We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but not a whole lot more”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #90 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed at the Sagamore for 4 nights in May - the location of the hotel is brilliant. Everything at South Beach within walking distance.
We had a suite for the stay, and the room was large so we had plenty of space. Great view of the pool / ocean as well.

Sagamore is a nice hotel - it has lots of interesting art all around, and that is the best part. Cause there is something missing there. It might be that the staff is - well - nice, but nothing more. Nobody asked how you enjoyed the stay or how your day was.

One thing that bothered me was that I specifically asked the front desk that they instructed the maids to clean the showerhead properly since it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. As far as I could see nothing happened.

The breakfast buffet was good.

The hotel is held in white - and we couldn't help the feeling that it probabaly looked great some years ago it now had faded and lost it.

Pool area looked nice, but we didn't use it. Stayed at the beach, where there were nice chairs.

There is a small fitness center there with a couple of cardio machines and some weights.

All in all; nice hotel. Staff is there, but not putting too much effort into making you feel welcomed and at home. Art collection is great, but other interior starts to look like an offer of wear and tear.

There are other alternatives in South Beach that will make your stay there great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-Morten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

TCB_JME,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us after your recent stay here.

First off let me say that I apologize if your experience here with our staff was not satisfactory, as you can see from the many positive reviews this is definitely not the norm here at Sagamore. Our staff normally goes out of their way to provide a great overall experience for all our guests, and it’s a shame that you did not get that same experience.

Our central location certainly can be convienent when it comes time to head out to enjoy some of the best nightlife and restaraunts that South Beach is famous for.

We hope that you will return to Sagamore and allow us to wow you on your next visit and provide you the true experience that makes us so special. Please feel free to contact me directly should you choose to return.

Best regards,
James D'Agostino

James.Dagostino@sagamorehotel.com
305.535.8088

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,131 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

Edgar at the concierge made us feel like we were at home. He seemed to be everywhere, concierge and front desk, always greeting us with a smile and asking if we needed anything. He told us about all the local attractions in detail, never rushed his explanations and helped find something great for me and my teenage daughter to both enjoy. His honesty was greatly appreciated! Robert also helped us out when Edgar was not at the concierge and he was just as helpful and professional! Your whole staff was very friendly and welcoming.

There was only one difference in the level of service, which was the beach crew. Several times we made the trip out to the beach only to find that they were out of towels and it took several minutes to go get new ones. Also, one time when there were at least three employees on the beach they actually suggested we go back and get them ourselves while they just stood around. I later learned that they were hired out from another company and you could certaintly tell the difference in service, NOTHING like your inside employees. Also, I don't travel much, so I am new to this, but I really don't like spending almost $3000 to stay at a hotel for a week and then have to pay $30 to $45 a day to use a chaise and umbrella. I feel it should be part of the fee for staying.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinMatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Dear RobinMatz,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review of Sagamore.

We are delighted that one of our employees (Edgar) was able to make such an impact with you and help provide such a memorable stay.

I apologize for the issues that you had with our beach service as even though they are not our direct employees, they are a reflection of the hotel and we do our best to have them adhere to the same service levels we provide inside.

In the future I suggest maybe electing to purchase the Sagamore plan, which will include an American breakfast buffet, a beach lounge, and wireless internet all for only $18.00. This is certainly a great value and sounds like it would have been a good choice for you.

Again thanks for choosing Sagamore and we anxiuously await your return.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Two months after my stay in Sagamore I went back there and it felt like coming home!
Christian Moreno is so professionnal and Edgar the Concierge has always a smile on his lips! I will be back for sure:-))
Thank you so much for the warm Welcome!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Nat1774,

Thanks for your recent 5 star review of our property. We are thrilled that you have found your second home here at the Sagamore.

We pride ourselves on our service and our large number of repeat guests is a true testament to that. I will be sure to pass along your good praise to Edgar, Christian and the rest of our team.

We hope that you will continue to make Sagamore your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed at the Sagamore Aoril 20th - 22nd. The location is good, right on the bach above 16th street, so you can walk to the heart of SoBe while still being a bit secluded. The art in the hotel gives it a great vibe; there is art everywhere, even the stairwells are basically a 5 story mural! The rooms were large and well maintained, we had one with an oceanfront suite with a small balcony - it had an amazing view of the pool and beach. Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierges, who steered us perfected to 2 different restaurants for our meals. Service at the pool was more spotty. Very nice Beach chairs/towels/umbrellas were provided for a fee but included if you had the breakfast buffet. The buffet was pretty poor, limited selection and almost always low our out of food, so I'd pass on that and go a few blocks to the Front Porch at the z Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ct2KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Ct2KW,

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience that you had here with us. We greatly value all feedback we receive as it can only help us as we strive to provide the best possible service for our guests.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and are happy that you found our staff so helpful. We are happy that you got to experience first hand our wonderful stairwell project, as it is definitely one of the most unique attractions of our property.

Our oceanfront suite is a wonderful place to watch the sun rise and enjoy a warm cappachino and also a great place to finish the night off with a glass of wine as you listen to the sound of the ocean. Once again thanks for choosing the Sagamore and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Just came back from a long weekend stay at the sagamore with a big group of friends and we were very happy with everything. This hotel is nice change from a lot of the "sceney" hotels on the beach and you feel more at ease and low key.
Location is perfect for anyone who wants to be accessible to the beach, restaurants, clubs and other hotels.

the hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating for anything we needed.
We stayed in a Bungalow and thought the set up was perfect for the weekend. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was over sized and easy for a bunch of us to get showered and dressed each day.
I definitely recommend getting the Sagamore plan - $18 per day includes a beach chair, breakfast and wi-fi - great deal.

The staff on the beach was very helpful and really made our group feel comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

NYCTravels15,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are thrilled that you and your friends had such a great time with us. The Sagamore definitely has a low key vibe compared to some of the surrounding properties in south beach, and we are able to provide our guests with a more personal level of service.

Taking advantage of the Sagamore Plan is a great idea as it is over a $40.00 value for $18.00 and basically pays for itself just with the breakfast alone. The bungalows are a great option for a large or small group, as they are very spacious and have the larger bathrooms than the regular suites.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and we hope that you will return on your next trip to South beach.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#38 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,465 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,552 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,971 reviews
SLS South Beach
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,260 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 18,124 - ₹ 37,269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing