We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Girlfriend Birthday Present Vacation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #75 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Girlfriend Birthday Present Vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Hotel was decent, but communication and pricing very vague. When I checked in, I paid for our stay in full and was told that payment was received in full all we needed to do was drop off keys at check out...hahaha...when we went to check out, they tried charging us an additional fee above and beyond what we where originally told, then upon getting our travel agent involved, it turned out, there was a "resort fee" on top of all the other fees that was neglected to be shared with us at any time. So I was charged an additional $360 dollars at check out...If you choose to stay at this hotel, be sure to get everything 100% in writing and even then, don't be surprised if you get dinged even more at the end of your stay like we did...

Room Tip: I would recommend getting everything documented in writing prior to check in from the hotel. We used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Steven H,

Thank you for staying with us with your girlfriend. I hope she had an amazing birthday in the beautiful Miami Beach. We understand your frustration with regard to the resort fee. It seems as though the third party you used to book your stay failed to disclose this information. We disclose this information on our website to all of our guest. We hope that you will come back soon to visit us.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    344
    186
    90
    125
See reviews for
108
360
91
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Most places is Miami Beach have one thing in common: You pay a lot for not a lot in return. While Hotel Chelsea is a reasonable place to stay, it's fairly no frills. We stayed here for mainly two reasons: The price was nice and the location is great.

Location:

The property is located near 10th and Washington in a central location near shopping, dining, and the beach. It's a much quieter location than Ocean Drive or Collins but still lively and fun. I have been weary of Miami Beach hotels that are "too good of a deal" since you often get what you pay for.

Service:

The front desk staff is helpful enough although not super friendly. They initially mixed up our reservation with someone else's so it cause some initial confusion. The hotel features a complimentary happy hour for hotel guest daily and the bartenders were definitely the friendliest on site. If you want to use beach towels from the front desk, you are required to show your room key so they can log your "towel limit" per room.

Rooms: Our room was on the first floor near the bar area. There was a large fountain in the lobby which had a foul smell. It was only when you walked by but it was a terrible fish tank smell. The rooms was very small but tidy and modern. There were 3 electrical outlets in the bed area and a large (yet dated) LCD TV. The bathroom was a tad small but clean with a glass shower. The floor was entirely wood or tile which is nice for a hotel. I always fear the carpeting in hotels.

Food/Drinks: We did not eat from the hotel restaurant but I did glance at the menu. It was basic and a bit pricey, just like most everything in Miami Beach. The bar does has a complimentary happy hour for hotel guests from 7-8 which is your time to load up. Any other time, the drink are a rip-off.

Overall, I'd stay at Hotel Chelsea for a good price, however, I'd like to try something different next time.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, choose an upstairs room. If you don't mind the party, the first floor is fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Ben L.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lengthy review of your stay. Our location is amazing, we are closing to everything, shopping, dining, and bars. We are a couple of blocks from the beach, which is the best part of Miami Beach. We place a lot of emphasis on service and train all of our employees to be helpful and friendly. We do have a towel limit because we want to be able to accommodate all of our guest with this great amenity. I wish you would have given our restaurant a chance and eaten with us. I promise we would not disappoint you. Happy hour is definitely the happening hour of our hotel and all of our guest enjoy this feature. However, I have looked at our pricing and compared it to other local bars and restaurants, and our pricing is very reasonable. I hope that you will change your mind and stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I went to Miami on a business trip and stay on South Beach were the conference was. My business partner and I checked into the Chelsea and it don't look all that from the outside.

When you enter on the left of you is a bar. To your right is the check in counter. The employee was busy when we entered but was a multi-tasker. He was a cool Dominican dude. The inside began to look amazing and gave me a "were in Miami feel".

Once in side of my room, it was beautiful. Two queen size beds, flat screen, refreshments, microwave, radio, bar, beautiful wood grain floors and chandeliers between the beds.

The bath room is custom brick and the shower had a huge see through shower door and a mirror inside the shower. The woman would love this. The Hotel stay was great for three nights, no incidents and great customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Hassan H,

Thank you for writing an amazing review. We are so happy to see that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Good service, confortable room but shopping nearby is pricey.Shoppers should stay near the arport those hotels offer free shuttles to the large international mall.Shuttle from airport to chelsea only runs every 2 hours and driver was rude.Resturants and bars all close to hotel and you canwalk to the beach easily. Next time i will stay closer to shopping malls to avoid expensive taxi fares.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
welltravelled09,

Thank you for your review. Yes our hotel is centrally located on Miami Beach and close to all the action. Close to the beach, restaurants, night clubs and shopping. Collins avenue has a ton of stores where you can do your shopping. In addition, you can take a short cab ride to Lincoln Road where there are even more stores instead of going to a mall. Plus you get to enjoy the great outdoors while you shop!

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The location to ocean dr was great the people where very nice. This was out first trip to Miami and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tex212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Tex212121,

I am go happy to see that your first review on TripAdvisor was your great experience at our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a great experienc.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.2 km away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#97 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#69 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.5 km away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#82 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
0.3 km away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#89 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,944 - ₹ 22,189
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing