest maybe electing to purchase the Sagamore plan, which will include an American breakfast buffet, a beach lounge, and wireless internet all for only $18.00. This is certainly a great value and sounds like it would have been a good choice for you.

Again thanks for choosing Sagamore and we anxiuously await your return.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Two months after my stay in Sagamore I went back there and it felt like coming home!
Christian Moreno is so professionnal and Edgar the Concierge has always a smile on his lips! I will be back for sure:-))
Thank you so much for the warm Welcome!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at The Sagamore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Nat1774,

Thanks for your recent 5 star review of our property. We are thrilled that you have found your second home here at the Sagamore.

We pride ourselves on our service and our large number of repeat guests is a true testament to that. I will be sure to pass along your good praise to Edgar, Christian and the rest of our team.

We hope that you will continue to make Sagamore your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed at the Sagamore Aoril 20th - 22nd. The location is good, right on the bach above 16th street, so you can walk to the heart of SoBe while still being a bit secluded. The art in the hotel gives it a great vibe; there is art everywhere, even the stairwells are basically a 5 story mural! The rooms were large and well maintained, we had one with an oceanfront suite with a small balcony - it had an amazing view of the pool and beach. Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierges, who steered us perfected to 2 different restaurants for our meals. Service at the pool was more spotty. Very nice Beach chairs/towels/umbrellas were provided for a fee but included if you had the breakfast buffet. The buffet was pretty poor, limited selection and almost always low our out of food, so I'd pass on that and go a few blocks to the Front Porch at the z Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ct2KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at The Sagamore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Ct2KW,

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience that you had here with us. We greatly value all feedback we receive as it can only help us as we strive to provide the best possible service for our guests.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and are happy that you found our staff so helpful. We are happy that you got to experience first hand our wonderful stairwell project, as it is definitely one of the most unique attractions of our property.

Our oceanfront suite is a wonderful place to watch the sun rise and enjoy a warm cappachino and also a great place to finish the night off with a glass of wine as you listen to the sound of the ocean. Once again thanks for choosing the Sagamore and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Just came back from a long weekend stay at the sagamore with a big group of friends and we were very happy with everything. This hotel is nice change from a lot of the "sceney" hotels on the beach and you feel more at ease and low key.
Location is perfect for anyone who wants to be accessible to the beach, restaurants, clubs and other hotels.

the hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating for anything we needed.
We stayed in a Bungalow and thought the set up was perfect for the weekend. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was over sized and easy for a bunch of us to get showered and dressed each day.
I definitely recommend getting the Sagamore plan - $18 per day includes a beach chair, breakfast and wi-fi - great deal.

The staff on the beach was very helpful and really made our group feel comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at The Sagamore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

NYCTravels15,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are thrilled that you and your friends had such a great time with us. The Sagamore definitely has a low key vibe compared to some of the surrounding properties in south beach, and we are able to provide our guests with a more personal level of service.

Taking advantage of the Sagamore Plan is a great idea as it is over a $40.00 value for $18.00 and basically pays for itself just with the breakfast alone. The bungalows are a great option for a large or small group, as they are very spacious and have the larger bathrooms than the regular suites.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and we hope that you will return on your next trip to South beach.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed in 717 / B17, the Beach Bungalow.
Do not think you can stay closer to the beach on South Beach, with two balconies overlooking pool and beach !
Lots of noisy kids in the pool, but that says more about the parents than the kids.
The bungalow is great, sofa and a wetbar downstairs, bed and bathroom upstairs. Balconies on both levels. Two LCD TV’s as well.
Wetbar equipped with cofeemaker, teapot, microwave, freezer and a fridge.
Should have been great with some kitchen utensils but none were to be found.
Not even a spoon. All drawers were empty !
Doesnt matter, Walgreens is just outside on Collins.
Closet space is not good, just two small ones, one on each level.
No cloothing drawers to put stuff in either......
Bathroom is BIG with separate shower area. Would have been great with a handheld showerhead as well. Very limited space in bathroom for your own things. More hooks!
AC is extremely noisy and has only two fan settings, on or auto. So its full blast or nothing.
Public areas very white with loads of art.
Beeing in the lighting business, I felt it could use some more lighting.
Unlit white surfaces and fabrics tend to feel grey . But thats just my opinion.
Staff very friendly.
Valet parking costly, but.. it’s South Beach!
Overall a nice experience.
Would stay again

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doublejStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at The Sagamore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

DoubleJStockholm,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Sagamore. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the oceanfront bungalow. This room is defnietly as close as you can get to the ocean without being on a boat!

We apologize that your kitchen was not stocked with utensils, however all of those items are just a phone call away as we keep everything in housekeeping until needed. I have brought your issues with the air condtioning to the attention of my maintenence depatment and i do apologize if they caused you any inconvienence.

Once again thanks for sharing your experience and choosing our wonderful property for your travels to south beach. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip down.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews